Japanese Singer Fooled Thousands:-Fake (Video)

When I first saw this “Japanese Singer” the first thing I thought of was the movie Simone, it was a favorite of mine for a long time, I even went out and bought the DVD. I don’t know how many times I have watched it, but I know the dialog. 🙂
It was basically about a guy who made up a singer “Simone”, computer programmed, and not real, but she became a big hit. Simone was released in 2002 there is a preview of the movie here. Or for those that are Interested you can watch the movie online here. You can understand why I thought of this movie.

She looked like the picture perfect pop star, but Japanese singing sensation Aimi Eguchi wasn’t even real.
The young starlet was a hoax – she was computer generated from composite pictures of six of the most attractive members of the band AKB48. Read more in the Courier Mail.

Watch the video all the way through, they do show you how it was done.

This entry was posted in Fun, Technology and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Japanese Singer Fooled Thousands:-Fake (Video)

  1. malc50 says:

    I continue to be amazed at what can be done with computer technology.

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi Mal,
      You are not the only one, I’m also amazed,.
      There certainly are a lot of smart people in the world, that seem to be able to do just about anything with computers.

  2. travelrat says:

    Just thinking: You could use this technology to do a remake of ‘The Man Who Never Was’, set in the future, instead of WWII?

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi travelrat,
      You got me with that one, I had to look it up. 🙂 I had heard of The Man Who Never Was, but could not remember what it was all about. Very interesting story, I found it on Wikipedia and really enjoyed the read.
      If anyone else would like to have a read of the article, just click here. Very good to come up with that one, good on you.

  3. Rebekah says:

    Very interesting … also about The Man Who Never Was — a movie I have to watch as soon as I get a hold of it.

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi Rebekah,
      You would never guess just from watching her singing that she wasn’t real.
      If you would like to watch the movie “The Man Who Never Was” online you can watch it here. It was released in 1956.

  4. Red Nomad OZ says:

    Haha, so many pop stars are ‘manufactured’ these days, so what’s the difference??!!

  5. dearrosie says:

    I still don’t get how they do it. The mouth is singing but it’s from another person’s face!?

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi dearrosie,
      I am only guessing here, but I assume the song was sang by a real person and the computer mapped the movement of the mouth, then it was transfered to the computer singer. That’s my best guess anyway, they may have done something totally different, but it seemed like that to me.

  6. Gregoryno6 says:

    At least NMA’s Weather Girls are real – although after this, I’m not so sure.

Leave a Reply

