Bungee Jump Goes Wrong: Africa (Video/Interview with Survivor)

This young Lady would have to be one of the very lucky ones. A young Australian (22 years old) having a holiday in Africa, decided to go bungee jumping from the Victoria Falls bridge above the river, which borders Zambia and Zimbabwe.
As you will see in the video her cord snapped about halfway down and with her feet still tied she hit the water. Channel 9 news interviewed her and I think you will agree it was really a miracle that she survived.

This entry was posted in Australia, News and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

55 Responses to Bungee Jump Goes Wrong: Africa (Video/Interview with Survivor)

  1. El Guapo says:

    Holy Cow!!! As someone hoping to do my first bungee jump this year, I really hope this doesn’t happen to me! Thank God she lived!

  2. wolke205 says:

    I have seen it on TV today..shocking..I m so glad she survived. Never ever I would do Bungee Jumping…

  3. Heavens to Betsy! I’m so glad that she survived.

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi Laurie,
      It definitely was not her time to go, watching the video and seeing not only the fall, but that rope going over the rapids, you would assume she would not of survived, so very, very lucky she is still with us today.

  4. My heart stopped watching that. Unreal!

  5. E.C. says:

    Thanks for sharing this frightening adventure. It truly is a miracle that she survived.

  6. Rebekah says:

    that video only reinforced my conviction that I’ll never make a bungee jump… Her time wasn’t up yet …

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi Rebekah,
      I agree her time was not up.
      I have no doubt that bungee jumping is a thrill, but there is no way I would been came enough to jump, I think the word is fear.

  7. Elyse says:

    Oh, that just made my heart stop, and I couldn’t even watch the video. But you know, you really need to do some checking before putting your life in the hands of someone. That and maybe check the equipment. There have been enough incidents with less happy endings.

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi Elyse,
      Yes you are most likely right, but when you see others jumping and everything is alright, you just assume I suppose that it is going to be alright for you as well. Personally I just wouldn’t take the chance.

  8. travelrat says:

    I did one once; in France back in the 80s. Never again!

    Mind you, they did say, if the rope broke, they’d give me a refund!

  9. malc50 says:

    Thanks for the video, Mags. I had read the story in yesterday’s Townsville Bulletin, but had not seen the news video. A very lucky lady indeed, to have survived with relatively minor injuries only.

  10. Hi Mags, i follow a blog who had just posted about her jump from the same place.
    http://janetnewenham.wordpress.com/2012/01/08/bungee-cord-snaps-at-victoria-falls/

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi John,
      Yes no doubt word is spreading, it has been on the news and it seems the story is going around the globe. There are a lot of different videos about this on YouTube, but I felt the channel 9 news (an Australian channel) really was one of the better ones.

  11. lolabees says:

    This has been all over the news here. I was actually wondering if you were going to post it. I don’t know which is worse falling or then having to battle the white water!

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi lolabees,
      It’s amazing how fast a story can spread. 😀
      It was in the Aussie news yesterday, so naturally there was a race to do interviews.
      I thought she was amazing, to have been able to know that she had to free her feet, I’m assuming the fall would of been enough to put a lot of people in shock.

  12. barb19 says:

    She is so lucky to have survived that jump.
    There is no way you would get me to do do a bungee jump , it’s insane . . . I like my feet on the ground.

  13. tempo says:

    Seriously…why would you even consider doing this? If falling all that way wasnt bad enough there’s Crocodiles, sloppy maintenance and rank stupidity to deal with…

  14. I reckon that anyone who bungee jumps has a secret death wish. What’s wrong with them? A very lucky lady! I hope that she has learnt her lesson and refrains from any more death-defying stupidities. I risk my life quite enough by trying to cross the road to go to the local shops. The ACT is not very pedestrian-friendly.

  15. Barb says:

    thankyou mags. My husband was telling me about this and I wanted to see it. Unbelievable. I’m still blinking at the company’s statement: “…the broken equipment has been repaired.”
    Oh…yeah…that gives me a lot of faith. Repaired equipment. It’s like riding a ferris wheel and with every circle I can see the oil dripping from the control gears (with a can underneath to catch it). I couldn’t wait to get off that ride.

    • travelrat says:

      That is horrendous! I used to do a lot of rock-climbing, & we were always taught that, if anyone fell off, and got saved by the rope, throw the affected length of rope away, or use it for a tow-rope or something, and buy a new one!

      • magsx2 says:

        Hi Barb,
        At the end of the video, channel 9 says the company couldn’t be contacted for a statement, but online the company has stated that the broken equipment has be Replaced.
        That is on the end of this video.
        I think with a story of this size, eventually things are going to be added. Channel 9 News here in Australia was one of the first with the full story and interview of the Australian girl.

      • magsx2 says:

        Hi travelrat,
        I think if you listen again to the video you will find that they do say the equipment has been replaced.

  16. Arindam says:

    It’s dangerous. I have not that much courage in me to try this thing! Still i wonder how can a intelligent human brain think of doing this kind of stuff?

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi Arindam,
      I think with any of the extreme sports it can be dangerous, that is what makes these type of things more thrilling to those that do it.

  17. Snoring Dog Studio says:

    Ah, youth. She looks so happy now. Geez. Give her a decade or so – she’ll stop doing these foolish things!

  18. Golfmadchick says:

    I’ve done that jump twice into the Zambezi twice, fortunately mine were incident free. She’ll think twice before fibbing about her weight next time.

    Just kidding! Glad she’s ok.

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi Golfmadchick,
      All I can say is you are very brave, I know my legs would not allow me to jump, I would freeze.
      Thank You for visiting my blog and taking the time to comment.

  19. All I can say is that I am so glad I am NOT her mother!!!

  20. Selma says:

    She was so lucky. How terrifying. I bet she’s having flashbacks. Talk about a close call. Whew.

  21. Fergiemoto says:

    YIKES! I don’t have the courage for bungee jumping, so no one will be able to get me up there by choice.

  22. souldipper says:

    I bet that bungee company is wondering if it would be wise to jump off the bridge themselves…I can smell a lawsuit.

  23. dearrosie says:

    The bruises on her body give some indication of the speed she was going when she hit the water. How on earth did she survive that? And how did she survive the raging waters and the rocks and with her feet tied? Someone else mentioned “it wasn’t her time”…. My word …

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi dearrosie,
      It must of been an horrific experience, it was horrific just to watch it. A lot of people are asking the same question, how on earth did she survive that fall, but not only the fall, the rapids, and the rocks, and no broken bones. You can see by the bruises every rock must of really hurt. I agree it certainly wasn’t her time.

  24. Thankfully miracles do exist! My adrenalin is still going on this one. And I wasn’t even there! 🙂

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi wordswithpurpose,
      I agree the adrenalin moves just watching. I think it’s because we all know what could of happen to this girl, she was so very lucky.

Leave a Reply

