Fantasy Coffins and Online Funerals (Video)

Wales are offering friends and relatives that can’t make it to a loved one’s funeral the option of being able to watch the funerals on the Internet. You are able to watch live, or even watch the funeral up to 7 days later. You can even buy the funeral on DVD. Who would have even thought about this a few years ago? At the moment it seems it’s only one crematorium, but I assume as time goes by this option will be offered by a lot of funeral directors. I suppose this would be ideal for those that are in another country or who cannot make it to the funeral, what do you think about this idea?

There is an article about this in News.com.au.

 
A couple of photo’s from the World’s Weirdest Coffins picture gallery.

There are some great photo’s in this picture gallery on the World’s Weirdest Coffins from The Telegraph.

Amazing custom made coffins from Africa. From a Mercedes Benz coffin, to a giant banana coffin … we take you behind the scenes on how they are built.
 by Ripley’s Believe it or Not.

This entry was posted in News and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Fantasy Coffins and Online Funerals (Video)

  1. Rebekah says:

    Online funerals sounds like a good idea to me. Living abroad myself, I’d be hesitant to spend thousands of $$ on a trip home to go to a funeral. I’d rather spend them on the living.

    As for the creative coffins … personally, I’d go for any made of cardboard. Basically for the same reasons … spend the money on the living.

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi Rebekah,
      I also feel the online funerals are a good idea, for the very same reasons.
      There is a coffin in the picture gallery made of cardboard and is prices at $30, and it doesn’t look too bad at all. 🙂

  2. souldipper says:

    fCardboard for me too – especially if I stick with my plan to be cremated. On the other hand, wouldn’t it be fun to be shot out of a canon perched high on a rock overlooking the harbour?

  3. kymbo says:

    Internet funerals….yeah, for sure! If my ex-wife dies theres no way I’d be happy seeing her buried just the once, buy it on DVD and watch it over and over…

  4. travelrat says:

    I think you’d need to go a long way to beat the funeral of eccentric architect Clough Williams-Ellis. He was cremated, and his ashes went to make up a huge rocket, which was part of a New Year’s Eve firework display at Portmeirion.

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi travelrat,
      Wow, what a way to go. 🙂 That is certainly different, I would of never thought about something like that, if you can afford something like that why not.

      • travelrat says:

        I also take my hat off to my old primary school teacher … at the crematorium, her casket disappeared from view to the tune of Gracie Fields singing ‘Wish Me Luck As You Wave Me Goodbye!’

        We were all just about helpless with laughter … goodness knows what the people in the next funeral would have thought.

        • magsx2 says:

          That is unreal, yes I should imagine anybody that was hearing the laughter would of been wondering, but I think that is great, and what a great song to choose.

  5. Selma says:

    I think it’s a good idea for relatives living overseas because it is very distressing not to make it to the funeral of a loved one because of distance etc.

    I am laughing at Kymbo’s comment. Too funny 😆

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi Selma,
      I agree, I think it is fantastic for people that cannot make it to a funeral for whatever reason.
      Kymbo comes up with some good ones. 😆

  6. Barbara Rodgers says:

    I agree with the folks above – families and friends are spread out all over the earth these days so a memorial service on the internet makes a lot of sense. And if one can interact with others using something like Skype at the same time, so much the better.

    Not long ago I read an enlightening book, “Grave Matters: A Journey Through the Modern Funeral Industry to a Natural Way of Burial” by Mark Harris. One thing I learned was that when someone dies the crematorium can be contacted directly without going through a funeral home, lowering the cost of cremation considerably. We agreed that is what we are going to do, and have some sort of memorial gathering after…

Leave a Reply

