Bees On A Plane + Funny video

It’s true, bees were put into a cardboard box, taken aboard a Russian Plane, which it seems is illegal, but it seems only illegal for some and not others, Ah the sins of a VIP.  As the plane took off, and the cabin began to pressurize the bees didn’t seem to like this very much at all, and they started to get agitated. Next thing the passengers knew there was bees buzzing around the plane, they managed to contain the bees in a businesses class wardrobe, until they landed which was 10 hours later. Apparently no passagers were stung. I mean it must have been awful but you can’t help but laugh, it surely was better than Snakes on a Plane.   :lol:

There is an article about this in The Moscow Times.

This entry was posted in Animals, Fun and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Bees On A Plane + Funny video

  1. Margie says:

    I took some pictures of big fat bumblebees yesterday. They get so heavy with pollen that they can hardly fly anymore!

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi Margie,
      They are amazing the old bees, the way they work in the hives and produce honey, the way that they all work together for the Queen. Sounds like your bumblebees have been very busy. :)

  2. Rebekah says:

    Had I been on that plane and the bees got loose, I would have died. Not from being stung [I think], but from panic. I have one phobia in my life and that’s wasps/bees. Not bumblebees. It’s weird, I’ve never been stung but I’m convinced that I’m allergic and will die from anaphylactic shock or something.I have no reason to believe that I’m allergic! It hasn’t gotten better over the years either. Love those cute little bees in the video though :)

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi Rebekah,
      I know I would of went into panic mode, I think I wouldn’t headed for the toilet and slammed the door. :)
      I am allergic to stings, although I don’t get as bad as some, I have only ended up in hospital once, when I was very young, but oh boy, they may have had more trouble with me than the bees. :lol:

  3. travelrat says:

    For some reason, I thought of the time, years ago, when we spent an entertaining five hours trying to catch a mouse that had been loaded onto our aircraft with the cargo. It eventually scurried off after we’d landed in Cyprus … no doubt, wondering where the hell he was and how he got there.

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi travelrat,
      It makes you wonder what animals do “migrate” accidentally in this sort of way. It is probably a lot more common than what we realize.

      • travelrat says:

        The prime example is the Grey Squirrel, inadvertently brought to Europe by timber ships from the Americas. And, there are, no doubt, other examples … flowers we usually regard as weeds.

        • magsx2 says:

          Wow a squirrel, that is amazing. I never knew about that one. There could be hundreds of different type of animals and insects, that could hitch a ride without anyone being the wiser.

  4. kymbo says:

    That could have gone very badly indeed! Imagine the possibilities…

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi kymbo,
      You are spot on, this could of very easily turned out to be a disaster, but how lucky was it that they were able to contain the bees, sheer luck I would think.

  5. souldipper says:

    We actually have a Province in Canada that is rat-free – Alberta. Obviously when the trains used to haul so much grain, etc, rats could jump off in Alberta. They would be caught and a massive hunt would ensue. Farmers made sure it didn’t bring family members. I was raised in Alberta and still have a huge jolt when I run into a rat here in BC. Bless my little fanged puss cat – he hunts them and brings them home dead. You can imagine my joy!

    I love honey bees – they are awesome creatures due to all the good they do to our planet.

    I provide water for hornets and they leave me alone. They are really looking for moisture. We can eat outside and they head for the water instead. One might come by and smell everything, then leave. I suspect it tells the others that my cooking sucks! :) A farmer friend taught me a technique – if the one messenger takes too long to smell my food, I bend down close to it and shout, “Piss off!”. It leaves! It’s hilarious, but it works.

    Other times, I sit by their small pool and watch them do all sorts of antics – like fight with one another. I managed to get several shot of two hornets boxing and looking very cranky!

    Can you guess I’m a nature buff?

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi souldipper,
      You have to love pet cats they love to bring you presents. :)
      I am frightened of all things that sting, if I see anything hornets, or bees whatever, I go the other way, only because I’m allergic, they’re usually just looking around, and don’t hang around long, so I haven’t been stung for years.
      It’s good to love nature, there is just too much cruelty in world today I feel.

  6. dearrosie says:

    I’m sure bees are transported on planes but I’d imagine that (a) they’re put in the hold or (b) packed in a box where they cant escape!
    Plane trips are not fun at the best of times and a 10 hour plane trip with bees flying around sounds like a certain kind of torture.

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi dearrosie,
      From the news article, it is illegal to transport bees on a Russian passenger flight, but your right of course, the person that took the bees on board apparently a VIP should of made sure they were secure.

Leave a Reply

