Frozen Lighthouse:- Ohio (Video Included)

In the midst of unusually cold weather being experienced in the eastern states of the US, the below average temperatures have brought about an icy spectacle.

The frozen water which constantly sprays from a lake in Ohio has turned a lighthouse into a stunning ice sculpture.

In daylight, rays of sunshine illuminate the ice formations.

The lighthouse is expected to stay frozen for some time with more huge snow falls have been predicted for the region.

Read the story in “Bigpond News”

This is unreal, seems everyone is having a colder winter than normal. I was also reading in other newspapers that the ships can no longer see the light from the lighthouse, this is also a very dangerous situation I feel.
See also the “Amazing Frozen Waterfall in Estonia” (Video)

This entry was posted in News and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Frozen Lighthouse:- Ohio (Video Included)

  1. malc50 says:

    Hi Magsx2, The weather appears a little bracing in Ohio. You continue to extend my education. I had associated Lake Erie with Canada to the North and the U.S. state of New York to the South. Wikipedia advises that it is also bounded by the U.S. states of Pennsylvania, Ohio and Michigan.

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi malc50,
      Yes it certainly is terrible weather for everyone and not only in the U.S. I heard this morning on the radio that there are people stuck at Heathrow airport because of the bad weather (snow) that’s 3 very bad winters now for the UK and the US.

      Yes I also learned a lot about Lake Erie as well, I didn’t realize it was so wide spread.

  2. travelrat says:

    Have a look at this one: http://www.flickr.com/photos/31258795@N00/5269176804/

    I took it about 20 years ago, on the summit of Cairn Gorm (about 4000 feet). I don’t think it’s getting any colder; if you go back far enough, you’ll find the last 25 years or so have been warmer than usual.

    My Dad has stories about skating on Lake Windermere; it’s only frozen over twice in my lifetime, and then not thick enough to skate on. (Don’t know about the 1963 freeze; I lived in Adelaide then!)

  3. Selma says:

    WOW. It looks like something from a Sci Fi movie. Quite unnerving in a way. I hope that cold snap doesn’t do too much damage.

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi Selma,
      It does look unreal doesn’t it, not something you would expect to see a frozen lighthouse. I thought the waves splashing up on the lighthouse would prevent this sort of thing, shows how much I know. 🙂

  4. Jill says:

    I have never seen anything like it, it certainly does look like an ice sculpture.

  5. magsx2 says:

    Hi travelrat,
    Yes Lake Erie is fresh water, but still, I would of thought that water continually being splashed up over the lighthouse would of had a different effect, like running water over ice cubes, but that proves that I know nothing about this type of thing, as I have always lived in the tropics. But I am learning. 🙂

Leave a Reply

