Wildlife Photographer of the Year Winner 2011

In early October I put a post in about some of the Finalists for the Wildlife Photographer of the year.  Unfortunately none of the photo’s that was in the picture gallery won.
For those that have been waiting to hear who won and have not heard the winner was:-


Daniel Beltra from Spain
The photograph, is named Still Life in Oil.

The winner for the Young Wildlife Photographer
11-14 years old was:-


Mateusz Piesiak from Poland
Mateusz crawled along the wet sand to take this image, on Long Island, New York.

To see larger versions of these photos and learn about the photos and the photographers
all the information is in Nature Plus from the National History Museum.

This entry was posted in Animals and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

30 Responses to Wildlife Photographer of the Year Winner 2011

  1. Rebekah says:

    Wonderful shots, but the first one is extremely sad too..

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi Rebakah,
      I agree the first one is very sad, I must say that personally it would not of been my first choice, but then again I am no photographer but there were 1.000’s of entry’s, and some really beautiful photos.

  2. Theresa Lauf says:

    Great photos. Thanks for sharing!

  3. malc50 says:

    Thanks Mags. Great photographs! Cheers.

  4. souldipper says:

    Love the first one for its profound message, Mags.

  5. Pingback: Another Still Life Painting – Autumn Theme with Carnival Squash | CashArtBlog

  6. Selma says:

    WOW. That young photographer has got a fantastic future, hasn’t he? Good for him. The first photo is extremely upsetting and very powerful. Definitely deserved to win.

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi Selma,
      I agree, the young photographer has an excellent future, and winning this award in the young category is just the thing to give you a heap of incentive. 🙂

  7. travelrat says:

    My first reaction to No. 1 was what the hell is it? It looks like a macro of something unpleasant crawling through someone’s hair; took me a minute or two to work it out from the caption.

    But, full marks and congratulations to Mateusz; a common enough bird, which he’s really brought out the most of!.

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi travelrat,
      I’m also a bit perplexed with the 1st winner, as I stated above to Rebekah it would not of been my choice, I went through about 200 of the photo’s that were entered, there was literally 1.000’s, and I saw some of the most beautiful photo’s of wildlife, and some would of been very hard to get I’m sure, I didn’t see the Pelicans, but if I had of I most likely would of skimmed straight over it to the next one.
      Have a look at some of the other winners and the runners up, at BBC Nature
      http://www.bbc.co.uk/nature/15359263
      There are some fantastic photo’s in there.

      • travelrat says:

        Yes, I’ve seen the photos because I buy BBC Wildlife magazine occasionally & make a special point of getting one when WPOTY is on. I remember one year, a roadkilled zebra got a ‘Highly Commended’, so I do sometimes wonder how some of those judges’ minds work?

  8. Lafemmeroar says:

    The last photo looks so sweet.

  9. My take is that the winning photo is a political statement from the award committee and not an outright declaration that it is the best photograph – one judge declares herself as an “eco lifestyle campaigner and advocate for organic living.” As reader Souldipper said, profound statement, and I think that’s exactly what this committee was going for.

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi EOSR,
      I totally agree with what you have said, but it is sad to think of all those beautiful photo’s that was taken with such inspiration, it just seems wrong to me to be making a statement in a competion like this one, it’s not fair on the others that put their heart and soul into the pictures which they took.

  10. EternalForms says:

    The first one definitely speaks volumes. So unfortunate – look at their faces. And little Mateusz has some talent! Great images!

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi EternalForms,
      The first is a very sad picture indeed. I agree Mateusz does have talent, I thought the way the photo was shot showed beautiful detail.

  11. bronxboy55 says:

    I’m always amazed by some of the nature photos and video that people manage to capture. I can only imagine the endless hours and days they spend looking and waiting for just the right moment. Thanks, Mags.

  12. “Still Life in Oil” is haunting and “Pester power” is an amazing shot! Art (and photography is an art) is often meant to challenge the way we look at our world and our perceptions…

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi Barbara,
      So true, it is meant to challenge the way we look at everything. There certainly was some great photo’s, I wouldn’t of liked to try to choose between them, I thought they were all fantastic.

  13. That first picture is stunning. It has a sculpture-like quality about it. You start by gasping at its beauty, then realize the horror of what it shows. It is an extraordinary, thought-provoking piece of Art. A hauntingly beautiful protest piece.

  14. dearrosie says:

    I also spent a long time looking at the finalists photos. Some of them took my breath away.

    I agree with some of the other comments that the the winner was most probably chosen as political statement… Even after the horrors of the Deepwater Horizon/BP oil spill in the Gulf of Mexico in 2010, Shell is still pushing to start deep-water drilling in Alaska, and it looks as though the oil pipeline from the Alberta Tar Sands to Houston is going to go ahead even though its an environmental disaster waiting to happen. [I wrote about that in a post in July ie http://wp.me/pN0M1-NO ]

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi dearrosie,
      I personally don’t think politics should enter into something like this at all, I don’t feel it’s right or fair to many of the photographers.
      I remembered your post as soon as I clicked onto it, it was a very good post indeed.

Leave a Reply

