Xmas Tree Brisbane Australia 2011 (Video)

I thought you may like to have a look at the Christmas Tree from the city that I live in.
Brisbane which is the Capitol of Queensland here in Australia.
Our Xmas tree in the city this year is 20 meters or 65.62 feet high, 16,000 light bulbs, just over 4 kilometres or 2 miles of wiring which leads to the star at the top of the tree, which has solar panelling.

This year is the 120th anniversary of the lighting of the tree. The lighting of this year’s Xmas tree was on the 2nd of December. It took 10 people a week to set up the tree.

This entry was posted in Australia and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

32 Responses to Xmas Tree Brisbane Australia 2011 (Video)

  1. Rebekah says:

    Ohhh… that is beautiful!!!

  2. El Guapo says:

    Beautiful elegant tree..

  3. barb19 says:

    The blue lighting is nice and that’s a whopping big star on top! Must get down to see it sometime – good on ya Brissie!
    They haven’t put one up yet in Hervey Bay. 😦

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi barb19,
      The huge star on top is actually the solar panels that run the Xmas lights.
      I’m surprised Hervey Bay haven’t got theirs up yet, send the council an e-mail, and remind them the fist week of December has passed, and where is the Towns Xmas tree? πŸ˜€

  4. HolEssence says:

    WOW – that’s absolutely breathtaking. THANK YOU for sharing.

  5. Thanks for reminding me that I must get down and take a look!

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi fridaysfivecents,
      Yes do go down, it is really nice, and the Myers window Xmas display is not bad this year either. πŸ™‚
      Thank You for visiting and taking the time to comment.

  6. malc50 says:

    Thanks Mags! A little better effort than the one from the Townsville City Council. Cheers.

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi Mal,
      I still can’t get over the coucil up there in Townsville not doing something about that. I see where a few people did complain, but the coucil didn’t seem to take any notice, I’m sure there are a lot of homes that have made up for it with their Xmas lights. πŸ™‚

  7. That’s about the most clever idea I’ve seen, with solar panels as the star. Every town should be obliged to be so green! I’d even do if if solar panels weren’t so darn expensive!

    Thanks for sharing a bit of your life with us. I’ve got to get to Brisbane one day. Looks beautiful.

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi EOSR,
      I don’t know how well the solar panels are going at the moment, we had our coldest summer day in 123 years yesterday. πŸ˜†
      If you ever get the chance to come back to OZ I’m sure you would find a lot of interesting things to see and do here in Brissie. πŸ™‚

  8. E.C. says:

    What a magnificent tree. I can’t imagine a tree that tall. All those lights and miles of wiring, wow it’s awesome. πŸ™‚

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi E.C.,
      Considering Brisbane is only a small city, around 2 million people live in this city, it’s a pretty good effect by the council. πŸ˜€

  9. travelrat says:

    Nice!

    Just struck me … we never saw Brisbane centre after dark. Maybe next time?

  10. aFrankAngle says:

    Awesome … besides the beauty and the blue lights (which I especially like), this is my first encounter with a solar powered Christmas tree. Brilliant idea! Thanks for sharing!

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi aFrankAngle,
      It is supposed to be the World’s Largest Solar Powered Xmas Tree, so it makes it a bit different than most. I’m glad you liked it.

  11. munchow says:

    Very beautiful. Thanks for showing us how it is in Brisbane. Most of all I like that the Christmas tree is lit by solar power.

  12. EternalForms says:

    Wow, those stats are amazing! Two miles of wiring? It’s a beautiful tree and I’m happy that it’s also solar powered!

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi EternalForms,
      There is a lot of wiring that is for sure, it’s a bit hard to even imagine that much wiring, but obviously it is needed because of the solar panels. πŸ™‚

  13. wolke205 says:

    I wish we would have one like this πŸ˜€ The ones here & in my hometown are nice, but not as nice as the one in your city πŸ˜€

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi wolke205,
      The blue lights on the tree really looks nice against the lighting of the City Hall. I’m sure the tree in your hometown is just as nice in it’s own way, it really doesn’t matter how big the tree is, it’s the Christmas spirit that counts. πŸ˜€

  14. Barb says:

    I like the blue lighting. We have several trees (small) around here and I’d like to wrap my tree in blue electricity, but I’m too cheap to get new lights when the old ones work just fine. Thanks for sharing.

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi Barb,
      I agree, even though there are now some beautiful Xmas lights on the market, it is silly to buy them when your old lights still work great. I also have come to the same conclusion, as long as the lights are still working I will stick with them. Who knows what will be on the market when the old lights stop working, may even be something better. πŸ˜€

  15. dearrosie says:

    Your coldest summer day in +120 years!? Brrr -what was the temp, was it raining?

    I’m very impressed to see a solar panel lighting the tree. If the city councils want the rest of us to go green they have to set an example and one like this will be noticed by everyone!

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi dearrosie,
      A lot of people think the solar panel star was a brilliant idea. πŸ™‚
      Oh Yes, it was very cold, for people here in Queensland anyway.
      Our temperature dropped to 19.1C or 66.38F. That was the official temp. but at my place it was just over 17C or 62.6F.

      Normally for December it is 29C or 84.2F. That low temp would most properly seem warm or even hot to lot of people in other countries, but here everyone was rugged up, it was freezing. Yes there was only very light rain. By the end of December beginning of January we are usually always in the low to mid 30’s or around 90F.
      http://www.theaustralian.com.au/news/nation/la-nina-is-behind-record-summer-lows/story-e6frg6nf-1226216722372

  16. Selma says:

    Oh, they’ve done a fantastic job with it. It is gorgeous. Really puts you in the Christmas mood. I would be visiting it all the time if I lived in Brisbane!

Leave a Reply

