What’s New in Phones:- Nanotechnology (Video)

I realize this is an ad for Nokia, but this phone called Human Form just blew me away, at the moment it is just a prototype, but I’m sure you will also be amazed at what is being worked on. Try to look past the word Nokia, and just see the technology. 🙂

From You Tube:-
Nokia HumanForm was created in a joint effort to translate the most promising new nanotechnologies into meaningful user experience, prototype those for decision making; and transfer and set aspiration for future portfolio.
Project is a key to bring significant user experience benefits to the market thereby creating mindshare and value share through nanotechnology enabled experiences.
Nokia HumanForm is a visionary solution for a dynamically flexible device beyond touch screen and voice communication where technology is invisible and intuition takes over.

This entry was posted in Technology and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to What’s New in Phones:- Nanotechnology (Video)

  1. El Guapo says:

    Impressive.
    I think the latest Android OS is moving towards a more gesture-friendly design.

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi El Guapo,
      I was more interested in the technology that this represented. The twisting and flexibility I find incredible. No doubt many different company’s are working on things like this. To be honest I really don’t care about the brand name, I am more interested in what they are working on for the future. If you can look past the idea that this is a phone, imagine what this technology might lead to in other areas as well.

  2. Rebekah says:

    Astounding! I would like to have one of those when they become available 🙂

  3. malc50 says:

    Hi Mags, Simply amazing, especially the “tactile” bit, where you feel the image. Where, though, is the keyboard – I missed that. Cheers, Mal (from home in Townsville).

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi Mal,
      “Where is the key board” that is a very good question, I have no idea, maybe it’s in the menu and comes up on screen, and is all done by touch screen?

  4. barb19 says:

    Absolutely incredible!
    I wondered about the keyboard too but then I thought outside the square – perhaps there isn’t one! Perhaps we can speak our messages (and receive them the same way). That would be awesome!

  5. dearrosie says:

    Mags you’re a brilliant researcher. I don’t know where you find these things. Intuitive phone that that bends and where one can feel the texture of the photos… sheesh!

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi dearrosie,
      I also found this technology astonishing, it is also something that is hard to explain unless you can see it. But zooming in by flexing is just way out there. 😀

  6. O. K. I’m lost for words. This thing doesn’t look real. If we can make stuff like that, why can’t we stop people starving in Africa?

  7. travelrat says:

    As the owner of what’s probably the only mobile phone in the world that doesn’t take pictures (I use a camera for that! :D) all I can say is ‘Wow’.

    But, the thing is … it just makes it so much easier to transmit trivial babble, the ‘good stuff’ being lost. In the RAF, we called it the ‘smoke signal syndrome’ … when I joined (cough! cough!) years ago, we didn’t use the communications (or even, the telephone) unless we had something important to say. But, as communication got easier … so the irrelevant stuff increased.

    We called it so, because we thought no American Indian would climb to the top of a hill carrying a load of firewood and a blanket and get a fire going unless he really had to communicate.

    I am a little saddened by this; would anyone have anything he needs to know, or wants to say so badly that it can’t wait till he can get to a computer?

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi travelrat,
      It certainly is a different world today as far as communication goes that’s for sure. Generations to come and some now for that matter, find it very hard to understand how we grew up without even mobiles, and never missed them because we never had them. We would arrange to meet friends without using any modern technology. Yes communications have come a long way, and I think as time goes on there will be a lot more different things to come that we just haven’t thought of yet. 🙂

    • Travelrat, the mobile telephone that I use (only for emergencies, i.e. when my line telephone isn’t working and I have to get it fixed, or a motor-bike rider is brought down by a car and lands at my feet with a broken leg) is a telephone only, and cost me fifteen Australian dollars. It is very slim and very light to carry around. It is always off unless I need to use it. I do possess a more sophisticated mobile telephone which, I believe, includes a camera and a whole lot of other things that I don’t need. I’ve had it for a few years now, and it’s still in its box.

      • travelrat says:

        I hear you, Lady!

        I’d love to see statistics on calls made to and from mobiles that could have waited.

        I think the phrases I use most often on my mobile are ‘Send me an email about it!’ or ‘I’ll be home in an hour. Call me on the hard line then!’

        I don’t think I’ve ever received a call that required my immediate attention … apart from my wife calling to say ‘Pick up some milk on your way home!’

  8. Astonishing and amazing – wonders will never cease to be around another corner. Fascinating about it being sensitive to moods and gestures – and the flexibility. To each her own when it comes to technology – my husband likes his Android phone and I like my Kindle – there’s something for everyone! And more still to come! 😉

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi Barbara,
      That is exactly right. It would be a boring old world if we all liked and had the same thing, just imagine every house would look the same etc.
      Choice is a wonderful thing. 😀

  9. souldipper says:

    This one’s for me, Mags!!

Leave a Reply

