Blobfish: Australia (Video)

The blobfish is found only in very deep waters around mainland Australia as well as Tasmania, it is a fish that you would not normally see because of the deaths that it lives at. They are usually caught in nets that are bottom trawling and the blobfish accidently get caught. There are scientists that believe the blobfish is a threatened species because of the bottom trawling, but there really is no way of telling, the Australian Museum does not think they are endangered.

Blogfish that has been out of the water for a period of time

The blobfish live at depths between 600 to 1,200 meters or 2,000 to 3,900 feet, the pressure of the water at this depth has an extreme amount of pressure. The flesh of the blobfish is primarily a gelatinous mass with a density slightly less than water, so this does allow the fish to float just above the sea floor without expending energy on swimming. The blobfish lack muscle so it feeds on food that floats in front of it, usually invertebrates like crab. Yes this fish is very lazy

Mr. Blobby” has a facebook page which was started by the Austrlian Museum if anyone is interested.

Also there is a great video from the Australian Museum that goes for just over 3 minutes, explaining how Mr. Blobby was caught, and how the blobfish changes once it is out of the water. The blobfish in the first photo above is the fish out of water for a period of time, when they are in the water they look totally different.

This is the best video I could find on the blobfish, most as you can imagine have been made into comedies.

 

You may also like these posts from my blog:

This entry was posted in Australia, Fish and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

86 Responses to Blobfish: Australia (Video)

  1. Madhu says:

    I visit your blog to be educated on a new subject everyday :-) Knew about this one, but wasn’t aware of all the facts. Thanks Mags.

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi Madhu,
      Yes there is a bit of misinformation out there about this fish, but you would expect that with something that looks like a blob. :lol:
      You have to admit he is ugly when he has been out of the water for awhile.

  2. Lenore Diane says:

    I didn’t read the post about the Pygmy Hippo, because I didn’t want to get sad. This Blob fish though… wow. What a face! Thank you for – once again – educating me, Mags. Your posts are great!

  3. bulldogsturf says:

    How glad I am I don’t eat fish… imagine that arriving on a plate in front of you in a restaurant…

  4. lolabees says:

    Whoa, is he funny looking!

  5. niasunset says:

    I can’t believe this is amazing fish… Thank you dear Mags, I haven’t known before, this blobfish… Love, nia

  6. andy1076 says:

    Dang that’s one freaky face! nose too!

  7. haha! They are perfectly named, aren’t they? Funny little faces, too. Thanks for sharing this, I’m sure I never would have stumble upon the blobfish on my own.

  8. Elyse says:

    Is this life imitating a cartoon? What a curious creature — I love him. Thanks, Mags. This was a special treat.

  9. Windsmoke. says:

    The blobfish in the first photo is not a happy little chappy at all, then again who would be being taken away from their home :-).

  10. Definitely a face that only a mother could love :)

  11. Oster's Mom says:

    This is amazing! I’ve never seen or heard of a blobfish before. What a sight to see.

  12. reb says:

    LOL … the face of that guy! I agree with Lenore — a face only a mother could love! Great post :)

  13. Love learning about new animals. I hadn’t heard of this one.
    Great!

  14. aFrankAngle says:

    Cheers to another unique creature from OZ that I didn’t know. Meanwhile, now that is one ugly fish! Thanks Mags.

  15. In a couple of those photos the blobfish reminded me of the cartoon character Ziggy.

  16. Quick; hide this post. Those of you who have read my blog and know about our Koi pond will understand that my husband will want a blobfish if he sees this.

  17. I’m surprised it wasn’t thrown back. That is one ugly fish.

  18. hotlyspiced says:

    Wow! Well what an interesting fish. I had never heard of these before. They are a very sad looking fish, aren’t they. Great video but a shame about the voice-over! xx

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi hotlyspiced,
      Interesting is a good word. :)
      There was a lot of videos on this fish, some very rude :lol: Others rather funny, but not a lot of information at all, this one I felt was the best of the bunch. :D

  19. dearrosie says:

    what an interesting ugly creature. I love it’s name – blobfish.

  20. Madame Weebles says:

    I feel bad for the blobfish. And I think they’re kind of cute, in a “so ugly they’re cute” sort of way.

  21. barb19 says:

    Blobfish is the perfect name for this one!

  22. Andrew says:

    I don’t know what else to say other than wow…

  23. adinparadise says:

    Oh my word, what an ugly face that is. “Beauty is in the eye of the beholder,” so they say. ;)

  24. Nooooooooooo they can’t be real? – _ -

  25. raisingdaisy says:

    What an unusual creature! It sure doesn’t look too happy….

  26. Mr.Bob Fish aint a funny guy at all…in fact it looks he is someone still trying to get the joke :lol:

  27. viveka says:

    as .. somebody already said .. a face that only a mother can love.

  28. That has to be the most hideous looking creature I have ever seen!!! Interesting to learn about though!

  29. Linda Vernon says:

    Ohh! They look just like people. Even the eyes! Fascinating!!! :D

  30. Blobfish – it does look like a blob. I’ve seen that facial expression on some people from time to time. Wondering what it is like to have no muscles and to have to eat whatever happens to swim by!

  31. El Guapo says:

    Despite this all having been said by other commenters, My first three thoughts were
    Ziggy!
    Dear god, that’s ugly!
    Most appropriately named fish ever.

  32. I feel sad about this sad fish, but maybe they are ok. Hope so, Mags. ;)

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi bentehaarstad,
      The Australian Museum seems to think they are not endangered, they have done a lot of study on this fish, more than anyone else so I tend to believe them. :)

  33. Fergiemoto says:

    What a funny looking creature. I don’t think I could eat it just served to me whole like that. The face is kind of creepy.

  34. Selma says:

    It almost doesn’t seem real. Quite freaky looking. I thinkjit would be safe to say there are no blobfish beauty queens out there. Haha.

  35. Pam says:

    Love Mr. Blobfish! Enjoy your break. I just spent last week showing my brother and niece around our part of Florida. Have fun!

  36. Tony McGurk says:

    What a strangely unusual & unusually strange fish. I’ve never heard of them before, Great informative video.

  37. munchow says:

    I have never heard about the blobfish. Maybe that is to no surprise taken they live at depths around 600 to 1,200 meters. Not the sweetest thing in the world – and I can imagine that comedies is a place that would exploit the fact. I take it, it’s not much for eating either without muscles? Thanks for a great post.

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi munchow,
      It certainly is very strange looking, it is amazing what weird and wonderful creatures live at these depths, and I’m sure there are a lot still that we don’t know about. :)

  38. Umm… YUCK! That is so gross, but yet, I couldn’t look away. :) I had to watch the video without sound, but wow. Eww. It looks like that fish could up and start talking for crying out loud! Like something you’d see in a Tim Burton movie. You better return from your break soon and share something pretty. :)

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi Melissa,
      I agree a very strange looking creature, just amazing what is in our seas, no doubt more strange animals will be discovered as we are able to go deeper into the depths.
      Sorry about the late reply, I am on a blog break at the moment. :)

  39. So is that were the movie the BLOB came from LOL :) Very Cool! Nice to see you again :)

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi Peggy,
      Sorry for the late reply, I haven’t been on my blog for ages, my Dad had a triple by-pass operation he is 81 so it has been a very emotional roller coaster. All is well and he is recovering really well I think considering his age.

      I wondered about that movie myself when I first saw it, you have to admit it is a very good likeness. :)

  40. WordsFallFromMyEyes says:

    How amazing – all my decades an Australian & I’d never heard of these fish!

    Just the photo though – their blobby nose & sad turned mouth. They’re well named as blob fish. Very interesting post – thank you :)

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi WordsFallFromMyEyes,
      I’m glad you enjoyed the post. Whoever named these fish certainly chose the right name. :) It is amazing the many different marine life that are around, and I’m sure there are some that are still not yet discovered.
      Sorry about the late reply. I haven’t been to my blog for ages, my Dad had to have a triple by-pass operation, he is 81 so it has been a very worrying time. Thank goodness he seems to be doing well, I am looking after him until he gets back on his feet.
      I hope to be able to go to a few blogs before Xmas, I do miss everyone. :)

  41. Anonymous says:

    a poop fish

Leave a Reply

