Rotating House:-Australia (Video)

This house was on one of our shows that we have here in OZ called Better Homes and Gardens. It is in Taree New South Wales, which is about 4hrs drive from Sydney. The House rotates a full 360 degrees, plumbing and electricals are in the central core of the house. It takes 2hrs to do a rotation at the slower speed, which is 40 metres (around 131feet) per hour.
Official Web Site with picture gallery.

This entry was posted in Australia and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Rotating House:-Australia (Video)

  1. Rebekah says:

    Cool! ๐Ÿ™‚ I wish this building would rotate too … to turn AWAY from the worst afternoon heat, but then again, our neighbours would get it instead *teehee*..

  2. kymbo says:

    Theres a restaurant in Adelaide that rotates atop a multi-story building by the seaside…it’s been there since the 1970’s so I guess the idea isnt that new…but it is a good idea

  3. travelrat says:

    What an excellent idea!

    I’ve been in rotating restaurants and bars before, but a whole house!

    Difficulty for me, I think, would be getting it past the Planning Department who are, to be polite, a bit conservative!

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi travelrat,
      We also have places here in OZ that have difficult planning departments, each area has it’s own council, and some of them can be very difficult, some even stipulate what you can and cannot have.

  4. Barbara Rodgers says:

    That’s pretty cool! I wonder if the family has some rules about who is allowed to change the position and when. It might be a little disconcerting to have the house start moving without warning while you were in the shower. ๐Ÿ™‚

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi Barbara,
      You would think there would be rules, and everyone agrees to them, but it is such a great idea, the one thing I really like is the idea of being able to have the sun where you would like it.

  5. souldipper says:

    Perfect. Great for many locations! It would mean being able to follow the sun! I’d have to remember to close the drapes some mornings! For various reasons. ๐Ÿ˜€

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi souldipper,
      The sun is a problem in many homes I think, it’s nice to have the sun in winter to help warm a house, but you don’t want it in summer, the rotating house is a brilliant idea, for this alone.

  6. Selma says:

    An amazing feat of engineering. I wonder if they get a kind of queasy feeling from time to time though with the movement. I would love to visit this house and see how it works!

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi Selma,
      I don’t think they would get queasy, it can go really slow. I also would love to see the house, it would be interesting, it looks really nice inside as well.

  7. bronxboy55 says:

    That’s an amazing house, Mags, but what’s even more amazing is how you keep finding these unique things to post about. A visit to your blog is always a happy surprise.

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi bronxboy55,
      I wonder if now that this house has been built and works really well, that more may now be built, I know I would like to have one. ๐Ÿ™‚
      I’m glad you get a surprise when you visit my blog, Thank You.

  8. Margie says:

    I love the idea of a house that can turn!

Leave a Reply

