Travel Related Guinness World Records

From the strange to the extravagant and amazing, this list of travel related world records for 2012 will have you wondering I’m sure. Some are rather bizzare, others are awe inspiring.  Don’t forget to have a look in the picture gallery, at some amazing things. There are only 10 pictures, but I’m sure you will cetainly enjoy looking at them.

HEAVIEST AIRCRAFT PULLED BY A MAN
Canadian Kevin Fast strapped himself to a CC-177 Globemaster III plane weighing 188.83 tonnes and pulled it for 8.8 metres. Picture: Richard Bradbury/Guinness World Records (from the picture gallery)


FIRST HABITABLE SAND HOTEL
If you don’t mind a bit of sand in the wrong places then why not sleep at the Weymouth beach in Dorset, UK? It is home to a sand hotel that can be rented for $20 a night. It took 600 hours to build the 15m hotel, which has a family room with a double and single bed.
Picture: Getty Images (from the picture gallery)

Check out the world’s most expensive pizza, cost $178, the most expensive hotel room, cost $63,000 a night, plus more in the picture gallery.  News.com.au Picture Gallery

This entry was posted in Fun and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Travel Related Guinness World Records

  1. Kymbo says:

    Hi Mags and thanks for another great collection of the weird and wonderful, I always get a few smiles from your posts

  2. travelrat says:

    This is where I feel the Guinness Book of Records has lost the way; it used to be a useful reference work. I can live with stuff like the tallest hotel, deepest mine etc. … but, the world’s largest collection of traffic cones, or the world’s most expensive pizza? I really couldn’t give a rat’s hindquarters about these and nor, I suspect, could 99.9’% of the world’s population.

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi travelrat,
      Oh Yes, I remember the “old world records”, friends at the time (many years ago) used to hang out until the next book was printed about the Guinness world records, I’m sure they were the first in line to buy it. 🙂 The book sales used to be very popular. ( Are the books still popular I wonder?) There seems to be more and more categories as the years go on, and as you point out, how many people are really intrigued with some of these new ideas.

  3. starzyia says:

    I’m laughing at the guy pulling the plane… how does he not get a hernia?

  4. I have to ask – if you take the Sand Hotel room for the night, do you presume the loo is the ocean??

    I like the Lego-looking hotel in Malaysia but would be afraid to stay in a place so large. You figure with over 6000 rooms and at least 2 people per room, that’s 12,000 people….more than the population of the town I live in!!!! No thanks.

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi EOSR,
      What a very good question about the Sand Hotel, I never gave that a thought, maybe it’s dig your own. 😆
      The Hotel in Malaysia is huge, but I wonder if it has ever been full? I do agree with you too many people for me also, especially while on a holiday.

  5. Selma says:

    A sand hotel? I saw a show about one made of ice. I think it was in Sweden. Don’t know if I could sleep on a bed made of sand. I prefer a good old Sealy Posturepedic. Haha.

  6. bronxboy55 says:

    The really amazing thing about the guy pulling the plane is that somehow, during that 8.8 meters, the airline lost his luggage.

  7. dearrosie says:

    I also can’t imagine why on earth someone would want to pull a bloody plane. Bronxboy I give you 10 out of 10 and a gold star for that great comment! Man you are so funny.

  8. souldipper says:

    Looks like the perfect solution to quell the surging spread of bedbugs!

  9. Pingback: New World Record: Golf Shot Caught by a Moving Car (Video) | Magsx2's Blog

Leave a Reply

