Artificial Meat? (Video Included)

Public domain photograph of various meats. (Be...

Image via Wikipedia

Now they are making artificial meat in a lab. The artificial meat will be made from stem cells. Let me tell you this puts me off straight away. This type of thing may suit people that are vegetarian, but I love my meat, and cannot see myself eating something artificial made from stem cells.

What are the risks involved in eating this type of thing?  Say after 10 years of humans eating this type of meat will we see some sort of new cancer or new disease, or will we find this has been beneficial to our health. What do you think? Would you eat artificial meat?

Dutch researcher Dr. Mark Post, of Maastricht University, predicts the first synthetic sausage could be just six months away.
“I’m hopeful we can have a hamburger in a year,” he told New Scientist. The Telegraph

This entry was posted in Technology and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Artificial Meat? (Video Included)

  1. Val says:

    I wouldn’t eat it.

  2. Artificial meat, it’s what’s for dinner.

    Well, not an advertising tagline I’d be proud to have if this we my product. I’m having the real-deal meat for dinner – pork, the other white meat!

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi EOSR,
      It isn’t the best thing to advertise that is for sure, no doubt the spin doctors will think of something. 😀
      We are having good ol beef tonight (Rump) with vegs, still a bit cool here, but won’t be long before we start having Salads again. We had Pork a couple of nights ago. I just couldn’t imagine switching to “fake” meat. 😕

  3. starzyia says:

    I’m sorry I can’t watch it. I barely eat ‘real’ meat. And the Today Tonight story about meat glue really set me back. I could just about go back to being an actual practicing vegetarian! Meat is the stuff of nightmares for me!

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi Starry,
      I didn’t see the story your referring to on Today Tonight, doesn’t sound like a story to be putting on at 6.30pm when some people are starting their evening meal. I know exactly what you mean about meat being the stuff of nightmares for you, one of my girlfriends is a vegan so I totally understand.

  4. Selma says:

    I just couldn’t eat it, either. The thought of it makes me feel ill. You just don’t know what’s really in it and what the side effects might be. Think I’ll pass!

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi Selma,
      I really don’t know how good this is going to go across. I don’t think a lot of people will buy this “fake” meat, if anyone at all. Side affects is always a worry with things like this.

  5. travelrat says:

    Well, there’s nothing really new about artificial meat; they’ve been trying to convert us carnivores for as long as I can remember. Quorn … or, the ‘breadcrumb burgers’ that have been around since the War.

    I think they’re going to have an uphill struggle getting this to catch on, and if they’re successful, we’re going to be up to our asses in cows, pigs and sheep!

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi travelrat,
      I agree they have been trying. I really don’t think this is going to catch on at all, I just can’t imagine it to be honest. Imagine walking into a butchers and saying Oh no not those sausages, I want the fake ones. 😯

  6. kymbo says:

    horrible! Theres no way I’d eat it..but then it was a while before we learned about meat glue as well… If you haven’t heard they take all the small nasty bits of meat, spread it with questionable glue and press it into larger chunks which sell better and get more money. It’s been around a while now, (in big supermarkets) you cant tell if it’s been done and they dont admit to it. Ive taken to buying ALL my meat from a proper local butcher.

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi kymbo,
      Yes, we call it pressed meat, and it has been around for ages. A lot of crumbed chicken that you buy from the supermarket/deli is actually pressed chicken, also a lot of the rolled meat is also pressed. We buy bulk from the butchers, we are lucky and have a very good butcher not very far from where we live, and you save a fair bit by buying bulk as well.

  7. EternalForms says:

    I definitely would not eat it. I only eat organic meat as it is, so this really turns my stomach. I prefer to let God and the universe create the meat I eat. As you point out, what new disorders, diseases, and cancers will this produce in ten years, twenty years, or even fifty years of consuming this stuff? Humans need to stop playing God.

  8. souldipper says:

    Oh no, thank you! I don’t eat meat very often, but it’s NOT because I’m looking for some substitute! Good grief!

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi souldipper,
      It really makes you wonder why they are concentrating and spending money on this, money would be better spent I feel in medical research, or something like that.

  9. Barbara Rodgers says:

    I plan to avoid it like the plague – same as with genetically modified produce. Saw this awful idea on the news a while ago… I’m with the guy who said if it isn’t natural it isn’t right! I rarely eat meat anyway, and when I do, it has to be organic, not from a factory farm, and compassionately slaughtered…

  10. dearrosie says:

    I wouldn’t eat it. I’m with Barbara I avoid any genetically modified produce.
    If there isn’t enough meat to go around hello folks there’s still beans, lentils and mushrooms all ready and waiting to provide the necessary protein.

Leave a Reply

