Xmas Lights Around Brisbane Australia:-Pictures/Fun Videos

I thought you may like to have a look at some of the beautiful lights on houses that are around the city and a few areas outside of the city in which I live. Brisbane, Queensland Australia.


Abbeyfeale Street, Tingalpa. Picture: Richard Walker
(from the Quest picture gallery)


Abbeyfeale Street, Tingalpa. Picture: Richard Walker
(from the Quest picture gallery)


Anita St Yeronga. (from the Quest picture gallery)


Blackbutt Court, Burpengary. Picture: Nick Kuhn
(from the Quest picture gallery)


Six White Boomers at 253 Formosa Road, Gumdale. Picture: Richard Walker
(from the Quest picture gallery)

I thought the Xmas lights done for the house above was well thought out. Santa sitting in the “rusty” holden ute is in reference to “Australian Jingle Bells” I posted a video of this song the other day (here). The six kangaroo’s is in reference to another Aussie Xmas song called “Six White Boomers” by Ralf Harris.

An explanation of some of the Aussie words in the song “Six White Boomers”:-

  • Boomers – large kangaroos
  • booming – The sound the large kangaroo make as they hit the ground with each jump
  • Marble Bar – A town in central Australia

If you would like to see some more Xmas lights, Quest newspapers have put a gallery together of the lights around Brisbane and surrounding areas. Quest Gallery.

Synchronized house lighting:-
From YouTube.
Computer controlled Christmas lights in Brisbane Australia for Christmas 2011. There are approximately 80,000 lights synchronized to The Little Drummer Boy using Light-o-Rama – about 80 AC channels, 430 DC channels + CCRs). This year a number of RGB strips and modules have been added to several display fixtures and for use as a wall wash.

For anyone living in Brisbane Australia and would like to go and see the house above, it is on the cnr of Sinnamon Rd and Furness Cres, Sinnamon Park

This entry was posted in Australia and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

47 Responses to Xmas Lights Around Brisbane Australia:-Pictures/Fun Videos

  1. Arindam says:

    Beautiful Pictures. Simply Awesome. :)
    I loved everything about this post. You simply made my evening beautiful with this post. :)

  2. wolke205 says:

    What a waste of energy, but I love it :D This Christmas decoration looks wonderful! And the white kangaroos are just too cute :D

  3. malc50 says:

    Hi Mags, My wife tells me that the Sinnamon Park one was on the Channel Seven news last night. I was walking the dog, and missed it myself, so thanks for putting it up. Cheers, Mal.

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi Mal,
      I didn’t see it on news, I wonder which one they showed, the house is “tuned” to a couple of Xmas songs, the other being Australian Jingle Bells.

  4. Rebekah says:

    These are all lovely lights … but the one with the kangaroos was really special LOL Loved it!

  5. El Guapo says:

    Love the lights of the pickup being pulled by the kangaroos.
    And I’m not sure what’s goofier – the song or the video that goes with it, but either way, great fun!

  6. Talk about Christmas spirit. And to think that the person who owns the house on Sinnamon Rd probably planned the music and lights for a whole year. Very creative and happy. Do they play the music and light show all night or are there set times for passers-by to come see?

    My plain old tree with lights that do nothing is looking pretty boring right about now!

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi EOSR,
      The music is actually played through the radio. So when you go to something like the house on Sinnamon Rd; when you get there you tune your radio to the “special” channel at a certain time. So the lights start when the music on the radio station starts. :D

      There is no such thing as a plain old tree. Lights in any tree always looks nice at Xmas. :)

      • dearrosie says:

        A radio station plays the music? that’s so smart! There I was thinking of the poor neighbors having to listen to the loud music all night long! I’m sure they must complain about the traffic jams on the street.

        • magsx2 says:

          Hi dearrosie,
          I can’t speak for the people that live around this particular house, but I used to live more or less next door to a house that was done up for Xmas. Yes there is a lot of traffic, and they even had buses pulling up on the “Xmas Light Tour”, but it was only for about 3 to 4 weeks all up out of the year, and if you seen the faces of the people and kids, total joy.

          Most of these houses that have Xmas light displays collect for all type of charity’s, I have seen kids put $1 in the wishing wells, and walk away with huge smiles, so in the big scheme of things, it never really worried me at all. :)

  7. barb19 says:

    Brilliant Mags, I loved it!

  8. Beautiful! Man-O-Man, you folks “down under” really go ALL OUT!

  9. that kangaroo sleigh is over the top, fierce good.

  10. Barb says:

    Hooray! You know how I love a good visit of the local sights. And you’ve included a dicitionary which helps me translate. You’re like the Rick Steves of Oz. Boom. Boom. (That’s the kangaroos clapping…does that work for you?)

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi Barb,
      Have to include a dictionary, no fun without one. :D I did for the Aussie Xmas songs as well in my other post.
      All the Aussie Xmas songs are fun and do make you laugh. “The Six White Boomers” was one of the first. :)

  11. Selma says:

    Spectacularific. I like the 6 White Boomers one. I am very impressed by these. Some people go all out!

  12. aFrankAngle says:

    LOL … 6 white boomers. I didn’t know the song nor the thought. Gotta love … and I know that Rolf Harris is a national treasure! Meanwhile, craziness has prevented me from getting around as much as I like, so thanks for your visits.

  13. travelrat says:

    I saw a display the other day that made me stop my car, get out and stand in admiration for five minutes … unfortunately, I didn’t have a camera with me. I’m a bit cautious about commenting on lights, because there’s a point at which a tasteful display becomes just tacky and showy, and that point is different for different people.

    But, I’m full of admiration for all of these; after all Brisbane has been through this year, it’s really good to see they can still turn out displays like this.

    I’ll only be be out of cyber-contact tomorrow; we’re going to my daughter’s on Friday, and she has wifi. But, whether I’ll have time to blog is another matter.

    So, a Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year!

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi travelrat,
      Unfortunately there are still people that have not got back into their homes after the floods, very sad indeed.

      What a shame you didn’t have your camera with you when you saw the beautiful lights. I love all the Christmas lights, and the decorations, at this time of year. :)

      A Merry Christmas as well to you and your family. Everyone is busy this time of year, getting everything prepared and of course visiting family and friends.

  14. Sometimes Christmas lights can be tacky and look like a hodgepodge of clutter, but these are very artistic and pleasing to the eye… Love the joey in the boot!

    When I hear “boomer” the first thing I think of is baby boomers, the generation born between 1946 and 1964. *smiling*

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi Barbara,
      There were a few people that had a bit of a laugh when someone come up with the name baby boomers, in my mind I had pictures all these “old” kangaroos jumping about. :D

  15. Blackbutt Court, Mags? In Burpengary? Seriously? Who was “Gary”? And why was he “burpen”? I’m not even going to ask about the “black butt”. The whole address seems to be connected to digestion. And we haven’t even had Christmas Dinner yet!

    (I hope that all these lights are run on “green” energy.)

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi Lady Marilyn,
      Yes the names must sound strange to people that are not used to them. I grew up with these names.

      Blackbutt is a small town about 160 km or around 100 miles from Brisbane. When the Europeans come to Australia, they settled in the area in the mid 1800’s, the town was named Blacbutt because the native tree in the area is the Blackbutt tree it is a type of Eucalyptus.

      Burpengary is about 35 km or around 23 miles from Brisbane, and the name is from the Aboriginal word burpengar, which means place of green wattle. :)

  16. souldipper says:

    I can’t help but grin…what do neighbours say about these light shows? Does the music play repeatedly??? Arghhhh…Love thy neighbour! :D

    I’m sure that’s all been sorted out, but it gives a good chuckle!

  17. Anonymous says:

    Thank you so much for the lights and that video it made my night.

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi Anonymous,
      I am so glad you enjoyed the post. I also enjoy the many different light shows at Xmas.
      Sorry about the late reply to your comment, I usually answer comments the same day, but my Dad had to have an operation, he is 81, so it has been worrying, but all seems fine, and I am looking after him until he is back on he’s feet, again sorry it has taken me so long.

  18. Where are you Mags? Why no posts for Christmas 2012?

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi heavenhappens,
      I have just now signed into my blog, sorry about the late reply.
      My Dad had to have a triple by-pass operation he is 81 and I was really worried, but he is home now and I am looking after him at his place till he gets back on his feet, I think he is doing really well for his age, and it is a relief it is over.
      I most likely won’t be back blogging till next year, but I hope to be able to go around a few blogs before Xmas, I do miss everyone.

      • dearrosie says:

        I was also concerned about your silence Mags. Very sorry to hear about your Dad’s triple by-pass but glad to hear he’s on the road to recovery.
        My Christmas greetings to you and your family.

        • magsx2 says:

          Hi dearrosie,
          I certainly have missed everyone, but I will try and get to some blogs before Xmas. I most likely will not be blogging now until next year, but everything seems to be going great as far as Dad’s recovery goes, for an 81 year old he is doing well, of course he gets tired very quickly but each day he seems to be able to do a little bit more.
          Xmas greeting to you and your family as well, we look to be in for our usual hot Xmas day. :)

      • Ah I hope your dad recovers soon x Glad you will be back in new Year. Hope you have an OK Christmas and a better 2013.

Leave a Reply

