Bionic Projects From Penguins (New Technology Video)

Fantastic technology. Using the knowledge that was learned from the making of the bionic penguin, other projects are now being built, some may even be able to be used at home, such as 3D printing. All this is being done at Festo.
Festo main web site here.

This entry was posted in Knowledge, Technology and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Bionic Projects From Penguins (New Technology Video)

  1. El Guapo says:

    Cool, but can they combine the Air and Water penguin?
    And that wall was just freaky.

    There are already home 3d printers available though. Not cheap, but not ridiculously expensive either.
    Where did you come across this?

  2. dearrosie says:

    This is pretty freaky Mags. How on earth do they do it? When they fly what stops them banging into walls? And the swimming? If you put a computer in water its bye bye computer. I can’t even spill a bit of water on my keyboard.

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi dearrosie,
      The technology is unreal, I have no idea how it is all done, but it does show how one piece of technology can lead to so much more, they are now using this “special arm” technology in hospitals.

  3. travelrat says:

    Remarkable!

    I wonder if we’re looking at the submersible/ship/aeroplane … (and Lego bricks!) … of the future here?

  4. malc50 says:

    Thanks Mags. Fascinating. I thought “bionic” referred to technological implants in living things, and would have thought these penguins were “robotic”, but I find that “bionic” (pronounced “bee-onic” according to Wikipedia, when I would have said “by-onic”) simply means “like life”. Cheers.

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi Mal,
      Even though officially it is bionic, I personally still see it as robotic, I still put robotic as a tag, as I think a lot of people would think of this as robotic I feel. 🙂

  5. HolEssence says:

    wow, Wow, WOW!

    My husband Len — a pilot — was blown away by this video clip. Thank you!

  6. Selma says:

    Awesome. Technology is moving ahead in leaps and bounds. I can’t even imagine what the future holds….

  7. Rebekah says:

    *OMG* Mags … that was so awesome!!! Beautiful too. I really enjoyed it, and it surely makes your mind wander..

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi Rebekah,
      The technology shown in the video does make you think, the wonders that are yet to come, things that the average person wouldn’t ever think of, as far as technology goes the future is looking good I feel. 🙂

  8. I’m going to share this with my son, Magsx2. He’s studying animation and will understand this – I don’t get it at all! He showed me a 3D printer where he works on campus and its capabilities were way over my head. It’s all really amazing!

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi AA,
      I hope he enjoys watching the video. It all goes way over my head as well, but it is awesome to see what new things are coming or what actually has already been
      achieved. 🙂

Leave a Reply

