Southern White-Faced Owl (Funny Video)

The Southern White-Faced owl is very unique in the sense that it can change its appearance when it feels threatened. The owl comes from Gabon to Southern Kenya and south to Namibia and Northern South Africa. It is also known to inhabit Savannah and dry woodland. This owl of course is in a few wildlife sanctuaries as well and has entertained people with its unique ability. For anyone that has never seen this owl, I’m sure you will love the video.

I can understand why the name on the video is “Transformer Owl”πŸ˜€

This entry was posted in Animals, Fun and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

39 Responses to Southern White-Faced Owl (Funny Video)

  1. afrankangle says:

    Cheers! How can anyone not like that video!!! Of course the greater question is around the evolutionary rationale behind this ability. Ok … too thought provoking …πŸ˜‰ … Thanks for sharing.

  2. Oh my gosh, “Evil Owl” is hysterical!

  3. doudou says:

    He looks like a little vampire – too cute! Can you imagine running into this guy at night in the woods? That would kind of freak me out! I think his defense is probably pretty effectiveπŸ™‚

    Interesting how it’s an expression he uses to defend himself. They say that birds can read people’s expressions. I use expressions to scold my Conure, I gave her an “Oh how could you!!” expression once when she bit me too hard, she hasn’t done it again, so it seems to be working.

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi doudou,
      If I seen this owl at night in the woods looking like that, I’m sure I would be running.πŸ˜†
      I hadn’t heard that about birds, but it does make a lot of sense.

  4. barb19 says:

    What an incredible owl making all those changes to himself for protection. Isn’t nature amazing?

  5. El Guapo says:

    Not sure what you were googling to find this.

    Now I want an evil glare.

  6. E.C. says:

    Awesome! That owl is a hoot!πŸ™‚
    lol Is that a pun?

  7. That was hysterical! My kids loved it!

  8. Rebekah says:

    yeah, he sure was a hoot!πŸ˜‰ That was so funny, what he did with his eyes and all that…

  9. Texasjune says:

    I’m sure glad they’re not in Texas – I get alarmed enough with standard critters! It is nice to see what’s really out there in the world – from the safety of your posts!

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi Texasjune,
      The owl has a look only a mother would love.πŸ™‚
      There are some weird and wonderful animals out there that are best to only see in blogs.

  10. Theresa Lauf says:

    Amazing. My kids will love this.

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi Theresa,
      Things like this are great for kids, it is something they will remember I feel because it is funny to watch, they may not remember the name of the owl, but they will always remember what this owl can do.πŸ™‚

  11. Kymbo says:

    How cool is that! Never seen anything like it. We have lots of Tawny Owls here abouts, they look like bark and you cant see them at all unless you know what to lock for.

  12. travelrat says:

    Lovely! And, he looks so cute when not in ‘Don’t mess with me!’ mode!

  13. malc50 says:

    Thanks Mags for sharing this amazing video clip.

  14. What a fascinating creature! Every time we turn around there is yet another intriguing animal to discover in the vast world of nature…

  15. dearrosie says:

    Another great find Mags. Wow I love owls but I’ve never seen anything like this. I don’t believe that it was the same bird. How could that cute bird with the big eyes transform into the tall thin thing? I was frustrated that I couldn’t understand the subtitles.

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi dearrosie,
      Unfortunately their is not an English video on this that shows all the transformations like this video does.
      The owl is certainly amazing how it can change it’s whole body.

  16. Selma says:

    WOW. I have never seen anything like that before. Fantastic. I love it.

  17. The fluffing up to make itself look bigger is common to a lot of animals. We still have traces of it ourselves (hackles rising on your neck when you’re afraid). But the “evil” transformation could be the owl trying to look like wood, or perhaps an attempt to look like a feline. Whatever it is, it probably gives nightmares to unsuspecting bird predators who first see the “cute little thing” as their next meal. You can just imagine their gears grinding as they try to swing into reverse in full pouncing flight.

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi Lady Marilyn,
      I agree, I think it would scare the predators off, with the total transformation, it would look like a completely different animal to them I’m assuming.

  18. Gregoryno6 says:

    If I happened across that owl in the wild and it pulled the Count Dracula move on me I think I’d run screaming. You’d think it was a bit of CGI trickery.

  19. Very cool!! You know from my zoo post today that I saw an owl, but this one is amazing!!

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi Travel Spirit,
      Great photos in your blog today of the animals.
      The White-Faced Owl in one of a kind I feel.
      Thank You for visiting and your comment.

  20. Pingback: Brolga: Australian Bird (Video) | Magsx2's Blog

Leave a Reply

