Amazing Frozen Waterfall:- Estonia (Video)

An Estonian waterfall has frozen creating a world of imagination

This entry was posted in Fun and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Amazing Frozen Waterfall:- Estonia (Video)

  1. malc50 says:

    Hi magsx2, All the snow and ice looks picturesque, but I would not like to live in these conditions day in, day out. I’m happy living in tropical Queensland. Merry Christmas.

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi malc50,
      Yes I agree it does look picturesque, as far as the conditions go, I also would not like to live with this type of cold. Is it just that we’re not used to it, do you think? I myself have never seen snow for real, except on mountain peaks a long way away, and that is my only experience with snow. We tend to holiday in places in warmer climates, and don’t go to Countries in their winter.
      When we have traveled down south here in Australia, we never go in winter, so I haven’t really experienced real cold, I’m only used to our tropical winters, which for some people I assume would be like a light summer.

  2. malc50 says:

    Hi magsx2, You’ll have to go to the Snowy Mountains for a visit sometime to experience snow. That was my first experience of snow some 36 years ago. We visited the South Island of NZ last October. It was Spring, but there was still snow around. A helicopter ride over Franz Josef and Fox glaciers, landing on Chancellor Shelf (on the snow) above Fox glacier, was one of the highlights. Great place to visit, but I wouldn’t want to live there.

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi malc50,
      Nearly got to the Snowy Mountains about 5 years ago, but things happen and didn’t get there. I have seen pictures of the helicopter ride in NZ, looks great, and something completely different, going out to a glacier, Ahh maybe one day.
      Just got massive storm warnings all over the place here in Brissie, will be turning every thing off, looks like a bad one again, a lot of people yesterday got a very bad storm. I hope it’s not as bad.

  3. malc50 says:

    Hope the storm passes you by, magsx2. Interesting with your live feed – even though I’m in Townsville, it shows up as either Brisbane (broadband connection via fixed phone) or Sydney (Telstra 3G wireless connection).

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi malc50,
      We had 3 storms that all joined up, not good, we were lucky again today, but others have had a lot of damage, those that got damage from yesterday, got another lot today. I don’t mind the storms, but when they are that bad that they do damage, these type of storms we can do without. There are more on the way I noticed on the radar. Yesterday, some people got huge hail, and with the wind behind it, well you can imagine.

      The Live Traffic I find really good. It is strange how it gives different outputs, but it does give you an idea of what Countries people are from that are visiting. If you click onto it, it’s a lot better, and you can even remove yourself from it if you wish. This is the free one of course, but I’m happy with it. Every time I come onto my blog, I just remove myself from the feed, so that I’m not mixed up with the visitors.

  4. travelrat says:

    A shadow of this, of course, but Hardraw Force, in Yorkshire has been known to freeze in cold weather, producing, according to one Victorian commentator … ‘a column of ice, down the centre of which the water was still seen to flow … while the local people, thrilled by so novel an appearance, danced around it …’

    I don’t have any information on whether or not it’s frozen in recent years, but I wouldn’t be surprised.

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi travelrat,
      Yes you would assume it has frozen in recent times, with all the really cold weather you are all having over there, at least that is what I’m reading in the UK papers.
      It’s amazing how even in the frozen waterfall in the video, there is still water that is flowing only small of course, but I would of thought once frozen the whole lot would freeze, but obviously that is not the case.

    • malc50 says:

      A facebook friend from York reported on 7 December 2010: “The river here in York is frozen all the way over at one point – the first time in 80 years – dont think I will risk walking it tho.”

Leave a Reply

