Blue Lagoon Iceland:- Geothermal Spa (Video Included)

The Blue Lagoon geothermal spa is one of the most visited attractions in Iceland. The steamy waters are part of a lava formation.
The warm waters are rich in minerals like silica and sulphur and bathing in the Blue Lagoon is reputed to help some people suffering from skin diseases such as psoriasis. The water temperature in the bathing and swimming area of the lagoon averages 37-39 °C (98-102 °F). The Blue Lagoon also operates a Research and Development facility to help find cures for other skin ailments using the mineral rich water.

 

The lagoon is fed by the water output of the nearby geothermal power plant Svartsengi and is renewed every 2 days. Superheated water is vented from the ground near a lava flow and used to run turbines that generate electricity. After going through the turbines, the steam and hot water passes through a heat exchanger to provide heat for a municipal hot water heating system. Then the water is fed into the lagoon for recreational and medicinal users to bathe in.

The spa is located in a lava field in Grindavík on the Reykjanes Peninsula, southwestern Iceland.  Situated approximately 13km (8 miles) from the Keflavík International Airport and 39km (24 miles) from the capital city of Reykjavík. That is roughly a 20 minute drive from the airport and a 40 minute drive from Reykjavík. The Blue Lagoon spa and geothermal complex is clearly visible from any of the usual satellite imagery.

 

Iceland has a strict code of hygiene and guests are required to shower without clothing in the communal shower area before and after bathing.

The Blue Lagoon was used as the pit stop for the first leg of The Amazing Race 6. The Blue Lagoon was used for the thermal spa scenes in the filming of Hostel: Part II. It was also shown in the Incubus documentary Look Alive, when the band visited Iceland.

Learn more from Wikipedia.

Source of Photo’s

This entry was posted in Entertainment, Fun and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Blue Lagoon Iceland:- Geothermal Spa (Video Included)

  1. Pingback: World Wide News Flash

  2. travelrat says:

    Iceland has long been on my ‘bucket list’ (volcanos notwithstanding!) … and I believe if you have a stopover of more than 2 hours at Reykjavik Airport, they’ll give you a complimentary tour to the Blue Lagoon.

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi travelrat,
      I think Iceland would be great to go too. But I think I would like more than a couple of hours, a tour of the Lagoon would not be good enough for me I’m afraid, once there, I would like to try everything out. 🙂
      Although I must admit I don’t like the idea of having to shower naked in a communal shower before I’m allowed into the spa, this would be one thing that would stop me from going in.

      • bingbing says:

        The shower thing? Yes, it is weird, but less so when you do it in a country where it’s normal. And that’s many a country, from Asia to the middle-east.

  3. Jill says:

    Ohhhh the luxury, I would love to have a dip in the water, go to the sauna, but I would not have a dip in the ice cold water, he was really game I think.
    I bet you would feel great after being in the thermal spa.

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi Jill,
      Yes it is Luxury that is for sure. The guy in the video certainly did look like he was enjoying himself, I also would not take a dip in the ice cold water.

  4. bingbing says:

    It looks like an awesome place to chill, if you’ll pardon the pun, and it’s great that it lights up a few lightbulbs.

    Hot Spring power won’t maintain us through the 21st century, of course, however… or even the19th.

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi bingbing,
      I totally agree with you about the power, but as long as it keeps the springs going that’s all that matters.

      I realize that communal toilets and showers are the thing in a lot of Countries, but I’ve been spoiled here in Australia, and I like my own. But there is always a way around things, I could get Hubby to hold up a tarp while I have my shower, problem solved. 😆

  5. magsx2 says:

    Hi bingbing,
    I should imagine it would be very weird. I doubt if I could actually go into one, especially for a shower, I’m assuming the toilets still have doors on them. But as I said if Hubby was allowed to bring a tarp no problem. 🙂

Leave a Reply

