29 Year Old Hears for the First Time (Video)

Isn’t it wonderful what technology can do. Imagine being able to hear for the first time after 29 years, what an awesome experience this must have been for her.
From You Tube  Sept 26th 2011:-
I was born deaf and 8 weeks ago I received a hearing implant. This is the video of them turning it on and me hearing myself for the first time 🙂 Edit: For those of you who have asked the implant I received was Esteem offered by Envoy Medical. Sarah Churman.

If you click onto the picture below, you can also watch a news article about this implant, the cost was $30,000, a small price to pay I feel for the benefits it achieved.

This entry was posted in Technology and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to 29 Year Old Hears for the First Time (Video)

  1. Selma says:

    WOW. What an incredible moment for her. It would be scary, overwhelming and amazing all at the same time. Isn’t it fantastic what modern technology can do?

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi Selma,
      It must of been a magical moment no doubt, very smart to get it on video, and for her I’m sure a time that will always be remembered.

  2. travelrat says:

    That is remarkable! The expression on her face made my day already!

    I thought that, having been profoundly deaf from birth, she’d have to learn to interpret sounds just as an infant would, but she seems to have had no problem in this area … but I did know (from a former girlfriend, who taught deaf children) that it’s possible to teach someone previously thought to be ‘deaf and dumb’ to speak.

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi travelrat,
      It a wonderful story isn’t it, you just feel so happy for her.
      You are right, I have a friend who’s cousin is deaf, but she can speak, and she reads lips as well, she starting learning when she was a little girl I believe, and it is very easy to have a conversion with her.

  3. That was incredible. Thanks for sharing that moment with us, Mags!

  4. Snoring Dog Studio says:

    I’m grateful for the hard working engineers and other inventors who keep trying to make this world a better place. That’s what progress is all about.

    • magsx2 says:

      HI SDS,
      There certainly are some very smart people in the world, and I agree this is what progress is all about. To be able to make something like this and actually see it working for someone must be unreal for the inventors.

  5. EternalForms says:

    that is SO awesome! made me want to cry she’s so happy!

  6. souldipper says:

    Is that ever fantastic. Another giant step with technology. I love her reaction!

  7. dearrosie says:

    I also wanted to cry with her. I can’t imagine living in a silent world for 29 years

Leave a Reply

