Backyards For Rent:- New York (Video)

Live in an apartment? Don’t have a backyard? No problem. Now, you can rent a backyard in the middle of Manhattan. The basic fee is $50 per hour. They also offer extra’s like a play pool, Slip ‘n’ Slide, packed cooler, hammock, a BBQ, a garden hose, sparklers, beer cozies, trampoline, hula hoops, water balloons, lanterns and popsicles. The Backyard Timeshare has been available for rent since August 11th by the Participation Agency
It was fully booked right through till the 28th August when I believe it finishes.

via Laughing Squid

This entry was posted in News and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Backyards For Rent:- New York (Video)

  1. Barbara Rodgers says:

    My daughter and her boyfriend are living in New York – so far I haven’t heard them complain about not having a back yard! It seems awfully expensive and there’s not enough shade, but I guess for some folks it might be worth it! 🙂

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi Barbara,
      I agree about the price, and apparently the extra’s cost more again. Who would of thought such an idea would of taken off, amazing.

  2. Rebekah says:

    People are amazingly creative when it comes to making a buck … and there are always the ones who will pay. It’s all good.

    We live in an apartment, and my husband really misses his gardening. He’s been thinking of getting a little plot in the public garden.

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi Rebekah,
      Yes people do come up with some different ideas to make money, but as long as it does help some people good on them. I agree, it must be hard for people that live in apartments, especially if you are used to being in a garden and outdoors. I think a lot of these community, public gardens are a great idea, there should be more of them.

  3. souldipper says:

    I’m feeling more and more gratitude as I see what people have to do to have some nature. Man o Man, Mags. Give me the rural life!

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi souldipper,
      It certainly is a shame that people have to do this for a bit of outdoor space, I’m a city girl, but I’m lucky enough to a have a home that has a rather larger than normal backyard. I couldn’t imagine what it would be like to have to rent some outdoor space.

  4. travelrat says:

    What a great idea! I couldn’t possibly imagine living somewhere without a garden, but some people have to, and this semms the ideal solution for them.

    (In the UK, of course, we have the allotment scheme … originally intended so flat-dwellers could grow their own veg, but being used more & more as recreation space. The other day, my neighbour said those with the tidiest gardens are either retired, or have parents who live in a flat)

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi travelrat,
      I also like my garden, and your neighbour is probably right, when you are working full time, sometimes you just don’t have the time to do what you would like to do in the garden.

  5. kymbo says:

    I guess this is the future…sad aint it! I hate the big city, hate even visiting it, renting a few metres of grass for $50.00 an hour is just right out of the question..

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi kymbo,
      Yes it is sad, but I suppose as the population gets bigger, the only way to go is up, I can see future generations unfortunately not knowing what it would be like to play in their own backyard.

  6. I am a city person at heart, although I no longer live in Manhattan. There’s a certain mentality that city-dwellers have… we live there for the museums, for the plays on Broadway, for the star-sightings at the corner deli, for the fabulous jobs, for the architecture of the skyscrapers, for the 24-hour movie theaters, for the noise and hustle-bustle, for sushi delivery at 4am, for the speed of the subways, for the corner bodega that sells fresh flowers, and mostly, for the anonymity that comes with living among 8 million other New Yorkers…..like Billy Joel sang, it’s a New York State of Mind. We accept that backyards are for those who want to live in the country. I adore the city and get there as often as I can. I have never had the luxury of having a backyard there so I can completely understand why this woman’s ad appeals to so many. 🙂

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi EOSR,
      I must say I like living close to the city, but I have a home with a nice backyard, I like having everything handy, we haven’t got to go too far for anything. Of course the city I live in Brisbane, which is the capitol of Queensland here in OZ has only just over 2 million people, so there are a lot of houses very close to the city, all with backyards. As the population gets bigger there will of course be more and more apartments like a lot of city’s around the world. Unfortunately this is how it has to be, but we have a lot of very large parks, and I hope these are all kept as time goes on.

Leave a Reply

