Not a Sheep or a Goat it’s a Geep:-Australia (Pictures)

This lovely little animal that was born in July 2011, is a cross between a goat and a sheep, and came as a big surprise to everyone. Some people are saying that this is not possible, but it was born to an ewe, the father is a ram that apparently has goat genes. Yes it is all very complex, but they say it is definitely a geep, not unheard of, but indeed it is very rare. He is being cared for on a Farm in Fountaindale which is in New South Wales. The children have named him Oreo, because of his colouring.


Picture of Oreo from the picture gallery.

He also has floppy ears and straight hair, not wool like a sheep. He has more goat features than a lamb.
Read this small article in the Express Advocate.

See more pictures of Oreo in the Express Advocate Picture Gallery.

 

This entry was posted in Animals, Australia and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

28 Responses to Not a Sheep or a Goat it’s a Geep:-Australia (Pictures)

  1. Rebekah says:

    awww…. what a wonderful, little creature!!! I just want to hug him…

  2. travelrat says:

    If you’ve read ‘Long Way Down’, Charley Boorman came across animals he called ‘geep’ in Africa … but he used the word because he couldn’t tell the difference. (If you’ve ever seen such animals, the Biblical reference to ‘telling the sheep from the goats’ makes much more sense!)

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi travelrat,
      I have heard of the book but I have never read it. There have been a few geeps born in different parts of the world, but apparently it is rare. Whoever originally came up with the word geep to describe these part sheep and part goat animals I think was brilliant I love the name, I must admit I had never heard of it before I read the article in the paper, but it sure is a very cute animal, especially this one in the colour that it has.

  3. kymbo says:

    Yes…but how does it taste.. LOL

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi kymbo,
      Here we are discussing how very cute Oreo is, and you come up with that one, honestly you have me in stitches sometimes. πŸ˜†
      It does make you wonder though. πŸ™‚

  4. lol i didnt know a geep existed!!!

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi tinkerbelle86,
      Apparently there are not a lot of these little guys out there, but you have to admit he’s cute. πŸ™‚
      Thank You for visiting my blog and your comment.

  5. starzyia says:

    I think this little cutie should strike until they give it a better name than geep. C’mon, where’s the creativity? the imagination? I bet these people would name a golden retriever Goldie! I’d never do that πŸ˜€

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi Starry,
      The kids named him Oreo, but unfortunately geep is the official name for his species of animal, there are other geeps in the world, but who ever came up with the name geep originally most likely couldn’t think of anything better. πŸ˜€

  6. malc50 says:

    I see that you have to call it a “geep”, because the word “shoat” is already taken. Wikipedia advises that a “shoat” is a piglet! Thanks Mags – I keep learning something new each time I visit your site! Cheers, Mal.

  7. Stephanie says:

    Awww…What a cute little Geep!! He does look just like an oreo!! http://northernsunshine72.blogspot.com

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi Stephanie,
      He does look a bit like an Oreo doesn’t he, I think it’s a great name that the kids came up with.
      Thank You for visiting and your comment.

  8. EternalForms says:

    Amazing and precious! I love the name “geep” – sounds better than “shoat” as “shoat” sounds like a variation on a curse word!

    • magsx2 says:

      HI Eternal Forms,
      He is precious, by the photo’s it looks like the kids are certainly spoiling him, I’m sure he will miss all the attention when he moves back home. πŸ™‚

  9. dearrosie says:

    Well shows how little I know about farming – I had no idea that a sheep goat mix was so unusual. He looks very handsome!

  10. Michael says:

    Hi guys, just to let you know, it is not a geep, it’s a sheep, a dorper or damara cross. they are hair breeds, which means they have no wool. We run about 10 000 of them in WA, plus goats too. If you like, I have photos of them on my own blog http://farmerswayoflife.blogspot.com/2011/09/not-geep.html

    Don’t worry, it’s easy to see why people think they are a hybrid.

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi Michael,
      The difference with this one is the father has goat genes, this is stated in the news article (link above) this little animal is not all sheep it has different DNA a mixture of goat.

      Thank You for your input and thanks for visiting my blog.

      • Michael says:

        Yeah, I know the article said that. And there are people over here in Aust who believe that too. It’s an assumption made by people who haven’t seen the breed before. For a start, goats and sheep have different numbers of chromozones. When, in the extremely rare occurance they mate and produce offspring, they are usually still born, and the few that do survive are sterile. It’s been on the radio here, with genetics saying it’s not a geep, I’ve talked to ag vets and they say it’s not a geep, plus I see hundreds of lambs that look like that every day. The breed may look like a goat, many have trouble telling them apart, but they don’t have goat genes, no matter what a city based news writer may say. Do a google for damara if you like. And for a chimera, that is something created in a lab fusing goat and lamb embreyos together. Enjoying reading through your other posts too.

        • magsx2 says:

          Hi Michael,
          Appreciate your input, and the info. There is also some interesting comments in the news article as well, with one commenter stating that geeps cannot breed. But the farmer said he could prove it, so I myself will take him on his word, there has been no updates on the story that I have seen. Either way we will agree to disagree on this one. πŸ˜€ But regardless he is cute. πŸ™‚
          Thank You for letting me know you have enjoyed some other posts, it’ always nice to hear.

          • Michael says:

            Fair enough, though from what I can gather Follyfoot farms is a petting zoo, and if they are like any other petting zoo we have here they get their animals from everywhere, usually hobby farmers. And while I mean no disrespect to hobby farmers, in my experience they are not usually the most well informed on farming. But, it’s a good story and anything to get people more interested in the breed. Appreicatte you taking the time to have a look at my stuff.

  11. Becky says:

    Oreo is a cute thing, but I do not believe he is a geep. We have a paddock full of those exact looking types of lamb this year and they are a result of breeding pure Wiltshire horn ewes with a pure Dorper ram. The cross is a wonderful looking meat lamb, which is what you would have there.

    The reason for the lack of wool is that shedding meat breeds have hair and not wool in the first place.

    http://possumblue.blogspot.com/2011/08/lamb.html

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi Becky,
      Thank You also for your input on this little animal. I will still go by what the farmer has said in the paper, I don’t see any reason for him to not tell the truth about this at all. But I do appreciate you giving me your take on the story.
      Thank You very much for your comment and also for visiting my blog.

      • Michael says:

        I’d suggest the farmer believes it. Took us ages to convince people here they won’t mate with the feral goats and stuff the markets, and even at the show I was at on Thursday and Friday with these sheep people mistook them for goats. So it’s not hard to see why.

  12. Natattack says:

    Not a geep. A geep is a goat-sheep chimera, which occurs when the embryos of a goat and sheep are combined, and first occured in 1984 at the Institute of Animal Physiology in Cambridge, England. What you have there is a goat-sheep HYBRID. Still pretty rare, as they are usually stillborn because of the differences in genetics. Geeps can only be created in a lab. What you have in the world of hybrid mammals is known as a Goashe.

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi Natattack,
      Thank You very much for your comment, and very informative as well. I have never heard of a Goashe before so I certainly have learned something new. Thank You again.

Leave a Reply

