Diving in the Ancient Maya Underworld.(Video)

Diving into natural pools in Belize in the quest for offerings from the ancient Maya, explorers found what’s believed to be the country’s first recorded fossilized remains. In the course of the expedition, one diver “disappeared” into the pool’s floor. Videographer: Marty O’Farrell

This entry was posted in History and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Diving in the Ancient Maya Underworld.(Video)

  1. malc50 says:

    Thanks magsx2. Another interesting post. It is also interesting to note how our language continues to evolve. I’m note sure “megafauna” was a recognised word when I was a young fellow.

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi malc50,
      I didn’t pick up on that. You are right I also think it is a new word, I don’t recall ever hearing anything about “megafauna” either. Good on you for picking it up.

  2. kymbo says:

    Ive seen a few vids of the exploration of these caves and the following (underground) to reach the sea, incredible and quite excellent. I first heard the term Megafauna in the 1970s when I took a cave tour near Mt Gambier in South Australia…Hmm, Princess Margret caves I think. They were referring to the giant Kangaroos, Wombats and other huge critters that once walked the country.

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi kymbo,
      It is all very fascinating I find, so much to explore, so many secrets to be found, and of course a lot to learn about Ancient civilizations. They are finding exciting things out all the time about the Ancient Cultures and how they lived.

      Thank You very much for the information about Megafauna, fancy it being around since at least the 1970’s, I had never heard the word before. I would of never guessed it referred to animals. Thanks again.

  3. malc50 says:

    Hi again magsx2, According to http://east.merriamwebster.com/dictionary/megafauna, the first known use of “megafauna” was in 1927. Whenever the term was coined, it just goes to show that Shakespeare’s English continues to develop and grow each year.

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi malc50,
      Good find, and Thank You for the link. Wow, 1927, the word has been around a long time. Why have I not heard it before?? I do read a lot of course, you would think it would of come up somewhere, as I usually read about Ancient History, History etc.
      Well I have leaned my first new item for 2011, and I’m sure there will be many, many more to come, or at least I hope so.

  4. Sue says:

    How fascinating, it must be great to be able to dive in places that have so much to discover. There seems to be a lot more in these “pools” to discover yet. I also find Ancient History fascinating, and love reading about anything new that has been discovered. A great video.

Leave a Reply

