How To Peel Garlic (Fun Video)

Saveur magazine’s Executive Food Editor, Todd Coleman, shows you how to peel a whole head of garlic in less than ten seconds.

Credits:- Saveur.com

This entry was posted in Fun and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to How To Peel Garlic (Fun Video)

  1. Cool! I can’t wait to try it! I usually buy a jar of minced garlic to use in recipes, but now maybe I’ll go back to using fresh garlic! 🙂

  2. No way. That is incredible. I am going to try that tonight. I use garlic alot and have tried everything from rolling it to using a garlic press. I have two children who are chefs and this is new to them too!! I wonder if the magic is that it has to be two metal bowls? I will report back.

  3. As they say in infomercials, “your results may vary.” I tried this and it “kinda” worked. I had to shake longer than he, plus I have a feeling it depends on how fresh and large the garlic head is. It doesn’t solve the problem of using only one clove of garlic – but still clever. Downside: it gets two big bowls dirty for not much other reason than to shake garlic.

  4. Margie says:

    If I ever needed a whole head of garlic, this would be something to try! I usually only need one or two cloves, so I just cut the root end off and then lay the clove on the chopping block. Then I lay something hard and flat over top of them. One bang with my fist, and the clove is crunched enough that the peel slides right off.

  5. Rebekah says:

    … having read the comments here; it looked really cool though! 🙂 I would never need a whole head though.. otherwise I would have tried it too.

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi Rebekah,
      Unless you were making heaps of something for a party or making something for a lot of people you wouldn’t need a whole head, but it’s great getting feed back, it gives everyone new ideas and may help others. 😀

  6. E.C. says:

    lol I wonder if this would work like that. It’s one of the funnest kitchen hints that I’ve seen in a long time. Thanks so much. 🙂

  7. barb19 says:

    Wow – that’s ok if you need a whole head of garlic, but the most I ever use at any one time is 2-3 cloves. I cut off the root end then lay my knife over the clove one at a time and smash them – skin is off, it works a treat!

  8. travelrat says:

    My method is usually:

    Go to supermarket
    Buy a jar of garlic paste

    However, it’s easy enough for a domestic cook to peel 2-3 cloves needed … I suspect you’d only use this much if catering for a large number.

    PS: Best to crush garlic between 2 spoons … much easier to clean than a garlic crusher!

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi travelrat,
      Good method. 😀
      Between 2 spoons sounds great. I love the different garlic ideas that people have, I’m going to try them all out myself, they all sound easy, with not much mess. 🙂

  9. Kymbo says:

    I pretend to like Garlic, but I’d use two or three cloves off a bulb before it withers… why would anyone (other than a restaurant) want that much Garlic at one time…Whew!

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi Kymbo,
      That’s right usually just for normal cooking at home you wouldn’t need that much, unless you were doing a heap of something or other to freeze or for a party etc. But he does the garlic thing well, and so quick, I was just amazed. 🙂

  10. holessence says:

    Ohhhhhh Myyyyyy Goooooosh!

    I wish I’d learned this trip about three decades ago — it would have saved me countless hours in the kitchen!

    thank you, Thank You, THANK YOU for sharing it here!

  11. souldipper says:

    Wow! What a trick. Thanks, Mags!

  12. dearrosie says:

    Wow that is unbelievable! Unbelievable. I’m glad that EOS tried it for us because I don’t have two stainless steel bowls of the same size to try it. Wow! I like Saveur magazine but have never seen their videos. Thanks Mags

  13. bronxboy55 says:

    I rarely use more than one or two cloves, but it was still fun to watch. And he’s right: peeling garlic is a pain. Thanks, Mags!

Leave a Reply

