Moroccan Bow Lathe (Video)

No power required by this talented guy, Mostopher Dnouch does his trade in the Medina of the old Marrakech. Watch how he makes a chess piece with a bow lathe, really amazing.

This entry was posted in Entertainment, Fun, Knowledge and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

60 Responses to Moroccan Bow Lathe (Video)

  1. not only amazing, but uplifting and edifying. You always find something for us, Mags.

  2. That’s amazing!!! To think of all that talent, hidden down some alley way… he probably doesn’t realize how gifted he is? Something for us to marvel at…

    You can take bow lathe operator off my list of career possibilities! ha!

  3. Rebekah says:

    That was the most amazing work I’ve seen in a long time! Imagine what the piece would cost if he were paid per hour..

    He made it look so easy, but the simultaneous capabilities to both run the lathe and do that stuff with his foot … I’m in awe!

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi Rebekah,
      It would cost a fortune that is for sure, doing something like that without machinery. I assume he would of been doing it since he was a boy. I also was amazed at the foot work as well.

  4. Windsmoke. says:

    Craftsmen like this fella are a dying breed in these days of mass production. :-).

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi Windsmoke,
      I totally agree, we don’t even see this sort of thing being done anywhere here, it would be great to see someone like this at some shows just so the kids can see what can be achieved. :)

  5. Talk about excellence — that’s over the top!

  6. niasunset says:

    This is amazing… Doing great. Thank you dear Mags, with my love, nia

  7. gitwizard says:

    Excellent!
    I was using a wood chisel earlier today, now I see what I was doing wrong…
    (but I guess I have to watch ‘Part 2′ of the video to learn how to kick the sledgehammer onto its shaft …)

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi gitwizard,
      I think it would take many years of practice to be able to do something like that, just brilliant. :)
      No part 2 that I am aware of, so looks like you may be on your own with the sledgehammer. :lol:

  8. ~mimo~ says:

    wow, amazing! Thanks for sharing!

  9. Excellent post , fantastic to watch,craftsmen like that are a wonder, I saw an artist carving statues out of matchsticks, they are unbelievable artisans
    Ian aka Emu

  10. Wow what an amazing talent! Thanks for sharing!

  11. aFrankAngle says:

    I’m not sure which adjective to use? Craftsmanship in a style use for centuries lives on! How did you find this? Well done!!!

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi aFrankAngle,
      He’s work is beyond words, just magnificent isn’t he. :D
      I actually stumbled across this on You Tube while looking for something totally different. :)

  12. That’s another “Wow!” I have a young extended family member who is an excellent cabinet-maker but I can’t imagine him working like that. Just imagine how sore your back would get!

  13. tempo says:

    Ive got the plans for one of these, I never made one but thought it interesting enough to make a set of plans ‘just in case’ Incredible eh!

  14. There’s nothing like craftmanship!

  15. Indira says:

    Amazing. He makes it look so easy. Admirable,thanks. Your blog gives us so many new things to watch.

  16. starlaschat says:

    A true craftman so much time and talent going into one piece. I will look at chess pieces in a new way as I remember this video.

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi starlaschat,
      It is a lot of work for a chess piece, I think it was the last piece for the chess board, but something you would treasure knowing how it was made. :)

  17. This was such as stunning display of craftsmenship! Thank you for sharing this with us. My grandfather was a carpenter, so I’ve always been fascinated by the “magic” involved in creating something from wood.

  18. Jyotirmoy says:

    INNOVATION at its superlative degree. A salute to the craftsman .

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi Jyotirmoy,
      Innovation is a very good word, he is so talented, a craftsman with so many skills. :)
      Thank You very much to taking the time to comment.

  19. Amazing how he uses his bare toes to control such a sharp tool! I would have sliced my feet to ribbons before too long. I’m in awe of his talent and creativity…

  20. El Guapo says:

    WOW!!! When the apocalypse comes, I want to live in that guy’s village!

  21. Arindam says:

    Hi Mags,
    Thanks for sharing this video. The instrument that man is somehow similar to those instruments which are used in this part of the world. But the procedure is different for sure. May be it has something to do with the wood quality.

  22. Talent, persistent, pride in his work; all the ingredients necessary to turn out such beautiful pieces…works of art. His foot had so much control…awesome to watch

  23. sporepigfish says:

    You have received the Sunshine Award! Please visit the following link: http://sporepigfish.wordpress.com/2012/03/20/sunshine-award/

  24. Bruce says:

    What great coordination, strong fingers, a sharp chisel and skill. Bruce

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi Bruce,
      Definitely a lot of skill, it’s great to watch how he made the chess piece just so much talent. :D
      Thank You very much for taking the time to comment.

  25. Fergiemoto says:

    Well, that’s some pretty amazing talent!!

  26. Tony McGurk says:

    I saw someone using a larger version of one of these on Global Village the other day.

  27. creativeboys says:

    I know i am always late at catching up but this is amazingly cool! :)

Leave a Reply

