Hidden Passageways and Secret Rooms (Video)

Just like the Palaces, and the Mansions of days gone by, people are again looking at putting hidden rooms in their homes. There are a lot of people that have a panic room, or a hidden safe, but people are now looking at full hidden rooms again. I would love to be able to have something like this in my home, I think it is a great idea, of course you would have to have the right house and the room for it, but it’s amazing the different ideas that people are coming up with to hide things. From revolving fireplaces that lead to another room, to hidden garages that you would never dream was there.


From the Picture Gallery


A cleverly disguised garage in San Francisco (Picture Gallery)

Also in the picture gallery, there is a picture of a floor with a trap door, the next picture shows what is underneath that trap door, and it’s a huge spiral staircase with shelfs full of wine. It really is astonishing. Brisbane Times Picture Gallery.

I did a post awhile back about a new type of garage for the average home.
If you didn’t see it or would like to have another look this is the post.
Need Space at Home for Your Car? Go Underground (Video)

This entry was posted in Lifestyle, Technology and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Hidden Passageways and Secret Rooms (Video)

  1. Barbara says:

    Fascinating! I remember when I was very small my grandparents lived in an old house that had a hidden stairway. It looked like a closet door in the kitchen, but when it was opened there was a small set of stairs going up. At the top was my grandparents’ bedroom, but from inside their bedroom it also looked like a closet door until it was opened. I thought it was the coolest thing ever to be able to sneak up and down stairs out of sight, without using the open stairway in the entry hall of the house. 🙂

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi Barbara,
      I have never been inside a secret passageway, how great for you that your Grandparents had one, I can just imagine the fun you must of had as a child playing in that secret room.

  2. travelrat says:

    If your house is over 400 years old, and belonged to a Roman Catholic family, ‘Priest Holes’ would have been quite common. And, I believe the film ‘Conspiracy of Hearts’, where a group of Italian nuns hid Jewish children in a secret room in their convent was based on a true story ?

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi travelrat,
      I believe you are right, it was very common way back then to have hidden cellars etc. and there are a lot of war stories that point to the fact that a lot of people hid in them.

  3. Snoring Dog Studio says:

    And if the power ever goes out in the house in the last video, they’re stuck. It would take an army of people to pull on the cord to raise that big boy.

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi SDO,
      I thought exactly the same thing, I would love to know how you would open it up without power, the mind boggles, maybe you would have to get the bus to work. 🙂

  4. Selma says:

    I would love that too. It would be so cool. A friend of mine has a house in the country and it has a few secret rooms which I think were originally part of a larger building that was destroyed. We have so much fun pretending to be lords and ladies of the manor in that house with our secret meeting places. I hope to get a secret room of my own one day!

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi Selma,
      It sounds like it was a lot of fun, it’ amazing when you think about how many of the old homes had a secret room for various reasons, it certainly is a good sale point I think to me anyway, something different.

Leave a Reply

