Weird and Wonderful Motorhomes (Pictures)


Measuring just 160cm wide and 185 high, it can get a little cosy though. Hopefully there aren’t too many claustrophobic campers out there! Picture: Daniel Straub / Sealander


Ship ahoy: The Sealander is a tiny amphibious caravan and allows travellers to camp or cruise. Picture: Daniel Straub / Sealander


Palace on wheels: The eleMMent palazzo sells for a cool $2.9 million and boasts an ensuite master bedroom, underfloor heating, a rooftop terrace and a glow-in-the-dark exterior. Picture: Marchi Mobile


Aside from its impressive master bedroom (did we mention there’s a 102 centimetre flatscreen TV inside?), the vehicle also boasts a rainfall shower, separate toilet, lounge and driver’s cab complete with bunk bed. Picture: Marchi Mobile


Sound of music: This pop-up campervan looks like the Sydney Opera house on wheels.


Its interior is handcrafted in hardwood, stainless steel and leather. It also has two beds, a toilet, hot and cold water, LED lighting and a mobile hob installed. Picture: Opera

See more wonderful motorhomes and larger versions of the photos above
in the Herald Sun Picture Gallery.

This entry was posted in Fun, Lifestyle and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to Weird and Wonderful Motorhomes (Pictures)

  1. holessence says:

    The motorhomes look like something The Jetsons — George, Jane, Judy, and Elroy — would go camping in. Very futuristic!

  2. barb19 says:

    Weird and wonderful was certainly the right choice to describe these motor homes! They are fantastic!

  3. Texasjune says:

    They certainly would not be confused with a poor man’s cabin! They’re like a yacht on wheels! I have a tiny house, If I redecorated with a million dollar budget, it would look that good – but, I still wouldn’t have a place to paint, sew, or quilt!

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi Texasjune,
      I also would not be able to live in something that small, but I thought the idea was brilliant, no need to tow a small boat as well, if you are going somewhere for a couple of days.
      I think it may be more of a guy thing. 😀

  4. Kymbo says:

    I’d like to see how the Sealander takes a set of rapids…
    The Cyclops is stunning but for my money the Opera House camper is a great looking little camper that would gets people talking and ensure lots of visitors invading your privacy…

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi Kymbo,
      Now that would be something to see the little van in rapids. 😀
      My favourites is “The Ecco” pictures 3 and 4 in the picture gallery, also the georgeous little van that is made to be towed by a push bike picture 10 in the gallery. 🙂

  5. E.C. says:

    These are so fun. I think you nailed it with the title – Weird and Wonderful 🙂

  6. Very “weird and wonderful”. However, one thing does puzzle me: if you had 2.9 million dollars, why would you buy a motorhome?

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi Lady Marilyn,
      As you know here even in OZ we have people that sell up everything including their homes and take to the road in whatever they decide to buy, “Aussies Grey Nomads”, others will keep their homes as a base only, there are a lot of people that would love to just travel around whatever country they happen to live in when they retire. Of course not everyone would have millions to throw away. 🙂

  7. travelrat says:

    Love the idea of the amphibious caravan, & wonder why nobody thought of it before. But, nearly 3 million bucks for a motor home? If I had that kind of mazuma, I wouldn’t need a motor home; I’d be staying in hotels all the time.

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi travelrat,
      It is a great idea the van come boat.
      Staying in Hotels is my cup of tea, I’m not the camping type, but hubby loves driving around, it is his dream to become a “Grey Nomad” when he retires, travel around OZ for a few months, then come home and start again.
      If we were lucky enough to have 3 Millions dollars there would be a fight. 😆

      • travelrat says:

        I know someone who tried to build one in the 50s … worked OK as a caravan, but an absolute disaster as a boat!

        (Got my eye on an old VW Kombi campervan at the moment … trying to get the price down, as it needs a lot of work doing on it)

  8. munchow says:

    They almost seem extraterrestrial, they seem so absurd to me. The first picture is quite beautiful with strong and almost unreal colours that real fit the theme. My favourite picture is the second one with the camper cruising around.

  9. I like the pop-up camper van that looks like the Sydney Opera house – it’s so attractive… It seems like a modern version of my grandparents’ old Volkswagen camper bus. They had so much fun driving their little home-away-from-home about the country, all those years ago. I could see Tim & myself using the this one. 🙂

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi Barbara,
      The pop – up camper shape is very nice, there seems to be a bit of style to it I think.
      So many people have enjoyed themselves driving around and looking at whatever they like on their travels, and from some of our friends who are doing it at the moment, say they have met some very nice people as well. 😀

  10. souldipper says:

    Dare I send this to a friend who has just purchased a 1993 model with a microwave that takes up half the kitchen? Oh boy…I better not!

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi souldipper,
      Hmm, best not to send this I would say, I wouldn’t send the picture gallery either, but saying that, they most likely got what they thought would be OK for them, and if they enjoy themselves it was a good buy. 🙂

  11. afrankangle says:

    First time visitor here … wow … great pics … then again, how and the heck did you get the idea for this post! Well done.

  12. dearrosie says:

    Amazingly beautiful inside aren’t they? I love the handcrafted woodwork of the Sydney Opera house. But I too wonder if I had $2.9 million would I spend it on a teeny little camper. I think I’d buy the yacht.

Leave a Reply

