Dancing Squid and Frog Legs Ready to Eat (Video’s)

The other day I was over at Big Happy Nothing, and I watched a video of people eating live octopus, (check it out) anyway it reminded me of an article that I had seen in the paper about people eating a dancing squid. It’s not live like the octopus, it’s a bit different. What they do is they cut off the top of the head, pour on some soy sauce and the squid starts to dance. This is known in Japan as the “dancing squid rice bowl” and is a delicacy.

The dancing frog legs are a little bit different they put salt on the legs to make them move. Regardless I would not be eating either of these dishes.

This entry was posted in Fun and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to Dancing Squid and Frog Legs Ready to Eat (Video’s)

  1. Margie says:

    People certainly do the oddest things with food!

  2. Rebekah says:

    Yuukkkk… I really like it when my food is DEAD.. LOL this is really disgusting!

  3. I’m with Rebekah. ah!

  4. Barbara Rodgers says:

    This brings back unpleasant memories of my grandfather chopping off the heads of a couple of chickens (for our dinner) with his ax on a tree stump in our backyard. The headless chickens would run around for a while and I found this very disturbing as a child. My parents tried to give me a scientific explanation about what was happening, but I was still horrified.

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi Barbara,
      I have never seen but of course heard what happens to chickens once their heads are gone, I should imagine it would be very disturbing to a young child.

  5. travelrat says:

    I seem to remember something about Galvani doing experiments with electricity and frogs’ legs back in the 18th Century?

    (and … of course … there’s the old expression ‘running around like a headless chicken’)

  6. Selma says:

    It all just seems slightly gross and unappetising. Is that poor squid still alive? Some people really are too odd with their eating habits….

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi Selma,
      No the squid is dead, it’s the soy sauce that makes the squid dance, they cut off the top of the head before they put it on a bed of rice. I know I would not be eating it.

  7. kymbo says:

    Theres no way I could eat this…

  8. On several occasions during our travels, we’ve dined with locals who have presented “exotic” delicacies for dinner. Eyeballs in Japan. Dog meat in Vietnam. Both, very unappealing but we felt we had no choice but to partake. Thankfully, no one has presented us with live octopus. Gotta draw a line in the sand somewhere. πŸ™‚ Great video, Mags, albeit a bit stomach-churning.

  9. Hi Magsx2,

    Thanks for the mention of my post, though if anyone watches the octopus video they won’t be thanking either one of us. πŸ˜‰

    Both of these videos make me squirm even more than the squid and the frog legs, and without any soy sauce poured on my head! πŸ™‚

    AA

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi AA,
      I had to smile when I watched your video, as it triggered the memory of what I read about the squid “dish”. I totally agree they also make me squirm as well, I’m sure there would of been a few people that didn’t have any seafood for awhile after watching all of the video’s. πŸ˜€

  10. Pingback: Octopus Squeeze (Video) | Magsx2's Blog

  11. Viveka says:

    What are you doing ????? … I love frog legs … but after this – I don’t really know if I will be able to eat them again without thinking about you *laughter – that was scary …

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi Viveka,
      It is weird how the muscles in their legs move with salt. When next you go to eat them especially if you are with friends, think of the conversation you can have about the frog legs. πŸ˜†

Leave a Reply

