Sydney New Years Eve Fireworks 2012 (Pictures/Video)

There were around 1.5 Million people that was scattered around the Sydney Harbour Bridge, Opera House, and various other vantage points throughout the city to say goodbye to 2011 and welcome in 2012. I heard on the radio that by around 5pm, Circular Quay as well as the Opera House areas had reached capacity.


31/12/2011 S-NWN HUMAN INTEREST: New Years Eve 2011/12. Midnight fireworks at Mrs Macquarie’s Chair. Pic. Tim Hunter (from The Telegraph picture gallery)

Around 7 tonnes of pyrotechnic explosives was used in the firework display for New Years Eve, and took months of planning.


31/12/2011 S-NWN NEWS: New Years Eve 2011/12 midnight fireworks, from Fort Denison. Pic. Rohan Kelly (from The Telegraph picture gallery)

Used were the four colours of the rainbow on the bridge for inspiration: yellow symbolising optimism, violet for peace, green for the environment and blue for the sea, sky and future aspirations. Sydney-born designer Marc Newson, the creative director of the City of Sydney’s New Year’s Eve celebrations, conceived the rainbow to encourage us all to follow our dreams, large and small.

See more amazing photos from The Telegraph picture gallery.

Sit back and enjoy this massive fireworks display on the Sydney Harbour, if for copyright reasons you cannot see the video below click here.

This entry was posted in Australia, Entertainment and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

49 Responses to Sydney New Years Eve Fireworks 2012 (Pictures/Video)

  1. Rebekah says:

    HAPPY New 2012, Mags!!! I just saw fireworks from NZ and Oz on TV here … still many hours to go for us — it’s only a little past 2PM here.

    All the best for the new year! Awesome fireworks…

  2. Arindam says:

    Nice fire work.
    Wish you a very happy & prosperous new year. May this coming year will bring lots of happiness in your life. 🙂

  3. dearrosie says:

    Mags I’m still in my pj’s drinking my morning coffee in 2011 and you’ve already welcomed in the new year…Amazing 🙂
    One of the best fireworks displays I’ve ever seen. Sydney’s one of the few cities to be able to afford to put on a show like that.

  4. El Guapo says:

    That’s spectacular!
    Thanks for sharing it.

    So, how does 2012 look from where you sit? I’m still waiting for it to catch up to nyc…

  5. WOWEE! That was FANTASTIC!

  6. malc50 says:

    Thanks Mags! All the very best for 2012!

  7. barb19 says:

    We did it again – what a magnificent show Mags!
    Happy New Year to you and your family!

  8. travelrat says:

    Sydney’s display is the best!

    After watching it on television, I sometimes feel I’ve already seen the New Year in & can go to bed at a reasonable time. (Only joking; I wouldn’t miss my midnight whisky, & kiss from the lady across the road for anything!)

    Happy New Year!

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi travelrat,
      Yes it must feel strange to watch the count down for New Year when your not quite there yet in your Country.
      Hmmm A kiss from the Lady across the street, and it sounds like you do this every New Years Eve, it seems like a bit of a habit. 😆

  9. travelrat says:

    They’re Scottish; he’s dark-haired … and I know the Scottish tradition of ‘first footing’, having lived in Scotland and having a Scottish son in law.

    And, they know I always have good whisky in the house! 😀

  10. Amazing photos and video. Happy New Year to you, Mags!

  11. Those lucky people who got into the Harbor or were on a boat to see that up close and personal. Can you imagine coming up with a different theme every year, to top the previous year? No wonder it takes seven months to plan. I watched all twelve minutes of the video. Such a grand celebration.

    PS: Love all your New Year’s animated gifs. Very cute!

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi EOSR,
      It certainly wouldn’t be the easiest event to organize, it is unreal how they can put all this together. I believe they have already started on the 2013 display.
      Thank You, I was hoping the New Year smileys would add something to the celebrations.

  12. Selma says:

    It was splendiferous. I am lucky in that I can see the fireworks from the end of my street so I don’t need to go right into the city. lots of beautiful colours. Sydney always does a great job. Have a super-fantastic New Year, Mags!!!!

  13. E.C. says:

    Absolutely breathtaking!
    Happy New Year! 🙂

  14. gregoryno6 says:

    That first pic in the gallery – is it a fireworks display or the start of an alien invasion?
    Looks like that moment from a great many movies: unwary humans are suddenly stampeding as the ETs get the guns out.

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi gregorno6,
      It’s unreal that first photo, all the colours, the amount of fireworks that must of been lite for that moment, the mind boggels.

  15. WOW! I enjoyed this so much. Since I now live in a forest, no fireworks are allowed.

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi life is a bowl of kibble,
      Sounds very nice living in a forest, I can certainly understand why there would be no fireworks allowed. 🙂

  16. Mags, those have to be the most spectacular fireworks I have ever seen!!! The ones that looked like a waterfall coming off the bridge were amazing. I told Tim if we ever go to Australia we’ll have to be in Sydney for the New Year! 🙂 Thanks for sharing the video and have a very Happy New Year!!!

  17. Ianus Christius says:

    …I wish we had these great fireworks, but I admit Sydney’s New Years Eve is something special.
    greets from cold Croatia…

  18. souldipper says:

    You Aussies sure know how to throw a party!! 😀

  19. RoseCityRemona says:

    Gorgeous! What a beautiful celebration!

  20. I missed it Mags. I was watching a film on SBS and when it ended and I switched back to WIN (Channel 9 equivalent in the ACT) to see the show, it was all over. I somehow managed to miss all but a few images on the News, so this was the first time that I saw it. Thank you, Mags, and I hope that you have a very happy 2012.

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi Lady Marilyn,
      I’m glad you were finally able to watch the fireworks, they certailly were well worth watching.
      I hope you have a great 2012 as well.

  21. Sydney’s fireworks looked amazing I’d love to visit for New Years Eve one year!

  22. Pam says:

    WOW!!! Is this the biggest fireworks show of the year? Are there any other holidays with fireworks close to this scale?

  23. Pingback: Sydney New Years Eve Fireworks 2013 (Pictures/Video) | Magsx2's Blog

  24. Pingback: My Blog Review for 2012 from WordPress | Magsx2's Blog

  25. Wow! Thanks for the show, Mags!

Leave a Reply

