Art Done with Lint (Pictures)

It never ceases to amaze me what people can do with different things. The art below is all done with laundry lint, yep straight from the drier, it really takes some imagination to come up with something like this, and the work I feel is brilliant.

Michigan-based artist Laura Bell says she had to do almost 800 hours of laundry to create enough lint for the reproduction of the masterpiece, and spent another 200 hours putting it together.

She began the seven-month project to compete in ‘ArtPrize 2010’ and says she was inspired to produce the 14-foot-long, 4-foot tall work after seeing other lint-based art-works. Link:- newslite

This entry was posted in Fun and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Art Done with Lint (Pictures)

  1. Texasjune says:

    Unbelievable – and it’s so beautiful! Hope it’s made from cotton. Don’t know why for sure – reckon I just love cotton too (being a quilter and all)!

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi Texasjune,
      I believe the lady brought a lot of different towels to get all the colours necessary for the art work, so I assume a lot of it would be cotton.
      A quilter, that’s great, also takes a lot of work, but the end product is always worth it, I have never attempted anything like that, it does take a certain type of talent, that I know I haven’t got. πŸ™‚

  2. Call me silly, but I wouldn’t call this “art.” A fun and very clever craft project, perhaps, but art? Nope. Leonardo daVinci is rolling over in his grave!!!!

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi EOSR,
      You may have a point there, but even some craft projects are classed as art, we may have to agree to disagree on this one. πŸ˜€
      But I do agree, Leonardo would be rolling over in his grave. There has been a lot of different types of art around his famous “The Last Supper”, and he would most properly shake his head at most of them. πŸ™‚

  3. malc50 says:

    Hi Mags, Looks like she believes Dan Brown (author of “The Da Vinci Code”), picturing Mary Magdalene on Christ’s right hand side. Cheers, Mal.

  4. Selma says:

    Quite amazing. And to think of it in the first place is very creative. I am very glad, however, that she didn’t use belly button lint. LOL.

  5. dearrosie says:

    I agree with EOS that it’s a clever craft project. When you said, she bought towels in the correct colours it pains me to think of all the wasted electricity to run the dryer all day.

    I find it funny btw that you’re already on Tuesday 4th over there!

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi dearrosie,
      “I agree with EOS” seems I may be out numbered. πŸ˜€

      Yes we are a day ahead of a lot of different countries, a few hours in others. However New Zealand and a couple of smaller countries beats us to seeing in the New Year. πŸ™‚

  6. Kymbo says:

    It’s very nice but all the way through all I could think of was…’Why?’ Surely there are easier ways to make fine art..but then of course if there was an answer to that particular question it wouldn’t be art.

  7. Margie says:

    800 hours of laundry! It would take me a couple of years just to collect the lint!

Leave a Reply

