Levitation Technology:- Floating Lampshade (Video)

What makes this lamp floating is the integrated levitation technology. It consist out of electromagnetic components and a sophisticated control system. Next to the fact that they employ the very latest LED technology, the lamp is low in power consumption too. With a touch of your fingertip, the lamp can be dimmed to the intensity you require.
The Silhouette Floating Lamp

Credits:- Crealev

This entry was posted in Technology and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

27 Responses to Levitation Technology:- Floating Lampshade (Video)

  1. holessence says:

    Cool beans! That’s pretty darned slick!

  2. Rebekah says:

    I would like to have a lamp like that!!!

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi Rebekah,
      It certainly would be a talking point, can you imagine people walking into your home and trying to work out what on earth is holding up the lamp. πŸ˜€

  3. Texasjune says:

    Sheer magic … no other explanation! You must read very fast to find so many interesting things. My grandies could not resist putting their hands in it! I wonder if electromagnetism could keep a coffee cup away from a laptop? Hmm.

  4. I don’t get this. Why would I want my lamp levitating? It’s totally cool, but help me here – what’s the advantage? And if the power goes out, wouldn’t the two pieces collapse? I’ll let one of you buy it first, then call me and let me know how it’s working!! πŸ™‚

    But kudos to the inventor, I guess!

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi EOSR,
      I really don’t know what would happen if the power went out. I think the technology for this though could lead to many things in the future. There is also a video of the bust of a mannequin “floating” above the stand, at the moment it will only “hold” so much weight, but this could be endless in the future.

  5. travelrat says:

    I really can’t conceive of any practical use for this levitating lamp. Now, if they could come up with one that sort of floated to where you want it … but I suppose that would be another remote control for us to fight over? πŸ™‚

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi travelrat,
      I don’t doubt for a minute that sometime in the future you may be able to float not only a lamp to were you would like it, but other things as well, and you are most likely right, it would be another remote. πŸ˜€

  6. travelrat says:

    BTW, did you know Selma is in hospital? Her son was on Twitter this morning;says it’s nothing serious, & she’ll be blogging again soon.

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi travelrat,
      No I didn’t know, I don’t have a twitter account, thank you for letting me know, I thought something must of been up when I didn’t see any new posts, I hope she has a speedy recovery.

  7. bronxboy55 says:

    I wonder how much it costs. I’m sure I can’t afford it, but I just want to know.

    I love this blog, Mags.

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi bronxboy55,
      I tried finding out the cost, but it was nowhere to be seen, being new technology I assume it would not be cheap, but like a lot of things, if you wait long enough it will be a lot cheaper. πŸ˜€
      Thank You.

  8. Electromagnetism is probably also responsible for human levitation. It must increase when we feel all that joy and love, and push us away from the Earth and into the air. An explanation at last! The human mind is a wonderful thing indeed.

  9. E.C. says:

    Wow that is crazy cool. There’s some super clever folks out there. πŸ™‚

  10. Technology is magic! I see astonishing things like this when Tim drags me to some of his computer fairs…

  11. doudou says:

    I always want to say WOW when I read your posts πŸ™‚ So I will. Wow, that is cool.

Leave a Reply

