World’s Strongest Beer.

THE world’s strongest beer can be yours for a mere £500 ($855) a bottle.
The blond Belgian ale, named The End of History, is an astonishing 55 per cent alcohol by volume (ABV) and is presented in a case made from stuffed animals, including stoats and squirrels.

Brew Dog Taxidermy  

Made by BrewDog, based in Scotland, the beer is infused with fresh juniper berries and nettles from the Scottish Highlands and was developed using an extreme freezing technique.

Hundreds of pints of beer were used during the process, which was repeated dozens of times to produce just enough for a 330 milliliter bottle – hence the record breaking cost.

James Watt, the company’s co-founder, said: “This is the beer to end all beers.”

BrewDog drew criticism last year over the launch of a 32 per cent beer, which was later trumped by a German brewery that produced a 40 per cent strength liquor — BrewDog then created Sink the Bismark, at 41 per cent.

Mr Watt said The End of History was made to offer beer drinkers more choice.

“We want to show people there is an alternative to monolithic corporate beers, introduce them to a completely new approach to beer and elevate the status of beer in our culture.”

He said the first two bottles were sold to a beer fan in Denmark.

Click here to read the story in “Adelaide now”

More photo’s and video’s here at “Brew Dogs” main web site.

I think I would find it a bit hard drinking from a bottle that was inside some cute animal, but it is unique, there certainly isn’t anything else like it.

This entry was posted in Fun, News and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to World’s Strongest Beer.

  1. malc50 says:

    Hi magsx2, Brewdog says. “The beer is the last high abv beer we are going to brew, the end point of our research into how far we can push the boundaries of extreme brewing, the end of beer.” At least that is something we can be thankful for!

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi malc50,
      I just couldn’t believe it when I saw the animals. Did you watch the video’s? I just couldn’t put them on the blog, as I have some friends kids that sometimes read my blog, so the video’s were a bit much I thought. Strange, very strange indeed. “The end of extreme brewing beer” maybe for Brew Dog, but I think the other company’s that do it will continue, too much money to be made I think.

  2. Sue says:

    If that was a promotional video on their web site, it was the strangest I have ever seen. I agree I couldn’t drink anything put inside the animals, to me it’s a bit of a turn off.

  3. travelrat says:

    Well, at that high an ABV, it probably tastes pretty gruesome, but who’s to say? At 500 ‘pictures of the Queen’ a bottle, I don’t think anybody’s going to drink it, just stand it on the shelf to impress their friends.

    (Personally, I don’t think you can get better than Thwaites’ ‘Lancaster Bomber’; I can’t get it at the moment; my Australian brew of choice is ‘Little Creatures’ if I can find it;’Cascade’ if I can’t)

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi travelrat,
      Yes I also think that it would be too expensive to drink, a shelf to impress friends now that sounds about right, a bit of a show off piece. I don’t drink at all, but my Husband likes 4x (xxxx) it’s a Queensland beer of course, he does drink some other beers, but I couldn’t really tell you the names of them. Sounds like you had some fun tasting some different drinks, when we go overseas my Husband likes to try the local whatever, some are bad, others he said were very good, I think it’s all part of the fun and experience of travel for a lot of people.

      • travelrat says:

        Yes,I like Cooper’s when I’m in Adelaide, too. I’ve really found that Aussies are spoilt for choice these days when it comes to interstate beers; when I worked in S.A. in the 1960s, your choices were Southwark, West End or Cooper’s.

        Nowadays, you can even get stuff like Heineken, Guinness and Stella Tortoise if you know where to look and are prepared to pay the price.

        Really, I think the choice of beer depends on where you are, the time of day and what you’re doing … always adhering to the principle ‘There’s no such thing as bad beer; but some is better than others’

  4. malc50 says:

    Yes travelrat, “Little Creatures” from W.A. is a good drop, but a little expensive. I’m a fan of Cooper’s Home Brew myself, but will drink Toohey’s Old off the tap when I’m out, if it is available. Although a true Maroon Queenslander, I drank too much XXXX when I was a University student, and now prefer Carlton (Victorian), Toohey’s (NSW) and Boags (Tassie) beers, amongst others. Many of the beers I favoured (Carlton Draught, Power’s “Big Red”, …) over the years went out of production – I must not have drunk enough!

Leave a Reply

