Lollipops that are Insect-Filled (Video Included)

I would never have believed it, if someone said to me that they make lollipops with insects inside. Who on earth would of even thought this was possible and be eatable. Just the thought of this sort of turns you off lollipops I feel. But apparently it is a big hit with the kids, well that really doesn’t surprise me, but I just couldn’t imagine even putting this in my mouth, the thought alone give me shivers. Would you be able to eat something like this?

           
Creepy Creatures  Candy – Crunchy Crickets and Meaty Mealworms Pictures: Michael Marschall   Source: Sunday Mail (SA).

The “Creepy Creatures Candy” products, which include mealworm choc-chip cookies, are the brainchild of Sydney entomologist and food scientist Skye Blackburn.
“The insects are roasted before they are inserted into the hand-made lollipops so they don’t have guts inside.”  Read the full story in News.com.au.

This entry was posted in Fun and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Lollipops that are Insect-Filled (Video Included)

  1. malc50 says:

    My 8 year old grandson wants me to buy him one with a scorpion inside – not to eat, but to take to “show and share”.

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi Mal,
      By the news article they are a big hit with all the kids, I can understand your Grandson wanting to have one to show, they certainly are something Hmmm shall we say different!! 🙂

  2. souldipper says:

    Ewwwww! Would the same kids willing to eat those eat their broccoli?

  3. aubrey says:

    When Boyfriend and I were window shopping one night in Encinitas, CA, we stopped at a local candy store. Highlighted in the front window were boxes of chocolate covered crickets. Horrifying. But anything that will take an insect off my sidewalk – even if it means putting it in the candy aisle – is OK with me.

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi aubrey,
      It certainly is one way of getting get of them, I will definitely agree with you on that one. 🙂
      Thank You very much for visiting my blog, and your comment.

  4. travelrat says:

    After the chocolate ants we once saw on a finger-buffet, I’ll believe anything!

    Anyone ever eaten the worm in a bottle of tequila? I have been known to eat flowers, but I hope I’ll never get that drunk! 😀

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi travelrat,
      Chocolate ants, I don’t think I could come at that lot either.
      I personally don’t know anyone that has swallowed the worm from the Tequila bottle, but I think you would have to be drunk to do it, I’m also assuming that if you have got to the bottom of the bottle, then you are drunk, and may not even know that the worm is all of a sudden gone from the bottle. 🙂

  5. Barbara Rodgers says:

    In some cultures eating insects is not taboo, and I understand that they are rich in protein. I guess it’s a matter of what we’re used to, but I’m squirming at the thought of it. I also clicked on the next video – it showed live ants wriggling around inside a lollipop…

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi Barbara,
      I have also heard about insects being rich in protein, but I think it’s the thought more than anything else. It’s unreal the live ants, I also watched that video.

  6. Selma says:

    That doesn’t appeal to me at all. I was dared to eat a caramelised grasshopper once but I couldn’t do it. Too gross. Give me an old-fashioned lollipop that is just 100% sugar. No buggy ones, please!

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi Selma,
      Totally agree, the sugar lollipops only.
      I don’t blame you for not wanting to try the caramelised grasshopper, just the sound of it is enough to really put you off.

  7. Hello, magsx2. Wow! Have never seen anything like this before. I have no clue how this smells, but I definitely wouldn’t want to try one 😀 Otherwise, I would just willingly put a mummy of a scorpion or some other scary insect into my mouth… ewww… scary!
    -Irina

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi inquisitorial,
      Even if these lollipops were made in heaven and smelled like heaven, they wouldn’t make to my mouth either. 🙂
      Thank You very much for visiting and your comment.

Leave a Reply

