Gold Mine Jumping (Video)

This gold mine jumping was done in an abandoned gold mine in the Czech Republic.
200 meters or 656.17 feet underground, 100 meters or 328.08 feet depth, 4 seconds of freefall.
I was truly amazed when I watched this video, I’m sure you will be as well.

This entry was posted in Fun and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

46 Responses to Gold Mine Jumping (Video)

  1. El Guapo says:

    That is so not fair – first you scare the tar out of me with the bungee jumping video, then tempt me with this?!?
    Sigh…Where do I sign…
    Another great video, Magsx2. I really need to find out how I can do this…

  2. Yowza! Not in this lifetime, thank you very much…

  3. Rebekah says:

    Agree with Laurie … no way! Very neatly filmed though…

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi Rebekah,
      The filming and the way they did the video I also thought was excellent, I assume getting the lighting right so far underground would not of been easy.

  4. travelrat says:

    …. and I thought abseiling into a pothole was crazy!! 😀

  5. malc50 says:

    Thanks Mags. I don’t think too many Life Insurance companies would like to take on these dare-devils, or if they did, the premiums would be sky-high! Cheers, Mal.

  6. Hmmm, to jump or not to jump? That is the question with the two jumping posts separated by Coke and mentos. Whoa baby!

  7. Barb says:

    This is fascinating, but it leads to more questions. The torque at the end of the jump had to be amazing. I’ll put my physics guy to work on it. So what happened at the end? Did the rope break, did they rebound? I’d like to see the video of them climbing back up. That had to be the tiring part. I climb and I’m wondering about the ropes’ repeated uses after that much stress is put on it. We record every fall on a rope and get rid of it after 10 falls. Thanks for the share.

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi Barb,
      I agree, it would of been good if they carried the filming through to see how everyone managed to get out. It certainly would of been a lot harder getting back up, they were a long way down.

      Another brave Lady, I do admire people that love to climb and test their ability, I am definitely a coward when it comes to things like that. Getting rid of the rope after 10 falls sounds like a very responsible thing to do.

  8. A great video shoot , well done to all , an area of adventure that is not in my mind
    I admit I would have liked to have seen more , nevertheless the daring and fortitude they have must be admired
    Aussie Ian aka Emu

  9. RoseCityRemona says:

    Please God, please God, never let one of my kids want to do this….pleeeeeeeeeeeeease! *shudders*

  10. If you took my two biggest fears, heights and darkness, and combined them into one thing that would scare me to death WHILE freefalling, this would be it. God bless those with Type A personalities. This was scary but awesome. Both my sons are type A – one a motorcycle racer and the other an Army sniper. So RoseCityRemona, I had to laugh at your comment!! 🙂

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi EOSR,
      The combination of heights, darkness and freefalling is a scary thought especially being underground as well.
      I can certainly understand that you worry about your sons.

  11. All my strivings involve Up and Light. Plunging Down into Darkness is definitely not my thing, with or without a rope. I know that it is only physical, not spiritual, but it looks much too symbolic to me. I loved the music though.

  12. Plunging into the darkness – no, thank you! Now I know of something worse than bungee jumping. And I thought zipping down to the ground from a tree in a chair harness, after a tree canopy walk, was unsettling…

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi Barbara,
      Just imagine what it would be like without any lighting, talk about black, you wouldn’t even be able to see your hand in front of your face. 😯

  13. Ianus Christius says:

    …well, we all know what people wouldn’t do for money…

  14. gitwizard says:

    Amazing! I showed this to my friend Raddish and he then showed me this .

  15. Selma says:

    I really admire people who have the guts to do this because it must be an experience that is unforgettable. Sadly, I am too much of a chicken…..

  16. bronxboy55 says:

    People keep pushing the limits of extreme sports. What in the world will they be doing a hundred years from now?

    Great video and fun to watch, Mags, as always.

  17. Arindam says:

    Amazing video Mags. You always post something different. That’s the best thing about your blog. 🙂

Leave a Reply

