Our Little Aussie, Cutest Tiny Horse Needs a Name.

Born ten days ago at a stud in the southern state of Victoria, Australia, the 15in miniature horse – which is yet to be named – has already formed a bond with Sam Leith, 12

Silver dun tovero in colour, she was given a clean bill of health – and should reach 24in when grown.
The birth has generated such excitement in the community that local people are entering a competition to give the horse a name in time for Christmas.

Owner Lee Scown said she wanted a name that reflected the tiny, unique nature of the horse.
‘It’s the smallest horse I’ve ever had and she’s so gorgeous,’ Ms Scown said.


The horse, currently only a little taller than this book, is expected to grow to about 24 inches

Read the full story in “Mail Online”also source of photo’s.

Isn’t she absolutely gorgeous, you just want to give her a cuddle, poor thing would never get to walk if I was with her, way too cute.

This entry was posted in Animals, Australia and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Our Little Aussie, Cutest Tiny Horse Needs a Name.

  1. travelrat says:

    Trying to think of an appropriate name … how about ‘Lily’ (short for ‘Lilliput’) ?

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi travelrat,
      I also was trying to think of a name before I posted, but I’m pretty useless at stuff like that. Lily sounds really good, I believe they have made it into a competition, it will be interesting to hear what name they decide on. I noticed in the paper that there also was a few suggestions, I just hope they do an update on the story, so we can all find out what name was chosen.

  2. Sue says:

    She is lovely, I love her colours, she is so cute. I would love to have one of these miniature horses, if only I didn’t live in the suburbs. I was thinking maybe Thumbelina as a name, do you know how I might go about submitting the name?

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi Sue,
      I also would love to have a miniature horse, but I live in the city also so, it’s a no go I’m afraid. The name Thumbelina is the name of the smallest horse in the world, born in America, I can’t remember where, but also a miniature horse. There are a lot of video’s on youtube about Thumbelina, if you would like to have a look.
      I couldn’t find a reference to where you can submit some names, maybe putting a comment in the paper? It’s worth a shot. I noticed most of the comments are names people have thought of.

  3. Sue says:

    LOL. Here I was thinking I had come up with something unique, Thumbelina is also a beautiful looking horse. So tiny, they certainly are adorable.

Leave a Reply

