Eagle Vs Parachute (Video)

This video is amazing, a couple of eagles /Vultures swoop down onto this poor guys parachute, while he was paragliding, and one of the birds gets tangled and trapped. The guy manages to crash land among some trees, and even manages to help free the bird as well. 😯 The bird flew away, and the guy is also unharmed, it’s just amazing.

This entry was posted in News and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to Eagle Vs Parachute (Video)

  1. Rebekah says:

    Wow … that was really something! Great that they both made it unharmed!

  2. souldipper says:

    Ohmigod! I’ve been sitting here petrified from start to finish! I’m sooo glad that it all worked out!

  3. Kymbo says:

    Wow, that was great, those bids came out of nowhere. Surely they saw the chute? Imagine if it had attacked him….

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi Kymbo,
      The birds did come out of nowhere, I really hate to think of what might have happened if the birds had of attacked the guy, things would of ended up very badly I feel.

  4. Snoring Dog Studio says:

    Best video I’ve ever seen. And a wonderful way to start my day. I don’t think the birds would have any intention of attacking the guy. They don’t eat humans. They had better things to do with their day!

  5. travelrat says:

    I have always held that a parachute is for dire emergencies … it just added to my reasons for not doing it as a sport! But, how odd! Back in the days when I flew a glider, I was always told that birds will avoid anything else in the sky (especially if it’s bigger than they are!) unless they want to eat it. And, the only reason that aircraft occasionally suffer birdstrikes is that the bird didn’t get out of the way fast enough.

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi travelrat,
      It is the first time I have ever heard of a bird going near a parachute, it makes you wonder if it has happened before but we just didn’t hear about it. Or it may have something to do with this particular species of bird?
      Yes I have heard the same thing about the planes, but it does put a bit of a question mark on the theory I feel.

  6. Incredible. I thought it was so interesting that once on the ground the bird sat and stared at the human while he untangled the netting as if the bird understood the human was helping him.

    And how funny that the only English the human spoke was to say “I’m OK”. Universal words I guess.

    I am not planning on paragliding any day soon so thanks for the opportunity to live vicariously!

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi EOSR,
      The bird did seem to want to stay still so the guy could untangle it, I was amazed it just seemed to know that the guy was only trying to help, I was expecting the bird to try to protect its self.
      It was the only words I understood as well, I wonder if there was a few swear words spoken, it would of been a shock when the birds appeared. 🙂

  7. E.C. says:

    Wow! That’s one of the most amazing videos I’ve seen. It never ceases to fascinate me when wildlife calms down and allows humans to assist them. It’s a blessing that the guy and the eagle both are okay, 🙂

  8. munchow says:

    That was quite a ride you took me on. Very nice video, quite amazing. Thanks for sharing.

  9. EternalForms says:

    That was some amazing footage! I’ve never parachuted and I’ve never seen a first-person perspective like that. I got kinda dizzy there as he came crashing down into the trees. How fortunate that no one/no bird was harmed during the making of this video! 🙂

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi Eternal Forms,
      I also have never done the parachute thing, and I can say without any doubt, I won’t be ever doing it either. 😀
      It is amazing these new camera’s they can put on their helmets now and you see what they see, a fantastic invention.

  10. Val says:

    Birds stay still when they’re afraid, and I suspect that even though it flew away, it might still have had some of the cord or thread about its body somewhere. He managed to get some off one foot and claw, but there might have been some on the other which, if left, could cripple it. I’m glad the bird got away and that the man also survived. I bet that bird won’t be swooping after anything unusual in the sky for a while!

    Round here, we have Red Kites which are large birds of prey and they often have in-air flights with crows. However, the reason there is that they steal the crows food!

    The most likely reason the two eagles went for this glider was they probably thought he was a bird invading their airspace. Not wrong, there! 🙂

  11. I saw this on television too. Apparently the man was Russian. I thought that perhaps the birds had a nest nearby and were trying to chase away a potential enemy. Some big birds raid smaller birds’ nests to carry off their young to feed their own. The parachute must have seemed like a very big bird. The eagle was very brave to attack it. I was sure that it must have broken a bone or two in the crash, but apparently not. Great escape for both.

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi Lady Marilyn,
      It was amazing how the birds attacked the parachute, you may be right it may have looked like some sort of huge bird to them. It certainly was a great escape, one I don’t think either will forget in a hurry. 🙂

Leave a Reply

