World’s Highest Tennis Court:-Dubai (Video)

The world’s highest tennis court is in the luxury hotel Burj Al Arab in the United Arab Emirates (Dubai). It is the 4th tallest hotel in the world. The hotel stands on an artificial Island about 280 m or 920 ft. out from Jumeirah Beach. The hotel itself looks like the sail of a ship. If you look closely at the photo, you will notice a round bit jutting out on the right hand side, that is the tennis court.

If you would like to learn a bit about the construction of this hotel, there is a bit of information in Wikipedia.

The video below is of Roger Federer and Andre Agassi playing tennis on the court at the Burj Al Arab.  It is actually a helipad area that gets converted to a tennis court. It’s a shame it isn’t a real clear day, but still the scenery is spectacular.

This entry was posted in Fun and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to World’s Highest Tennis Court:-Dubai (Video)

  1. Barbara Rodgers says:

    I cannot stop gasping! That doesn’t look like much of a railing. Back in 1979 we rode the elevator, which was inside the building unlike the outside elevator shown here, to the top of the World Trade Center, where there was an enclosed observation deck. The glass ran from floor to ceiling, but the fear of heights/falling kept me plastered to the elevator wall – I couldn’t bring myself to go over to the glass… I could see more than enough right where I was! You couldn’t pay me to get on to that tennis court in that hotel in Dubai!

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi Barbara,
      I agree it really looks scary. I assume there isn’t any large railing because it is used as helipad, but you wouldn’t get me up there either, not without some sort of protection around it.

  2. Rebekah says:

    Wow … spectacular, certainly is the word here! The architects there must have a lot of fun. The video was fascinating. I wouldn’t mind going there if I was ‘in the neighbourhood’, which is unlikely 🙂

  3. souldipper says:

    Friends of mine have moved to Abu Dhabi – he’s in the helicopter industry. They go to Dubai to shop on occasion – I am too much of a country girl to be envious of that gross consumerism. She told me that Dubai is bankrupt. They have declared bankruptcy! I said, “How on earth did that happen to an Arabian situation?”

    She said, “Well, don’t forget – just 40 years ago they were still nomads in the desert. Think of all the stuff they have had to learn quickly.”

    Put in those terms – no wonder they are into the biggest, tallest, highest, gaudiest, etc etc. They are just being typical, highly competitive “nouveau riche”. May they soon reach “Old Money Mellow.”

    • magsx2 says:

      HI souldipper,
      Yes I heard about the bankruptcy, it was actually in one of the newspapers, the actual story was about the workers there losing jobs, not a good situation for all those people unfortunately.

  4. kymbo says:

    I think I would be too scared to go anywhere near the edge let alone play tennis on the thing

  5. I would have spent the entire match standing right next to the net, I am petrified of heights! And what if that ball HAD hit the poor guy on the boat?! ah!

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi She’s a Maineiac,
      I was wondering the same thing about the ball, it could of ended up anywhere. I hate to think of what may have happened if it had hit someone.

  6. travelrat says:

    What I don’t get is how someone can summon up the energy for a game of tennis, but can’t be bothered to go down to ground level to find a court!

    (and yes: I believe the money did come from Abu Dhabi, who stand only a slightly better chance of getting it back that I have of becoming a bishop!)

  7. Pingback: dubai tennis court - DUBAI PORTAL – DUBAI PORTAL

Leave a Reply

