Sydney New Years Eve Fireworks 2013 (Pictures/Video)

People were arriving early in different parts around Sydney Harbour to see the fireworks to try and get the best vantage points. There were long line ups around Mrs Macquarie’s Point; (east of the Sydney Opera House) even though there is room there for around 17,000 people, the crowds starting lining up 14 hours before the fireworks were to begin.

                                             Photo from the picture gallery

Not a boring wait though there were plane Aerobatics, boats of all sizes and shapes entering the harbour, plenty of buskers around.

                                            Photo from the picture gallery

                                                Photo from the picture gallery

Crowds fill Sydney Harbour’s shore line early to get the best position for the New Year’s Eve fireworks. Picture: Anthony Reginato Source: The Daily Telegraph

As you can see the weather in Sydney was perfect all day and also for the big fireworks display, it must have been a fantastic night there for those that were lucky enough to have been able to go.

More Pre-New Years photos as well as photos of the fireworks
embrace picture gallery

Other posts you may like to look at from my blog:

This entry was posted in Australia, Entertainment and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

139 Responses to Sydney New Years Eve Fireworks 2013 (Pictures/Video)

  1. jmgoyder says:

    YOU’RE BACK – YEEHA!

  2. cobbies69 says:

    you guys always put on a fabulous show, thank you for sharing,, love fireworks an all..;)

  3. wolke205 says:

    Welcome back and a very Happy New Year 2013 :D

  4. adinparadise says:

    Wonderful celebrations. Thanks for sharing, and a Happy New Year to you. :)

  5. Happy New Year! I missed your weekend-jokes and your warm comments.

  6. Excellent post! So very glad to have you back! How’s Dad?
    Also, I should probably just look it up, but what’s a “busker?”
    Scott

  7. Looks great……Happy New Year

  8. Lori DiNardi says:

    How cool to see the festivities across the globe from where I live. I didn’t realize it was so warm this time of year over there. Awesome! Thank you for sharing and Happy New Year.

  9. Margie says:

    Glad you are back and Happy New Year!

  10. Elyse says:

    I was so excited to see this post in my inbox, Mags! Welcome back — and I’m glad to read that your Dad is doing better.

    All the best for the New Year!

  11. dearrosie says:

    Welcome back dear Mags! Gosh what a brilliant fireworks display!
    I know we live far from each other but its only at times like this that its so obvious just how far – I’m just eating my breakfast coffee and toast and you’ve already welcomed the New Year :-)

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi dearrosie,
      They do put on a nice show for everyone each year.
      It is just passed 3.30am, in this brand New Year and I am just about to go to bed. :D
      Happy New Year.

  12. Happy New Year Mags.

  13. Dear Mags, so nice to hear from you. I hope your New Year is a happy one!

  14. happy, Happy, HAPPY New Year! May it be filled with health and joy!

  15. Happy New Year! Nice to see you back around WordPress!

  16. robincoyle says:

    You Aussies know how to do fireworks! Happy New Year!

  17. El Guapo says:

    A beautiful celebration (And I’m jealous that teh viewers there could sunbathe while they waited. I broke out the ski gloves for today’s commute.)

    Glad to read above that your dad is progressing well, and hope that heralds a joyous year for you and your family!
    (And it’s great to see you again, Magsx2!)

  18. aFrankAngle says:

    Welcome back … and making the return on to start the new year is classic! Glad to have you back .. and Happy New Year to you and yours! … and thanks for keeping in touch.

  19. hotlyspiced says:

    Wow! You sure did get this up quickly. I love the Sydney fireworks but we were away this year so missed them so great to see what we missed. It sure looks like it was a beautiful day in Sydney. Happy New Year xx

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi hotlyspiced,
      You couldn’t ask for a nicer day, or evening the weather did look spot on, it would of been fantastic to be there.
      Happy New Year.

  20. malc50Mal says:

    Welcome back, Mags! All the very best for 2013! Cheers.

  21. Happy New Year Mags! I loved seeing the fireworks show there!

  22. E.C. says:

    Welcome back. It’s great see your new post, it’s truly a treat for the last day of the year and makes the future look full of joy. I missed you! I wish you & your family a very Happy New Year! :)

  23. Asifa Zunaidha says:

    Wish u a very Happy & Healthy New Year!

  24. barb19 says:

    See how much you’ve been missed? S’wonderful!
    Looking forward to your regular posts again Mags, and thank you for this one for the Aussies and those who love what we do at New Years!

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi barb19,
      I couldn’t believe the changes that have been made to WP, it was a bit of a shock when I went to add photos and video. :D I’m very humbled that people still remember me after 5 months away from the blogosphere.
      Thank You Barb. :)
      Happy New Year.

      • barb19 says:

        Yeah, lots of changes lately in WP!
        Mags, how do you add videos to your posts? All I can manage is to leave the link for people to click on, and it looks so unprofessional.

        • magsx2 says:

          It is actually easier to embed a video since the changes. All you have to do is put the link in your post, make sure that it is not hyperlinked (blue) if it is just highlight it and click onto the broken link image, and it should turn black. (unlinked) Before you publish have a look at preview and the video should be there embedded for you.
          Let me know how you go with it.

  25. Years ago we had a cruiser up on the Hawkesbury and drove it down to Sydney and parked opposite the Taronga Zoo so we could watch the fireworks. What an amazing event it was. Boats were cheek by jowl, the water was choppy and everyone had the best time. The fancy sailboat anchored next to us would pass over fantastic nibblies every time the boats swung together. I’d love to do that again. Great photos and I hope you have a wonderful 2013!

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi Maureen,
      What a fantastic view point, I can only imagine how wonderful that was seeing in the New Year on the harbour itself, sounds like great people next to your boat as well that night, a wonderful New Years Eve memory.
      Happy New Year to you as well.

  26. niasunset says:

    WOW! These are amazing. Thank you dear Mags, Happy New Year to you too! Love, nia

  27. Jodi says:

    Happy New Year Mags!!! Glad you’re back!

  28. zannyro says:

    Thanks so much for this fireworks display!!!!! I got too tired and didn’t make it until midnight :(
    HAPPY NEW YEAR….WISHING YOU ALL GOOD THINGS!!

  29. viveka says:

    There is only 2 cities in the world .. have can … do fireworks that is worth talking about – it’s Sydney and London – miss London at New Year.

  30. Madhu says:

    Welcome back Mags! Hope the year ahead is splendid in every way!
    Enjoyed the fireworks :-)

  31. Mags, I am so happy to have found you again! I was a follower of yours, and loved your posts about unusual animals, like the tiny monkey (my fave!). Then you suddenly disappeared and I wondered where you were. So welcome back into my awareness!

    • magsx2 says:

      Yes I went missing for just on 5 months. My 81 year old Dad had to have a heart operation, but everything has turned out well, and Dad is fine. :)

  32. We’ve got a little dusting of snow here. It makes all of these festivities a little more challenging and unpleasant, to be honest. Boy, would I love to be in Sydney for the New Year’s celebration. Maybe next year and I’ll bring my suit!!
    Happy 2013, Mags!!
    Lisa

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi Lisa,
      Oh definitely bring your suit, the weather is usually around 30C to 35C ( 86F to 95F) Some years of course have been hotter but that is the norm, perfect weather for a dip to cool off. :D
      Happy New Year.

  33. lolabees says:

    It’s funny… I was just thinking about how our traditional New Year’s Eve goes hand in hand with cold, snowy evenings, and that your traditional NYE across the globe is during your summertime. It’s hard to imagine a perfect day for NYE, but I’m sure I could get used to it! Happy New Year!

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi lolabees,
      I’m sure you would love it, something totally different. :D
      One day I might get up enough courage to go somewhere it is snowing for Christmas/New Year, I think it would be lovely to have a white Christmas.
      Happy New Year.

  34. rebekajo says:

    Oh, how good it felt to see your post in the list! Happy New Year … all the best for you and yours 2013! Those were awesome celebrations! Saw a bit on CNN too! Hope your Dad will continue on this good road to full recovery!

  35. Selma says:

    People do love their New Year’s fireworks. Great footage, Mags. HAPPY NEW YEAR xxx

  36. bronxboy55 says:

    That’s a long time to wait for fireworks, but I’m sure it was well worth it. Happy New Year, Mags, and I’m glad your Dad is doing better.

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi bronxboy55,
      There are certain spots that are brilliant to take the family to watch the fireworks display, but you have to be prepared to get there very early or you will miss out. :)
      Dad is doing really well now.
      Happy New Year.

  37. Happy New Year Mags – hope your Dad is better. The photos are brilliant – wish I could have been there.

  38. I saw all of 3 bursts of fireworks, lol. Sounds and looks like a fun time! Happy New Year, my friend!!

  39. Indira says:

    Welcome back Mags, I was missing you. Happy New year to you and family.

  40. Indira says:

    Hi Mags, welcome back. Wish your father a happy and healthy New Year and to you too.

  41. Happy New Year to you…and glad to hear your father is progressing nicely. I am sure much of his recovery is thanks to you being there to help and encourage.

    Nobody does fireworks better than Sydney – the backdrop is so gorgeous to begin with. My sister and her husband lived in Sydney for a few years and always said we had to come over for the fireworks. We never did. Darn.

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi EOSR,
      Thank You. :)
      The Sydney fireworks always seem to be great, what a shame you didn’t get the chance to came to Oz to watch them, but you never know maybe one day. :D
      Happy New Year.

  42. Cafe says:

    14 hours?! Christ Almighty. Now that’s dedication. I love how it’s so warm over there for Christmas! It’s too cold right now in Toronto :S

    Glad to see you back here, Mags (btw, is that actually your name? Lol)

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi Cafe,
      Oh yes you must get there early for the best spots, about 1.5 million people go to the harbour to watch the fireworks.
      My name is Margaret, all my friends have been calling be Mags since the year dot. It is very common in Oz to shorten peoples names. :)
      Happy New Year.

  43. Linda Vernon says:

    Wow! Now those are some amazing fireworks. I’m guessing a busker is someone selling refreshments? I’ve never heard that term before! Happy New Year Mags. You guys down under really know how to celebrate! :D

  44. megtraveling says:

    Great post and video – Happy New Year!

  45. jakesprinter says:

    Excellent post Mags , Wish the best for 2013 my friend :)

  46. Wow! That is one unforgettable New Year. From a breathtaking view of the harbor , to the entertainment , to the spectacular fireworks, Sydney shines bright with excitement and hope for all. Happy New Year!

  47. Rayya says:

    Happy 2013. Did you get to enjoy new years in sydney? It is definitely a new years place to be :-)

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi Rayya,
      It is lovely to hear from you. No I wasn’t one of the lucky ones to be able to spend New Years Eve on the Sydney Harbour, but I totally agree it was definitely the place to be. :D
      I haven’t been blogging for 5 mths, my Dad had to have a heart operation he is 81 so it was all very worrying, but he is now doing really well and I have a bit more time. I am not back to full time blogging yet, but I am trying to catch up with everyone, I am getting there. :)
      Happy New Year.

      • Rayya says:

        Hey Mags,

        Glad to hear your dad is recovering really well. That would have been very scary.
        Looking forward to having you back in the blogging scene :-)

  48. Subhan Zein says:

    I wish they had one of those down here in Canberra.

    Happy New Year to you, Mag. May 2013 bring you more love, happiness, and success. Many blessings and much love to you.. :-)

    Subhan Zein

  49. travelrat says:

    Did you see any TV of the London ones? FAR better than I expected!

    Welcome back, and a belated Happy New Year … (been away for a week)

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi travelrat,
      I did they were fantastic, London and Sydney both put on a very good display every New Year, I thought London was great last year, but I think they did even better this year. :)
      Happy New Year.

  50. Sydney sounds like a great city!

  51. That looks like a really great city!

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi Wesley,
      Sydney certainly knows how to entertain that is for sure. :D
      Thank You for visiting and taking the time to comment.
      Hope you have a wonderful New Year.

  52. Victoria says:

    That looks like a wonderful way to bring in the New Year! Great photos!

  53. raisingdaisy says:

    Wow! Happy new year to you!

  54. rebekajo says:

    Does my blog still show up in your reader, even though I changed the URL?

    • magsx2 says:

      I use my RSS feed rather than the reader, anyway I just checked your blog and this is the message I got:-
      “Warning! Domain mapping upgrade for this domain not found. Please log in and go to the Domains Upgrades page of your blog to use this domain.”
      It shows your last post as the 1st of January.

    • magsx2 says:

      Just deleted your “old” feed and put in your new URL, all is now good. I didn’t know you had changed it, thank you for the heads up.

      • rebekajo says:

        I knew you had a different set-up :) AND I think it might have been because I went from a domain upgrade to a different URL than I had before… anyway ..it’s all good :D

  55. Happy New Year, Mags! You folks down under know how to put on dazzling fireworks shows – I remember being amazed by last year’s show, too. I’m usually fast asleep when the new year arrives here, but if I had a show like this to see I bet I’d stay up and wait 14 hours, too. :)

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi Barbara,
      It is hard to get the best spot, but they put on plenty of different shows throughout the day to keep everyone from getting bored waiting especially the kids. :D
      Always very well organized and great fireworks at the end.
      Happy New Year to you and your family also.

  56. Hi Mags! I know I am a little late but Happy New Year to you!! It’s nice to see you posting again! Australia is a dream of mine to visit one day :D May this year bring you joy, health, love and a lot of good food :)
    Adri

Leave a Reply

