Jack Russell dog chased a Mountain Lion up a Tree.

It was a David and Goliath style battle that few would have thought possible.
But with the odds stacked against him, Jack the plucky Jack Russel chased a deadly mountain lion high into a tree.
The cornered lion remained trapped above the ground before the Jack Russel was able to pounce a few minutes later.

Jack’s owner, Chad Strenge, witnessed the astonishing scenes while he was walking Jack on farmland in South Dakota.

The pair had been hunting when Mr Strenge heard Jack barking frantically several hundred yards away.
Thinking that his heel-biting Jack Russel – a breed known for their high energy levels-  might have caught a squirrel, Mr Strenge raced to a patch of dense woodland.

Incredibly, the 150lb mountain lion was trapped high in the branches while 17lb Jack bayed for his blood below.
‘He trees cats all the time. I suppose he figured it was just a cat,’ said Mr Strenge.

Read the full story in “Mail Online”

Yes in the end he shot and killed the lion. Sad really.
Some animals are truly amazing, there must be millions of story’s like this out there, about brave dogs or other brave pets. Of course the dog was protecting his owner, this in itself is a kind of bravery. They truly are man’s best friend.

This entry was posted in Animals and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Jack Russell dog chased a Mountain Lion up a Tree.

  1. travelrat says:

    Mountain lion is a cat; Jack Russel is a dog … same old!

    When I think of how my wife’s Jack Russel used to stand up to my Labrador, this doesn’t really surprise me! 😀

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi travelrat,
      Yes the Jack Russell seem to be game little dogs, it must be part of their make-up, I wonder if it is because they are smallish. I’ve never owned a Jack Russell, but it seems they are very protective.
      I can just picture this Jake Russell standing up to a Labrador, and I’m sure the Labrador didn’t take any notice of him, and thought this dog is stupid, and just looked at him. 🙂 Labs have a beautiful nature.

  2. Jill says:

    I would of thought the mountain lion would of turned on the dog. I admit I don’t know anything about mountain lions, but I would never have expected the lion to bolt up a tree. lol.

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi Jill,
      I also don’t know much about mountain lions, but it does seem a bit of a dangerous situation. It could of very easily turned on the dog. I wonder if this is normal for a mountain lion to run and not attack?

  3. Pippin Lowe says:

    Scrappy is the word for a Jack Russell. My cousin and I either have or have had these energetic pets. We call them the terrorizers of the terrier clan. My Nik passed this year after 15 wild years. I missed him so much I finally edited the video of him of when I first brought him home as a puppy. He was so cute and WILD. Feel free to watch and laugh at Nik. http://www.pippinlowe.com/nik/. He was quite a character, as all Jack Russells seem to be.

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi Pippin Lowe,
      Terribly sorry to hear you lost your terrier. They do become part of the family, I also lost my dear baby a couple of years ago, she was 14 years old, an Australian Red Cattle dog, since then we have got ourselves another one, but as pet lovers know you can never replace the one that you lost.
      I watched your video, and he was a game little boy, looks like he was having a lot of fun though, with the rest of the “family”, he certainly was a lovely looking dog.

  4. vilmar says:

    Sounds unbelievable

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi vilmar,
      I suppose it would to some people, but here in OZ we do have a fair few snakes, but believe me it is rare to see them. But still if you are in Australia you must keep snakes in mind when wondering around the bush etc.
      Thank You for visiting and your comment.

  5. Jack says:

    Good story, to bad no movie was made.
    I know from experience the Jack russel thinks he is huge dog and act like that.
    Lucky the cat didn’t fight back 🙂

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi Jack,
      Yes it is a shame that their isn’t a video of this, I thought it was amazing, and very brave of the dog as well. I agree very lucky the cat didn’t fight back. 😀
      Thank You very much for visiting and taking the time to comment.

Leave a Reply

