Another Hoax:- Parking Meter Chainsawed (Video)

The original video on You Tube that turned out to be a bit of a hit shows a guy that cuts down a parking meter with a chainsaw after receiving a parking ticket.

The video below is the same except it’s the full version, an extra 9 seconds shows that this is actually to publicise the new Justin Timberlake film, “In Time”, a science fiction thriller which peoples body clocks tick down to their death,Β  you can see the count down of the body clock on someone’s arm at the end of the video. πŸ˜€

This entry was posted in Fun and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Another Hoax:- Parking Meter Chainsawed (Video)

  1. holessence says:

    Ah ha! So there’s a method to the madness πŸ™‚ MARKETING!

  2. Even though it’s a marketing ploy and hoax, I can tell you, as a bone fide New Yorker, there are plenty of times I WISH I could use a chainsaw on a parking meter. New York parking cops are notoriously unpleasant and don’t want to hear any any any story of why the meter is overdue. I take the train into the city whenever I can to avoid tickets – or worse, being towed. That can cost upwards of $500 to get your car back out.

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi EOSR,
      I think a few people would love to be able to get out the chainsaw every now and then. πŸ™‚
      The same thing here in OZ, it is very expensive to get your back if they decide to tow it, I think people all over the world feel the same about parking meters.

  3. Kymbo says:

    I’ve seen the other clip but had no idea it was an advertising hoax

  4. travelrat says:

    I did once see a truck that had just been ticketed reverse over one … no hoax, but nobody but the driver knows if it was delibrate or not!

    Me, I’d have driven over the traffic warden! πŸ˜€

    (Meters don’t issue tickets; traffic wardens do!)

    Mind you, as I’ve said in my blog, I must give a mention to Irish traffic wardens; I don’t think I’ve ever come across such friendly, helpful ones!.

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi travelrat,
      That is so true, traffic wardens give out the tickets why take it out on the poor old parking meter. πŸ˜†
      Interesting about the Irish traffic wardens. πŸ˜€

  5. Margie says:

    I receive a lot of emails from folks who think they are sending me something important, but it is actually a hoax. I wish people would spend more time verifying the validity of some of these things! I want to know whether I am reading or viewing something that is true, or something that is made up.

  6. dearrosie says:

    I think you’d land in jail if you cut off a parking meter wouldn’t you?” Destroying government property and all.. They should say “DONT do this at home!” because there are always people who’re going to copy what they see.

  7. Wouldn’t a chainsaw be considered a weapon? Are people allowed to wander around the street with them? Although, people drive around at the wheel of a lethal weapon, so why not? I agree that the video is definitely not a good example for immature (or alcohol-impaired) minds.

  8. bronxboy55 says:

    It was oddly satisfying to watch him cut that meter down. I’ve wanted to do it myself, especially when the thing takes my money and gives me no time in return — then what do you do?

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi bronxboy55,
      I think that has happened to a few of us over the years, I’ve tried kicking the meter, but unfortunately it doesn’t help, I just managed to hurt my toe. πŸ˜€

Leave a Reply

