Funny Ice-Cream Commercial (Video)

Here in Australia, the word Budgie Smugglers is slang for men’s tight-fitting Speedo-style swimwear, also all swimwear is known as Togs.
Thanks to Deb who sent me the link.
Although I haven’t yet worked out what togs (swimwear) has to do with ice-cream :lol:

This entry was posted in Australia, Fun, Funny and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

57 Responses to Funny Ice-Cream Commercial (Video)

  1. Haha! Very funny! Men in America really don’t wear those anymore unless they’re on a professional swim team. They’re considered pretty gross. The last time they were in fashion was the 1970’s. If you’re wearing a speedo in America, you’re likely not from here! haha!

  2. trod1952 says:

    Reminds me of a cartoon in a Cracked (or was it Mad?) magazine more than 40 years ago. Only it involved a young lady putting on top and bottom from the wrong drawer while visiting a freind and prepping for the beach. No one noticed until the friend pointed out that instead of a bikini it was just a matching bra and panties. Now that certianly got the boys attention! Until then she had blended in with all the other girls in bikinis. It is all in the mind.

  3. Tony McGurk says:

    Ha Ha Hilarious. Never seen that one on TV before

  4. Hey Mags – I think that’s a Kiwi ad’ from MY childhood! Trumpets are what Aussies know as a Cornetto. Makes me all nostalgic… (sigh!)

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi This Sydney Life,
      Spot on it is a NZ ad, but the words still needed explaining, there are a lot of people that wouldn’t know what Budgie Smuggles was or Togs, and as you know these words are what we say in OZ as well, I don’t know if any other countries use these words, but I don’t think so. :D

  5. Budgie Smugglers and Togs – had no idea they were slang for Speedos. Must concur with your assessment – what does either have to do with ice cream? Perhaps laughing up an appetite.

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi writingfeemail,
      Oh yes, Togs is applied to all swimwear, we never call swimwear, swimwear, if you walk into a shop and if you want to ask about swimwear, you always use the word Togs. :D

  6. Windsmoke. says:

    Its definitely a fine line between where you wear Budgie Smugglers and where Undies become Undies :-).

  7. BoJo Photo says:

    Too funny! I loved it when he got on the bus!!! :)

  8. Oh my gosh, still chortling with laughter (togs, togs, togs…undies)

  9. Elyse says:

    Wonderfully silly! Thanks Mags!

  10. barb19 says:

    Thank goodness they are not worn much anymore, except for our Lifesavers of course!

  11. aFrankAngle says:

    Good chuckles Mags. Just another example of remembering the commercial more than the product.

  12. mjcache (Mel Cope) says:

    Hey Mags… it makes a really good point. Since the advent of the board short, budgie smugglers are rarely seen in Western Australia and I would like to thank God for that!

  13. Laura says:

    Loved it! My favorite was the part where the truck temporarily blocked the view of the ocean.

  14. Love it! :) Had my husband watch it too, as he is right here. We both laughed. What a great sense of humor you have, Mags. My favorite part was the little old lady sitting next to him on the bus, looking terrified!

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi happykidshappymom,
      I’m glad you both had a laugh, and yes that lady did look terrified, I also thought she did a great job in the ad. :D

  15. :lolL Max whata a fun silly commercial..although that lady in bus sitting next to the togs man looked so scared i dont think she will ever travel in public transport again :lolL

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi Soma,
      She is certainly a very good actress, I hope she got paid well, she was brilliant. :lol:
      My name is actually Mags, which is short for Margaret, but nobody ever calls me Margaret, we usually always shorten names here in Australia. :D

  16. souldipper says:

    Hilarious and very true. Hope the ad sells ice cream…

  17. E.C. says:

    ~rofl~ Oh my garsh what a bizarre marketing strategy. lol

  18. Rebekah says:

    :LOL: That was too funny … good that they’re mostly gone!

  19. Laughing out loud here! The elderly lady sitting next to the man in togs on the bus was probably thanking her lucky stars for the sensual treat she was getting on that ride! ;)

  20. Linda Vernon says:

    Wonderful! Haha! I’m Overwhelmed with the underpants commercial! :)

  21. Arindam says:

    Hi Mags.
    It was hilarious. Is this the way to simplify summer! :) togs togs togs…. what was that! Oh my god, it was one of the funniest add I have ever seen. And that old lady in the bus, I hope she would not have traveled on bus again. :)

  22. river says:

    Swimwear is only called togs in Queensland. Other states call them cossies, swimmers or bathers.
    Queensland is also the only state that calls a small suitcase a “port”.

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi river,
      True, there are some people here in QLD who also call togs bathers, I know of friends in NSW that call them togs, I think as people move around they take there saying with them. :)

  23. Selma says:

    I’ve always called them cossies but my husband who is a Kiwi calls them togs. The ad has confused me a bit. It doesn’t make me want an ice cream but I wouldn’t mind a nice couple of buns. LOL.

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi Selma,
      Oh yes I am still trying to work out what guys walking around in practically nothing has to with ice-cream. :lol:
      It’s amazing as people move around from place to place there are different sayings in the same area.

  24. I really loved that! Very funny!

  25. dearrosie says:

    I can’t see what this has to do with ice cream but I like learning ozzie words. I wonder if I’ll ever get a chance to use “Budgie Smugglers” and “Togs” at my cash register with some Ozzie tourists.
    Do you call undies “knickers”?

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi dearrosie,
      I still haven’t worked out the ice-cream part. :lol:
      Yes we use the word Knickers this word only applies to women’s underwear, Underdaks applies to men’s underwear only, Iron underpants applies to girdles, or any figure controlling underwear, and Undies applies to all. :D

  26. Sorry, getting my error report again. Maybe it is because I am reading everything so late.

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi purpleborough,
      I just checked the video and it played alright for me, I’m sorry you couldn’t see it, I’m sure you would of had a bit of a laugh.

Leave a Reply

