Fishy Foot Fetish:- Let the fish clean your feet.(Video Included)

Flesh-eating fish are creating a buzz in the beauty world.

Spas offering the ‘fish pedicure’ are popping up across America and the UK – claiming to work wonders on tired, unsightly feet.

   

Known as ‘ichthyotherapy,’ the fishy procedure involves the feet being immersed in warm water as hungry fish feed upon dead skin, and is designed to treat minor wounds and relieve some skin conditions.

 

This entry was posted in Fish, Fun, News and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Fishy Foot Fetish:- Let the fish clean your feet.(Video Included)

  1. malc50 says:

    Hi magsx2, Just when you’d thought you’d heard it all!

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi malc50,
      There is always someone that will come up with something different if they think they can make a bit of money. In the article it said:- “The treatment, which first emerged in the Middle East around the 19th century.” It seems someone already new about this, or done some research, either way it’s a very creative idea.

  2. John Pollard says:

    Had the experience in Phuket last Xmas. Quite a weird feeling, fish nibbling your feet – doesn’t hurt at all, just very light ‘needle’ pricks on the skin. Also, they seem to like some feet better than others. I had masses covering my legs, while my partner virtually had none on hers – maybe she has better pedicure processes!!

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi John,
      I would love to give it a go. Plenty of dried skin on my feet, especially during summer. From accounts that I have read from people that have been lucky enough to give this a go, say basically what you have said, and also they say that their feet have been a lot smoother after the experience.
      (Thank You for visiting)

  3. Jill says:

    This looks like fun, would love to get this done. It would be an interesting experience, although I am very ticklish on the feet, so for me it really could be a lot of laughs.

  4. Ron says:

    Hey this is just what I need. It would be wierd that’s for sure.

  5. stevehollier says:

    My friend Hugh Paxton [a fellow blogger] was hospitalised as a result of this practice in Thailand. They used the wrong kind of flesh-eating fish! Here is the link: http://hughpaxton.wordpress.com/2010/03/25/fish-ate-my-feet-follow-up/

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi stevehollier,
      That is amazing that some places would not use the right fish! I went onto Hugh’s site, very interesting indeed. If you were at a place that had this therapy, it would be wise to sit back and watch and make sure that everything is right with the fish, I couldn’t see any other way of making sure of this.

  6. There’s something fishy about this spa treatment. Sorry. I can’t help myself. Seriously, I hear people are going for it hook, line, and sinker.

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi AA,
      LOL. Well said. Yes it is very popular especially in some Asian Countries, from what I found out about it people seem to think it does wonders for the feet. As I have said above I would give this a go if I ever had the chance, but I would wait until someone else was finished and make sure that everything was alright.🙂

  7. I’m with you. I’d first have to see all 10 toes on the person ahead of me when they were done.

  8. Pingback: Barracuda Jumps into Boat (Video) | Magsx2's Blog

Leave a Reply

