Big Pineapple to House Collection of Racing Cars. (Video Included)

Dan Bowden is buying the iconic Queensland tourist attraction and plans to shift his family’s Bowden’s Own collection of Australian racing cars from Buderim into the Nambour museum and include other collections from around the country.

“Most racing car museums around the world only have one or two race cars because they are so expensive to get,” he said.

“We’re talking with other major collections in Australia that complement ours to make something special and of international standard.

“The other collections are ones that people know about plus others that are kept under lock and key which we want to incorporate on a rotating basis.”

Mr Bowden says he hopes to begin renovations in December and open six months later.

He has bought about 80ha of land on the northern end of the property for an undisclosed sum while the rest of the property has been sold to other buyers.

“The land is quite beautiful and I’d like to think we could have some sort of eco tours there,” he said

Read the full story in the “Courier Mail”

Dan Bowden also stated in the article that they have no plans to get rid of the Big Pineapple, which is fantastic, I would really hate to see this go, it is an icon on the Sunshine Coast. Also another big icon of this facility is it’s famous pineapple sundaes, which are out of this world, you have to see and taste them to believe it, this is also staying so I hope they don’t change the sundaes at all. Will have to check it all out when it opens.

This entry was posted in Australia, Queensland and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Big Pineapple to House Collection of Racing Cars. (Video Included)

  1. Pingback: Scrapping Cars & Recycling Blog » Blog Archive » Big Pineapple to House Collection of Racing Cars. (Video Included … - Everything and anything to do with recycling old vehicles in the 21st century.

  2. Harry says:

    I loved this blog post so much that I posted about it (and some other blog posts on a similar subject) over on my own blog. Thank you for taking the time to post it.
    I’d be interested to hear your opinion of my own article on the subject.
    Best wishes,

    cars2scrap

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi Harry,
      Thank You very much, I’m glad you found it interesting enough to mention it.
      I visited your blog and left my thoughts in a comment. Also a very interesting post.

  3. Ron says:

    I heard about this yesterday, it may give a new lease of life to old place. My wife would agree with you about the sundaes.

  4. travelrat says:

    I visited the Big Pineapple on the way to the Sunshine Coast in August … after having heard so much about it, I couldn’t not visit. I just wish we’d bought more jars of their delicious pineapple marmalade.

    But, a racing car museum! What a great idea! I hope it includes speedway midgets, as well as ‘proper’ racing cars … I remember seeing the first racing car that Jack Brabham ever built, still racing in the early 1960s.

    And the ‘Elfin’ … designed by a guy called Cooper; he couldn’t call it a Cooper, though, because there already was a Cooper racing car.

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi travelrat,
      I’m happy to hear you went to the Big Pineapple, a lot of their food was fantastic, and all made fresh on the premises, you just couldn’t go into a shop and find anything like it.

      A racing car museum will be a bit of a novelty, something different and as far as I know there isn’t anything like that up the coast. You were very lucky to have been able to see Jack Brabham first car, that would of been something I’m sure.

  5. Pingback: More Famous Pies and the Big Pineapple « Travelrat's Travels

Leave a Reply

