Piranhas Attack:- Brazil

No this isn’t a joke or a Hollywood movie, it’s the real thing.
Piranhas are in great numbers at a beach in Brazil called Daveron Beach on the Paraguay River. Apparently thousands of these flesh eating fish have invaded and so far about 15 swimmers have been bitten.

Redeye piranha

Image via Wikipedia

Elson de Campos Pinto, 22, was bitten on Sunday.
“I took a dip in the river and when I stood up, I felt pain in my foot,” Pinto told G1.
“I saw that I had lost the tip of my toe. I took off running out of the river, afraid that I would be further attacked because of the blood. I’m not going back in for a long time.”

If I had lost the tip of my toe, I wouldn’t be going back in either! 😯

City officials said the beach will remain open because it’s an important draw for tourists in Brazil’s Pantanal region, known for its ecotourism.

Hmmm that sounds a bit familiar, for those that have seen JAWS, those lines above are very similar to those that caused all the problems for people at Amity (in the movie), it does make one wonder.
My advice and I’m no expert on piranhas, but if I was anywhere near this place at the moment on holidays or whatever, I would be looking for the nearest swimming pool and staying well away from this beach/river.

This entry was posted in Fish, News and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

29 Responses to Piranhas Attack:- Brazil

  1. holessence says:

    YOWZA! That’s downright scary!

  2. Mags, you won’t believe this, but we just finished our itinerary for Brazil, heading there in February. Pantanal region included! Gulp. I am already practicing saying: Keep your hands in the boat. Keep your feet in the boat. Maybe I need to rethink this trip take one of those cool campers across the USofA!

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi EOSR,
      That’s unreal, regardless it will be a fantastic trip, just stick to the swimming pools.
      Oh and do keep all body parts in the boat at all times. πŸ™‚

  3. Kymbo says:

    I say they should inflict payback and eat the little buggers… Frankly though, why would you want to swim there.

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi Kymbo,
      I do believe they catch and eat piranha like most other fish, although I assume they are very careful when removing the hook. πŸ˜€
      After these reports I don’t think anybody will be swimming there for awhile.

  4. souldipper says:

    Yah, like give me brochure quick! Oi~!

  5. El Guapo says:

    What, no reference to how long it would take them to skeletonize a cow? I thought that was the standard for Piranha eating speed.

    I understand you can catch and eat Piranhas, but they aren’t very tasty…

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi El Guapo,
      No, no references like that, only the facts on what actually happened. πŸ™‚
      I had read somewhere about locals eating Piranhas, but of course I have no idea how it would taste, so thanks for the info on that.
      Thank You for visiting my blog and your comment.

  6. malc50 says:

    Small, but certainly lethal. Thanks again Mags, for extending my education. Cheers, Mal.

  7. Rebekah says:

    This is almost funny … just this afternoon, we were watching a TV-programme about this, and now I see them here too! Incredibly scary fish!

  8. Snoring Dog Studio says:

    Holy, Mother of Cutting Implements! I can’t understand why anyone would jump into a body of water with those things in it. Chomp. Chomp. I wonder if they have any predators at all.

  9. barb19 says:

    You wouldn’t see me for dust!

  10. Do you have to keep blogging about things with teeth lurking in water? Piranhas probably have an important mission on this Earth – everything that exists on it does – but I intend to stay very far away from them while they go about it. I still haven’t recovered from the goblin shark.

  11. travelrat says:

    And yet, people will pay for a fish pedicure! πŸ˜€

  12. I’m amazed that the fish could still eat even though he was out of the water – I wonder how long it would stay alive out of its watery home. I gave up swimming a long time ago – too many stinging jellyfish around here.

  13. dearrosie says:

    I also wondered how long it could survive out of the water. I’ve never seen teeth like that … chomp chomp chomp….

    Interesting to read your comment to SDS that “larger Fish, turtles, otters, birds, and even piranhas are just a few of the predators of a piranha”. How can a bird catch and eat something with such sharp teeth?

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi dearrosie,
      I thought the same thing about the birds, it didn’t mention what type of bird, but with teeth like that you would think it would be able to injure the bird enough for the bird to drop it.

  14. Gregoryno6 says:

    The guy who holds the piranha should charges the tourists a fortune to ride on his boat. First he’s got to catch it, then he’s got to pick it up – not a lot of future in that line of employment.

  15. Pingback: Barracuda Jumps into Boat (Video) | Magsx2's Blog

Leave a Reply

