Brisbane Floods. (Queensland Australia)

Brisbane is the Capitol City of Queensland, and where I live. It just hasn’t stopped raining for days, and now it looks like Brisbane is going to start flooding as well. At the moment it is about 8.15 am, and as I’m typing this the rain is teaming, it’s not just raining it is pouring down, and by the look on the radar we have at least another hour or so of this really heavy rain before it turns into showers. I have a feeling a lot of people will not make it to work today, at all.

There are roads already flooded here in Brisbane and outskirts, from the storms the night before last, and again the storms further out last night, and the water usually takes around 2 days to reach the creeks etc. I can hardly hear a thing at the moment, as we have a tin roof, normally I love the tin roof as you can hear the rain and it’s rather nice, but at the moment the noise is horrendous, not as bad as hail but still rather deafening.

It’s been a long time since I’ve seen rain this heavy for so long normally it lasts half an hour or so and then it turns into light showers, but there is water everywhere, and a lot of the storm water drains cannot cope with it all. The guttering on the houses, mine included, just can’t hold the volume of water, so naturally the water is going over all the gutters. The only good thing I can say about all the rain is it has kept the temperatures down a lot, we are in our summer months here and normally it’s anywhere from 30deg C to 38deg C, we have had a couple of days were it reached over 40deg C a few summers ago, of course it gets hotter than that in other parts of Australia, but since summer started we have had an average of 28deg C, and today 26 deg C, so as you can see a lot cooler.

Of course Brisbane has flooded before, like other areas in Australia, but you have to feel sorry for the people who have lost everything, and even today for the people who have already gone to work, they may not be able to even get back home, some will have water already in their homes, it’s not going to be a good year for a lot of people.

For the people who live in Australia, please be aware the flood charity scammers are out and about, so be very careful if you are giving money to anyone not to be taken in.

If anyone would like to have a look at some pictures of the floods in Brisbane the Courier Mail  has put some up, these are photo’s that people have sent in, as the day goes on they may add more, they usually do as the public sends them in.

Pictures of Brisbane starting to flood from the “Courier Mail”

See also:- State Awash (Update Brisbane Queensland Floods)

For those looking for the North Queensland Floods.
See here:- 
Snakes Emerge as Water Rises. (Update Queensland Floods) 2011 Video.
Or here:-
Floods in Queensland Australia (Video Included)

For more information please look in Categories on the right hand side, and in the drop down menue click onto Queensland or Australia  I have put in a few posts as things change.

This entry was posted in Australia, Queensland and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to Brisbane Floods. (Queensland Australia)

  1. Sue says:

    OMG is it ever going to stop. I was about half way to work and decided to come back home. Our place is up on a bit of a rise, but the roads below sometimes gets water over them, only in heavy rain and boy it’s heavy. I was more worried about not being able to get back home this afternoon. I live in a dead end street, so it’s not like I have a lot of options of a way of getting home. As it was I walked through water only up to my ankles at this stage.

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi Sue,
      I think all this rain is going to be a worry for a lot of people, you probably did the right thing. By the radar the rain looks like it may have stopped for a short while, but there is more coming.

  2. malc50 says:

    I’ll be able to inspect the scene first-hand tomorrow. Stay dry, magsx2!

  3. malc50 says:

    Thanks magsx2, My mother has told me the times that the Gap (Cunningham’s Gap) will be closed for repairs. With a bit of luck, we’ll make it at the right time. My daughter tells me that my grandson is already packed and ready to go with his uncle and grandfather. My beagle, Audrey, is on holidays at a kennel while I’m away (My wife didn’t want the dog and wants nothing to do with her). Rain, hail or shine, we (Audrey and I) go for a walk every afternoon – she enjoys paddling in flooded gutters. Before Audrey, our dog was Jake, a chihauhau – he didn’t like to get his feet wet, and would always walk around a puddle! I won’t be taking my laptop with me, so will be “off-line” till next Thursday 13 January. Cheers.

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi malc50,
      Happy to know that your getting a lot of information about the roads. There was just no way I could of taken “Lucy” for a walk today, the rain was just too heavy. We usually take her to the park which isn’t that far away from us, but it has an off lead area as well, and the first chance she gets she jumps in the creek. A typical Australian Cattle Dog, loves the water. Of course the park is flooded and the creek is now more like a raging river.

      I hope you and your family have a good time while you are away, and we can only hope the rain stops, but it doesn’t look good by the radar. Take care driving, and I’ll hear from you when you get back.

  4. malc50 says:

    :) Talk to you again in a week’s time! Cheers.

  5. travelrat says:

    Are you affected at all?

    Been trying to find out if my brother-in-law and nephews are OK … sent an email & a text, rather than wake them up by phoning.

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi travelrat,
      No we are not effected by flood waters, we are lucky, it’s hard to walk on the grass, the minute you put your foot down, it’s seems to sink past the grass and straight into mud, the ground just can not take any more water.

      There has been a lot of rain in just about every part of Brisbane and outer suburbs, some places have had more than others. I’m sure you will here from your in-laws soon.

      There is more rain coming, predicted for the rest of the week, with storms, it’s raining again as I type this, but at the moment it’s light showers, here is the link for Brisbane Radar.

      http://www.bom.gov.au/products/IDR663.loop.shtml#skip

      Here is the link for Brisbanes forcast.

      http://www.bom.gov.au/qld/forecasts/brisbane.shtml

  6. Ron says:

    I had a bit of trouble getting to work yesterday. Man that rain was heavy, had to pull over in a side street, had a bit of trouble seeing, a lot of others were pulling over as well, I was a bit late for work, but I was not the only one, it was good to see the rain stop if only for short periods.

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi Ron,
      I noticed right at the other end of my street a few cars were “parked” then disappeared, they may also have stopped because of the heavy rain.
      Nice to hear from you again. Hope you had a good Xmas and New Year.

  7. Pingback: Queensland/Brisbane floods « James Board

  8. travelrat says:

    We had an email from my brother in law; he and his family are all OK. We were worried about one of our nephews, who lives near a creek, but he says no problem there.

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi travelrat,
      That is great news, all this rain has affected so many it really is devastating. It stopped raining for a long time late yesterday afternoon, it was nice to get a break from it and of course with that break the water started to go down a bit in a lot of areas. But when I got up this morning, it was raining again, light, but I know everyone is really starting to get sick of it now.

  9. Pingback: World Spinner

  10. Sammie says:

    Hey, im worried, i just want to know any details anything at all my mum lives down in Brisbane and i know for a fact she is ok but i also have other family in toowoomba, can anyone please give me some more imformation about these floods

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi Sammie,
      Yes it’s hard to get full on information, if you would like to have a look at this post

      http://magsx2.wordpress.com/2011/01/11/parts-of-brisbane-to-evacuate-queensland-floods/

      There is a link in that post to a story in a newspaper, and they have numbers in there for people to ring. There is also a link for a radio station that is giving minute to minute commentary of what is happening, they are also covering Toowoomba and areas around Toowoomba. I hope this has helped some. I now have a number that people can call, I will put in on my blog, so everyone can get the information.

  11. Deborah says:

    Hi I live in London Ontario CANADA, my brother in law lives in Brisbane QLD I am not sure if this area is affected, and haven`t heard from him, can some one advise to this area for me please? And is there an emergency number there to call and check on status of family members, if we can not reach them at there residence?

    Thank You, our prayers are with you all

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi Deborah,
      Yes Brisbane is affected, if you click onto home on my blog you can get a lot more information, I have a few posts about Brisbane, as I live in Brisbane.
      You will find it very hard to get anyone by phone, the Mobile phone towers are now on emergency battery power in a lot of places. Power has been cut to just over 100,000 homes, so if they have a landline phone that uses power, it will not be working. I have phone numbers in my latest posts, but here they are:-
      Policelink Flood Information Hotline:
      Relatives and friends seeking information about people in flood affected areas should call 1300 993 191
      International calls: +61 7 3055 6220

      Not all areas are affected, if you can give me an idea of what suburb your brother-in-law is in I may be able to help you a bit.

      • Deborah says:

        thank you mags, as of late last night Mum spoke to them, and they advised that the water was 5 houses away, so I am guessing Brisbane is evacuated at this time.

      • Deborah says:

        Mags they live on Bushlark Way
        Carindale QLD, he says there on a hill top, and water las evening was 5 houses away

  12. magsx2 says:

    Hi Deborah,
    Here is a link of the suburbs that they are expecting to flood. The rain has stopped but everyone is now waiting for the Brisbane river to peak, it has broken it’s banks and rising.
    I don’t know how acurate this list is, but it’s best I can do I’m sorry. They are expecting the king tide between 3 and 4am in the morning, it is now around 11.30pm. Anyway heres the link:-

    http://www.couriermail.com.au/news/properties-to-be-affected-by-brisbane-floods/story-e6freon6-1225986010728

Leave a Reply

