Guys Jump to Avoid Bill: Rialto Australia/Base Jump (Video)

A very well planed escape.
Four guys dressed in suits entered the Rialto Towers in Melbourne Australia, The Rialto Towers has 56 floors, and the very exclusive Vue de monde Restaurant is on the 55th floor. The Rialto Towers is 243 metres or 797.24 feet high.

They had suitcases with them that they were allowed to keep, as they said they needed them for a function. They obviously knew about all the security measures.

The four guys in suits ordered some cocktails, and instead of paying the bill, they went out onto the balcony and jumped. They had parachutes hidden underneath their suits; they had helmets in their suitcases. They did a good base jump before opening their chutes, and a car was waiting for them on the corner.

Read about this Stunt in News.com.au. Also there is a link in the article where you can hear all about the Stunt (mp3)

Other related posts from my blog:

This entry was posted in Australia, Funny and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

63 Responses to Guys Jump to Avoid Bill: Rialto Australia/Base Jump (Video)

  1. wolke205 says:

    Oh my god..I would never do this… ;)

  2. Arindam says:

    What an amazing stunt Mags. But I could not image they did this only to avoid paying the bill. It was something extraordinary. Great post. Thanks for sharing it. :)

  3. Ok, that is crazy. I wish I had the guts to try something like that!! Hope they didn’t leave their credit card behind:)

  4. aFrankAngle says:

    Just another example of “It takes all types to make the world go around.” … and of course the answer to the “Why?” question is “Because they can.”

  5. David says:

    That beats scrambling through a maze of tables trying not to get nabbed by a waiter or tripped up by a public-spirited diner! Most definitely a stylish way to skip out on your bill!

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi David,
      It certainly does, and doing it all in business suits is definitely more than stylish. :D
      Thank You for taking the time to comment.

  6. Oh my..they are so brave! I would be afraid if my parachute would not open!

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi Any Lucky Penny,
      So many things could of gone wrong, being in the middle of the city, with buildings everywhere, they obviously was very experienced base jumpers.

  7. niasunset says:

    They are crazy… I can’t imagine myself… 243 meter…. WOW! Thank you dear Mags, with my love, nia

  8. Oh my stars and garters!

  9. lolabees says:

    Some people will do anything for a free drink!

  10. travelrat says:

    I wonder what they’re most hacked off about; jumping from their hotel or not paying their bill?

  11. What an adrenaline rush! Me – I’d rather have stayed for a meal at Vue du Monde. I’ve been wanting to go for ages! :-)

  12. Great plan.Great fun as well i bet.. Kind of a radical dine and dash idea though.

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi John,
      Radical it was, but mission accomplished I think, the story was on the TV, in the newspapers, and they still haven’t found the guys yet. :D

  13. Windsmoke. says:

    Gutsy effort all the same. Channel nine showed mobile phone footage from people who were on top of the Rialto at the time. There’s no law against base jumping in Victoria that may change after this :-).

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi Windsmoke,
      Yes I saw some of the footage, just unreal. :D
      Your right about the law, but I think you still have to get permission so they can clear some streets. Many years ago there was some base jumpers that jumped from the Rialto, but is was an organized jump, and the police had blocked some streets until after the jump. :)

  14. gitwizard says:

    I would be scared of being ON the 54th floor let alone jumping from it!
    Amazing they didn’t have an accomplice on the ground filming them.

  15. ~mimo~ says:

    yikes!! daring and kind of nuts :)

  16. Rebekah says:

    It was kind of cool … but it once again reinforces the fact that I’ll never understand people!!! :)

    Have they not found them yet?

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi Rebekah,
      In a lot of cases neither do I. :lol:
      No they still haven’t found them, and nobody got the number plate of the car that was waiting for them either, very well planned. :)

  17. Lenore Diane says:

    Testosterone is a strong beast. I shake my head, because I don’t understand. I am so glad they made the jump safely, and I am glad my husband isn’t into base jumping.

  18. Fergiemoto says:

    That’s one thing you won’t catch me doing – not voluntarily anyway. Scary.

  19. BoJo Photo says:

    Those are some cool dudes!!! :)

  20. I saw this on television of course but it was only presented as a stunt. Nothing about trying to avoid paying a bill. In my opinion, the aim of the exercise was the jump. Ordering something was only to gain access to their jumping-off point. They were lucky to have all escaped injury. Obviously stupid, immature males who are not intelligent enough to think of the possible consequences. The fact that it all went off well is only going to encourage other stupid people to try the same thing, which might not end as well. According to an interview with one of them later, they are even very proud of themselves. It would have been the emergency services who would have had to scrape them off the ground or the buildings if things had gone wrong. All it takes is a strong gust of wind.

  21. jmgoyder says:

    Bizarre! Only in Australia? hehe!

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi jmgoyder,
      Bizarre is a very good word to describe this. :D
      There is of course base jumping all over the world, but I’m sure it would only be Aussies that would escape this way for some news coverage after cocktails. :lol:

  22. E.C. says:

    Imagine if a base jump wasn’t the only shenanigans they were up too. This is scary, but in a way it’s helpful because I bet it won’t happen again. I’ll bet there’s No suitcases allowed now… ;)

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi E.C.
      You are right, security will be a lot tighter now, no excuses for bringing in suitcases, it will definitely not be happening again from that Restaurant. :)

  23. Linda Vernon says:

    Maybe someday they’ll make a movie about them! I gotta say it would be so much fun! If I was brave enough which I’m not!

  24. ‘The restaurant has received so much free press that I think they should forgive the diners and ask them back for a redo! Wow!

  25. cestlavie22 says:

    Wow! Gotta give them credit this was well planned out!

  26. El Guapo says:

    I think the restaurant made up for the drink tab in free publicity…
    This is also on my list of things to do (not the ditch the bill, just the downtown base jump).

  27. Thrill seekers will be thrill seekers, and the rest of us will keep on being amazed at each new endeavor! :)

  28. Lynn says:

    Yes,I also believe there is someting strange about it.In any case,when people has nothing to do,becouse they have mostly everything,they do just things like that.

  29. Rayya says:

    Wow spectacular efforts made by those jumpers. I am fascinated by how brave they were to pull of this very well planned stunt. They must have had a big hit of adrenaline :-)

  30. Selma says:

    Crazy guys. They should just have offered to do the washing up instead ;)

  31. It was all for the jump, don’t you think? the high from jumping from that building?

Leave a Reply

