Kuwait Sandstorm: March 2011 (Video)

A terrible sandstorm hit Kuwait in March, the way it turned day into night really amazed me, it must of been horrific for the people that live there.

This entry was posted in News and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Kuwait Sandstorm: March 2011 (Video)

  1. Rebekah says:

    What a terrible thing! Really hard to imagine, when you’ve never been in the area. Just think of how the sand will get in everywhere…

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi Rebekah,
      I thought the same thing about the sand, it must of got into everything, it would of been shocking for anyone that suffers from asthma.

  2. Theresa Lauf says:

    That’s incredible. Thanks for sharing.

  3. Selma says:

    Must be terrifying when it hits. I wonder if there are a lot of fatalities with sandstorms. I imagine if you got stuck outdoors in one you wouldn’t stand much of a chance. How awful.

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi Selma,
      I haven’t heard of any deaths with sandstorms but I should imagine there would be in severe circumstances, it would certainly do a great deal of damage to your eyes I’m assuming.

  4. starzyia says:

    wow, it was beautiful, but so eerie, and it would be much harder to appreciate in person.

  5. bingbing says:

    That second vid was something else, wasn’t it? When the kids were told that’s daytime, more than a few gasps went up around the room.

    Thanks for putting it up.

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi bingbing,
      Thank You for letting me know you are showing the video’s to the kids at school. It would of opened their eyes to what a sandstorm is like. It would be something that is hard to imagine when you don’t live in a place that doesn’t get anything like these sandstorms.
      The second video really shows you how dark it gets, I didn’t realize that everything turned completely black as the sandstorm passed over, I can understand why the kids found this unreal.

      • bingbing says:

        That’s why I show them a lot of these short vids you find and post. They’re a great little reward (and/or time filler) at the end of class that takes their minds out of the box and shows them stuff they’d probably not encounter. Considering such a huge emphasis is placed in Korea on learning English – the international language – it only seems right to keep showing them.

        Oh yeah, and I kinda dig them, too. 😉

    • bingbing says:

      It would of opened their eyes to what a sandstorm is like.

      And sorry to be so picky here (it’s hard to turn off the teacher button).

      The sentence should read, “It would have opened their eyes to what a sandstorm is like.”

      The verb is “have played” (and to get all technical, the past participle of “play” used in the present perfect tense).

      Why many people think “would have” is “would of” is probably because the contraction (it is=it’s) of “would have” sounds an awfully lot like “would of” when spoken naturally.

      Don’t worry. I’m sure my older readers must smile wryly at my persistent inability to figure out the colon and the semi colon.

      And Americans can’t do adverbs (they replace them with adjectives) or past participles properly.

  6. dearrosie says:

    Thank you for posting this Mags. I’ve been on a beach several times when it became very windy and I can tell you that blowing sand hurts bare skin but I had no idea that it would make everything so dark. Only a massive wind would do that and I cannot imagine how people are allowed to drive during those storms. Isn’t that dangerous? I was also interested to see in the second video that the street lights were on. I guess there’s an emergency switch to turn the lights on during a sandstorm.

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi dearrosie,
      You are right about the sand on the beach, I have had it actually sting my legs when it is very windy.
      It is unreal how dark it got, and it didn’t seem to take very long to get that way. I also saw the danger in the driving. There was a really good video showing exactly this, they were actually driving through it, and longer they drove the worse it seemed to get, I didn’t put this one up because it had a lot of bad language in the video, but you could barely see the headlights of the car, and I really couldn’t make out were the road was, very dangerous indeed.

  7. travelrat says:

    This looked so much like the oilfield fires of 1991 … I wasn’t the only one who really thought Saddam had nuked the place!

    We nearly got caught in a sandstorm in Wadi Rum … our guide predicted it, and we took shelter in plenty of time.

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi travelrat,
      It was good that the guide knew about the sandstorm, I would really hate to be stuck in something like the one that hit Kuwait. It really makes a difference on a holiday when you have a good guide.

Leave a Reply

