Snake Appears on Car While on The Highway (Video)

From YouTube:-
We were driving 65 mph down a highway when my husband caught something out of the corner of his eye…a snakehead coming out from under our hood onto our windshield!

There is an article about this incident in Mail Online.


Below is other snake posts on my blog, yes it seems these snakes just can’t seem to behave.

This entry was posted in Animals and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Snake Appears on Car While on The Highway (Video)

  1. Barbara Rodgers says:

    Oh my goodness! I’m wondering why the woman didn’t pull over and let the snake find its way off the car… It’s a shame they wanted it killed… I don’t know – maybe I’m too tender-hearted but it seems like they could have saved its life. Then again, I don’t know how I’d react if a snake suddenly appeared on my windshield!

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi Barbara,
      I don’t know what I would of done, but pulling over isn’t always the best thing to do. When someone has hit a snake here in OZ it is well known that they can crawl up under the car, some have managed to get into cars, it is hard to know what would be best especially with a child in the car as well.

  2. Rebekah says:

    this is funny…I saw this on TV here last night! 🙂

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi Rebekah,
      My Husband informed me it was on TV here also, but I still decided to post it anyway to put it in with the other snake collections. 😀

      • Rebekah says:

        yeah … for sure! The thing was, it was the local TV station that had picked it up! :o)

        • magsx2 says:

          Then they would of been the first, good on them, seeing it was also seen here in OZ, I assume it was also seen just about everywhere, so the local station where you are should be very proud about that, again very good.

  3. Selma says:

    I had that happen to me many years ago. I pulled over and got the snake off the car with a stick. It slithered away into the bush. It was nerve-wracking because I wasn’t sure if it was venomous or not but I hate killing anything so I was determined to free it. It was more scared than I was.

  4. travelrat says:

    It’s not that uncommon … ‘Hissing Sid’ probably found a nice warm engine block to sleep on the previous night, and woke up the next morning wondering what the hell?

    I agree with previous comments … if she’d only pulled over, it would have been off the car, and away like a long thin dog!

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi travelrat,
      It looked like there was a lot of obstacles on the grass between the 2 roads, I only saw a couple of places they could of pulled over, I think it may have been panic more than anything, I don’t think it helped the situation with a very frightened child in the back either.

  5. kymbo says:

    I agree with those who felt for the poor snake that found his nice warm, safe hide turning out to be a road trip to hell. All they had to do was stop on the verge and the snake would have got off quick enough…why harm it.

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi kymbo,
      It may have or it could of slid off to under the car just as easily, you just don’t know. I agree it is pity that the snake got run over. But even if they did pull over, there isn’t much grass there, I feel the snake would of been hit anyway, it was a highway. We’ll never know I guess.

  6. travelrat says:

    I think I was a bit put off by the hysterical voice shrieking “Kill it!” … if I learnt anything from the Streve Irwin programmes it’s ‘if you leave it alone, it’ll leave you alone’.

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi travelrat,
      Yes I heard the guy in the car say that as well, but there was the child in the back going into hysterics, very frightened, it’s hard to know how you would react in that situation.

  7. Val says:

    Wow! I don’t know what I’d have done. It must’ve been pretty freaky to suddenly see a snake appear, but the snake actually looked more frightened than the people. And who the hell was filming it? Not the driver, I hope, otherwise they’d probably’ve had a worse accident than a snake bite!

    Wouldn’t activating the windscreen wipers have dislodged it?

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi Val,
      Her Husband sitting next her was filming, you can just barely make his voice out in a couple of places. They did try the wipers, didn’t seem to do much, just make the snake more angry. Very frightening for the child in the back.

  8. Pingback: Snake Attacks: Australia (Video) | Magsx2's Blog

Leave a Reply

