Saving a Humpback Whale (Video)

From YouTube:-
Michael Fishbach, co-founder of The Great Whale Conservancy (GWC), narrates his encounter with a young humpback whale entangled in local fishing nets.

At first, the animal appeared to be dead, yet Fishbach investigated and quickly discovered that the poor creature was tangled in a fishing net. The humans had to act fast; what began as a tragedy soon became a thrilling rescue as Fishbach and his crew labored to free the young whale. The entire encounter was caught on videotape and later narrated by Fishbach himself.

This young whale knows how to show appreciation by treating them to a magnificent aerial spectacle after it was finally freed.

This entry was posted in Animals and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Saving a Humpback Whale (Video)

  1. Rebekah says:

    I’m so happy that I got to watch this beautiful video … it brought tears to my eyes.

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi Rebekah,
      I felt exactly the same. It was really nice to see the whale totally free in the end, and what a great effort by all those on the boat.

  2. That was incredible. My kids absolutely loved watching it too. I love how the little kid at the end says, she’s showing us she’s free.

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi She’s a Maineiac,
      Yes it was like a little voice from the deep, I didn’t here the child at anytime throughout the video except right at the end, when everything went well.

  3. malc50 says:

    Hi Mags, Well done to these Good Samaritans. Lesser humans would have left the whale to its fate, fearing it might capsize their small boat during such a tricky operation. Cheers.

  4. So heartwarming and wonderful, Magsx2! Thank you!

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi AA,
      It is very heart warming, and by the way the whale was breaching I’d take a guess it was very happy these people came along, it just looked like it was rejoicing life.

  5. travelrat says:

    Wow!

    I’ve wanted to visit the area ever since I read Steinbeck’s ‘Log of the Sea of Cortez’ many years ago … and it just went several places up the list!

    However, one point that wasn’t made … was the net placed there illegally, or not? If not, was anything done to recompense the fisherman, who could probably not afford to lose such a valuable asset through no real fault of his own?

    (At the moment, the ‘Steve Irwin’ is being impounded by British courts, pending a court case brought by Maltese fishermen, who say their nets were damaged during the release of bluefin tuna that the ‘Sea Shepherd’ organisation allege were caught illegally)

    These issues aside … well done GWC, on the release of the whale and a super video!

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi travelrat,
      I don’t think anybody actually knows where the whale picked up the net from, I’d say the whale may have just swam into it by accident, I think it would be very hard to find out who originally owned the net.
      I have heard about the event with greenpeace.
      I agree, well done to everyone involved, and it is a very good video, I think we are very lucky to be able to see such an event.

  6. Barbara Rodgers says:

    Thank you for sharing such a heartwarming and inspiring story! I hope you won’t mind if I put it on m blog, too. I’m still shedding tears of joy and relief…

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi Barbara,
      It is a very good video. I don’t mind at all if you use the video, via this blog would be very nice for acknowledgment, Thank You Barbara.:)

  7. souldipper says:

    I cried my way through that video when I first saw it. It validates my beliefs about animals – I’ve seen “thank yous” in a few different animal experiences! It moves me beyond explanation.

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi souldipper,
      It’s wonderful to know that there are people out there that will still do anything to try and help an animal in distress, it is a great video, and even against the odds these people never gave up.

  8. Clare Sucloy says:

    This truly bought tears to my eyes – freedom is such a precious thing, these brave people gave so much back to nature. Thank You.
    Clare Sucloy

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi Clare,
      I agree freedom is vey precious, and it must of seemed more so to this whale after having been caught up in that net.
      Thank You very much for visiting my blog and also for your comment.

  9. Pingback: An Inspiring Video « brainguff

  10. Anonymous says:

    we have been learning about humbpack whales and showed this video to the kindergartens. They loved the recuse and are so interested in helping the whales. We are currently saving our pennies to adopt a humpback whale.

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi Anon,
      That is great that you and the kids enjoyed the video. What a fantastic thing to do, a very good cause indeed, I wish you all the very best of luck saving those pennies. 🙂
      Thank You very much for visiting and taking the time to comment.

Leave a Reply

