Extreme Cliff Camping (Pictures)

 I was reading about these people who pitch tents on the side of a mountain and I just thought no way it just can’t be. These tents are hanging precariously around 1200m (around 4,000 feet) on a side of a cliff face. You certainly wouldn’t want to wake up and have to go to the toilet :shock: what on earth happens if you drop something that you may need for the rest of the climb? Could you just imagine doing something like this, I am still stunned I think, who would have guessed this type of camping even existed. The pictures are amazing make sure you have a look in the picture gallery.

            Daredevils hang precariously in tents off a jaw-dropping vertical cliff face.
                                Photo:- Gordon Wiltsie (Picture gallery) 

There is an article about this type of camping in the News.com.au
(Also some pictures in the article)

Scariest Campsite Ever Picture Gallery.

This entry was posted in Fun and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

43 Responses to Extreme Cliff Camping (Pictures)

  1. Rebekah says:

    I’ll never understand PEOPLE! But they would probably say the same thing about me..

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi Rebakah,
      It is most likely very exciting for those that are game enough to do this, but for me just looking at the pictures is just mind boggling.

  2. travelrat says:

    I have heard of ‘bivis’ in the Alps and the Himalayas, but this is a bit extreme! I do remember a refuge in Switzerland, though, where they advised you to wear a harness and clip on to a safety rope if you wanted to go to the head.

    I remember it as one of the best views I’ve ever had from a khasi!

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi travelrat,
      I could just imagine the view, some of the pictures that I have seen of Switzerland were just fantastic, sounds a bit scary though, I like 2 feet firmly on the ground, that suits me fine. :)

  3. Red Nomad OZ says:

    AAAARRRGGGHHH!!! That is just so NOT going to happen to me!! While the views would be spectacular, I can’t imagine the terror!!!

    Have a pleasant evening!

  4. kymbo says:

    Crazy arent they? I saw a program about these guys once, the climber was saying the worst of it was when an avalanche falls and you can hear it coming but dont know if it’s going to sweep you away or not…

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi kymbo,
      I have never heard or seen of this before I happened to come across the article. Just imagine if you could hear rocks falling, and you just didn’t know where it was they were going to land :shock: the whole thing would give me nightmares.

  5. souldipper says:

    Somewhere, I read a psychologist saying that people who participate in extreme events suffer from low self esteem. (Maybe that was precipitated by all the reality shows on TV.) I’d rather visit a therapist!!

  6. gitwizard says:

    I’ve read about this sort of bivi in many books about mountaineering expeditions, you certainly wouldn’t want to suffer from sleepwalking!

  7. travelrat says:

    The accepted way of going to the toilet on a rock-face is to shout ‘Below!!’ before letting go. :D

  8. bronxboy55 says:

    At least they don’t have to worry about the headlights from some RV pulling into the campground at two in the morning.

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi bronxboy55,
      That is very true, sounds like this may have happened to you, I imagine that would not have been great at that hour of the morning.

  9. Pingback: Campin pictures

  10. lesleycarter says:

    This is insane! I’ve done some crazy things in my life but this is beyond me.

    Lesley
    lesleycarter.wordpress.com

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi lesleycarter,
      I really think you have to be very dedicated to even try this one, way out of my league, but still fascinating that people do this I feel. :D

  11. Wow not for me but very interesting.

  12. dad says:

    I suppose a shower is out of the question

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi dad,
      Shower and toilet would both be out of the question I would say. :D
      Good name dad to all.
      Thank You for taking the time to comment, and visiting my blog.

  13. Oh my giddy aunt! I had a funny turn just looking at that. Makes me feel a real wuzz. Where do you find this stuff? I’m not complaining by the way – I love it.

  14. Bruce says:

    They have the ultimate faith in their gear and mustn’t sleepwalk.

  15. Donna Amis Davis says:

    Heart-stopping! Yikes. Yes, mind-boggling. Who would even think of such a thing? Yet, there we have photographic proof. Amazing.

  16. Lindy Lee says:

    More nerve & courage than this reader could ever muster. To each his/her own but this one will just stay home, flat on the ground for walking & in the covers for sleeping…

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi Lindy Lee,
      I totally agree, I too like ground under my feet, and a nice bed to sleep in, not a bed that if I roll over I end up at the bottom of a mountain. :)

  17. Diane Tucker says:

    Unbelievable. I couldn’t even ride a mule down Bryce Canyon in Utah. I nearly had a panic attack. I like the wide-ranging subjects you cover!
    Diane Tucker

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi Diane,
      I have seen videos of the mule ride into the Canyon, it certainly doesn’t look like an easy thing to do either, but beautiful rock formations. :)

  18. Genie says:

    This would not do for me. I get up and move around THEN I wake up. lol

  19. nyparrot says:

    Definitely – this kind of adventure is not for me. Just looking at the photo makes my head spin.

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi nyparrot,
      It makes you wonder how they came up with the idea of doing this, and working out a way of pitching the tent halfway up a mountain, I agree it does make the head spin.

      • nyparrot says:

        What can I cay, some people need to feel that adrenaline rush to feel good, so they put their life in dangerous situations. For me – driving a car is a high risk scenario…lol

  20. Chris says:

    I’ve done this sort of thing before not in Switzerland though in Argentina took 5 days to reach the top and when we got there it was definitely worth it this great fun but you do really need a head for heights

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi Chris,
      That is fantastic, what a great achievement, good on you. I could never do anything like that, way too scary for me. :)
      Thank You very much for visiting and taking the time to comment.

  21. Pingback: My Blog Review for 2012 from WordPress | Magsx2's Blog

Leave a Reply

