“Radio Voice Man” Homeless Ted Williams is Offered Jobs. (2 Videos Included)

A homeless man who stunned people with his incredible voice for radio on YouTube has been offered a job.
The job offer came yesterday from the NBA basketball team the Cleveland Cavaliers, who were attracted by Ted Williams’s made-for-radio voice.

Ted William’s YouTube video was shot by a reporter who had seen Williams on the side of the road using his voice to collect money from passersby, and has been viewed six million times since being posted three days ago.

In the video, Williams said he was born and raised in Brooklyn, New York, and went to school at one point with an eye toward getting into radio. He said he became involved with drugs and alcohol, but has been clean for the past two years.

With his deep, refined voice, Williams is now being pursued by media for his talent.

He and his compelling tale became an online sensation after The Columbus Dispatch posted a clip of Williams demonstrating his voice-over skills by the side of the road.

“This has been totally, totally amazing,” an emotional Williams said.

“I’m just so thankful. God has blessed me so deeply. I’m getting a second chance. Amazing.”

Williams has been snapped up by The Cavaliers, scoring a two-year contract that includes announcing at their arena. His living expenses paid will also be paid for.

“I can’t believe what’s going on,” said Williams, a father of nine, adding he feels like Susan Boyle, the Scottish singing sensation who became an overnight star. “God gave me a million-dollar voice, and I just hope I can do right by him.”

Read the full story in the “Herald Sun”

Isn’t it nice to hear a story that has ended well, this homeless man Ted Williams must really be over the moon, and to think it all started because Ted decided to write a sign and stand on the side of the road, and a reporter just happened to be passing by, what are the odds of that happening? It just seemed to all fall into place and like a lot of people I’m assuming, I am so happy for Ted, and I wish him all the best in the future.

This entry was posted in News and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to “Radio Voice Man” Homeless Ted Williams is Offered Jobs. (2 Videos Included)

  1. Jill says:

    What a great story, I hope everything works out for him, sounds like it was meant to be.

  2. travelrat says:

    ‘Mellifluous’ is the word! Such a refreshing change from the mindless autogabble of the usual radio ‘deejay’.

    I do hope he makes it, and I hope he sets an example to other announcers.

    (He sounds a bit like George Takei, in ‘Star Trek’)

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi travelrat,
      Mellifluous I had to look it up 🙂 You are spot on. (My first new word for 2011) I agree he would set a good example, some announcers aren’t really that good, some you just can’t listen too.
      It’s been that long since I watched Star Trek, I really can’t remember what George sounded like, may look for a Star Trek preview and hopefully it may have George in it.

  3. Actually, I don’t share your enthusiasm for this man’s “redemption”.

    He had opted out from the greedy capitalist dog eat dog rat race and now he’s been dragged back right back in. And you think that’s a good thing?

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi Derek,
      Yes you are right, but he did get into the bad situation of being caught up with drugs, heavy drinking, he dragged himself out of that situation, and was trying to get himself back on track, this I feel is a very good thing, and I assume not easy to do.
      Thank you for visiting and your comment.

  4. Elchico says:

    Actually Derek, he didn’t opt out voluntarily from the system, and he is also the one looking to get back in it!
    Whether or not this is a good thing, I reckon he’s happier. Shouldn’t we think it’s a good thing?

Leave a Reply

