Ice Church-Germany (Pictures/Video)

How good is this? This beautiful church is made entirely of ice and is situated in a small town called Mitterfirmiansreut in Germany near the Czech border.


Visitors stand around a snow church just after its inauguration on December 28, 2011 in Mitterfirmiansreut. Photo: AFP (from the Brisbane Times picture gallery)

The church is more than 20 meters or 65.62 feet long, 10 meters or 32.81 feet wide and has a 17 meter or 55.77 feet tower. It’s actually a replacement for a church that was originally built from ice in 1911.


People look inside a Catholic church made of snow in the Bavarian village of Mitterfirmiansreut. Photo: Reuters (from the Brisbane Times picture gallery)

I don’t know how long it took to build, but it would have taken a lot of work, to put this all together. I am constantly amazed at what can be achieved when people work together.

See more great photos of the ice church in the Brisbane Times picture gallery.
There is a small article about the church in the Huffington Post.

This entry was posted in News and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

42 Responses to Ice Church-Germany (Pictures/Video)

  1. Oh my gosh, that so COOOOOOOOL (literally and figuratively)!

  2. gioiahm says:

    This is awesome, yet another reason why I need to travel to Germany, what an amazing site.

  3. I just thought it was cold here. What a beautiful thing to find. Could you imagine not knowing that was there and just walking up on it.

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi life is a bowl of kibble,
      It would be unreal to be walking around and see this building of ice pop up, it would certainly be a jaw dropping moment. πŸ™‚

  4. Rebekah says:

    What a gorgeous church!!! I’ve visited in an ice hotel once, in Quebec. It’s an odd feeling to be inside a building where everything is made of ice … and I mean everything! In the rooms, the beds were made of ice and there were reindeer furs to sleep on..

    There’s one in northern Sweden too, but I’ve unfortunately never been there.

  5. malc50 says:

    Amazing Mags. How long will it last? Something was said about its use in the coming months. Will it melt as Spring begins? Cheers, Mal.

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi Mal,
      It is amazing.
      That is a very good question, I really don’t know how long it will last, it would be very interesting to know if it will melt as the seasons change.

  6. Pingback: Ice Church-Germany (Pictures/Video) | Magsx2's Blog | churchtechfeeds.com

  7. Elyse says:

    Seriously cool. And beautiful.

  8. Snoring Dog Studio says:

    How gorgeous. And cold. It does feel kind of spiritual in a way.

  9. travelrat says:

    There are ‘ice hotels’ all over the world, but a church? However, reading through, the German word ‘Eiskapelle’ popped into my head, and I’m sure I’ve come across it before somewhere … but where???

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi travelrat,
      I don’t think I have even heard the word before. I will do a quick search and see what I can come up with.
      I have found this in Wikipedia:-
      Amongst the other permanent snow and icefields the Eiskapelle (“Ice Chapel”) is the best known due to its easy accessibility from St. BartholomΓ€. The Eiskapelle may well be the lowest lying permanent snowfield in the Alps
      Wikipedia

  10. bingbing says:

    But, but, but…

    How can it even exist??? Wouldn’t the global warming have melted it by now?

    :S

  11. Arindam says:

    It’s beautiful. I hope it’s going to last for the long time.

  12. The blue lighting certainly is ethereal! So beautiful… My dad and my sister went to the ice hotel in northern Sweden – they were amazed…

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi Barbara,
      I agree, the way the blue light reflects off the ice is unreal whoever came up with that idea certainly knew what they were doing.
      How lucky are your Dad and Sister, good on them. πŸ™‚

  13. lolabees says:

    Very cool! Was the one built in 1911 around until this new one was built? Do people actually use it? I didn’t see anyplace to sit!

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi lolabees,
      I don’t know how long the one in 1911 lasted, but yes the people do use it, it was built because the nearest Church is a long way to go. I assume they stay standing for the services.

  14. dearrosie says:

    when I saw the title I expected to see an ice church that looks like an igloo. But this building is beautiful and looks as if it were designed by an architect. The blue light is really effective!

  15. souldipper says:

    Easy for you to spell, Mags. Hey, if someone spells their town’s name correctly do they win a free trip over there? πŸ˜€

  16. I liked this piece so much I posted the link on twitter. Nice!

  17. How stunningly beautiful! Chilly-looking, but beautiful.

  18. Selma says:

    I’d love to go and see it, Mags. Wouldn’t it be incredible? The lighting is so serene. I bet it is really peaceful in there.

  19. Sartenada says:

    Very nice indeed!

    In Finland we have

    World’s biggest Snow Castle.

    There is ice bar, ice restaurant, ice cabinets, snow chapel and snow hotel.

    So nothing is new under the sky.

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi Sartenada,
      It is beautifully made, and looks great sitting there with the forest all around.
      I did a post on of the Ice Hotels in different parts of the world (link above in comments), I would love to stay in one of these, I think it would be a great experience. πŸ™‚
      Thank You for visiting and taking the time to comment.

Leave a Reply

